We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scott Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great small resort”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place surpassed my expectations. Grounds are lovely. Large fire pits at night. Complimentary coffee, wine and smores. I will go back. Rooms are big. Lobby is very modern. Restaurant was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaHappy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    535
    200
    84
    59
See reviews for
384
613
84
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for an extended weekend. The resort was easy to find and in a happening area of Scottsdale, just a very short drive to Old Town and the Scottsdale Riverfront area.

My first impression was that the lobby was beautiful. It was decorated well and included a large stone fireplace and lots of seating. We were informed during check-in that they provide a daily wine hour from 5:00 to 6:00. We took them up on the complimentary wine and sangria a couple of times during our stay. It was relaxing and the staff were very friendly.

After check-in, we headed to our room, which was on the second floor. There are no elevators on the property, so if you have trouble with stairs, you'll have to request a ground-level room. The room was very clean and quite spacious. I especially liked that outside of the bathroom there was a separate vanity opposite the sink area. I used this area to get ready each day and to store all of our toiletries. It was a nice touch. Another positive was that the mini-bar fridge was not the kind that charges you if you move anything or put anything extra in. We needed to use some of the room to refrigerate our own water bottles for a hike we did, and so this was perfect. Other notes on the room - the bed was comfy and the balcony was roomy and had nice adirondack chairs. We didn't get to enjoy the balcony, however, as it was far too hot for that sort of thing.

The pool area was nice, though we only got to use it once. The second time we thought about going for a swim, we noticed that it was pretty much completely full of children, so we opted to relax in the room instead.

This would have been a 5 star review had it not been for a couple issues. One of the pools (the one with a sandy beach area) was closed during our visit. I think would have liked to relax there instead of at the other pool. The second issue was with the bartender in the lobby. My husband and I each ordered a drink one afternoon. We were the only people at the bar at the time. I had looked at a menu sitting on the bar, which said they serve classic cocktails. One listed was a daiquiri made with fresh lime juice, rum and simple syrup. I'm a fan of these, so I ordered one. My husband ordered a rum and coke with a lime. His drink came back with a lemon, and mine came back a frozen daiquiri made with margarita mix (and seemingly no rum). Gross. I was not asked if I wanted it frozen or on the rocks. I assumed since it ordered it off their own menu that was sitting at the bar, that I would get what I was hoping for. I will not make that mistake again if I return. Not only that, but the disgusting weak frozen margarita mix cocktail set me back $10. Ridiculous.

That said, none of the above really ruined my stay, and I would consider staying at the Firesky again if I make it back to Scottsdale.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoChicaGo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for the wonderful feedback. My apology for the sand beach pool but we had broken tiles and I really needed to get them all replaced so no one would get hurt. Good news, it is all done for your next visit! I will certainly look into your concerns with the bar. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Enjoyed 1 night staycation. Pool was fantastic with a lively crowd and live music. Room was very comfortable and clean. Check in was a breeze. Dinner at Taggia was excellent. Complimentary wine tasting happy hour from 5 - 6 was a very nice touch. Staff was very engaged and friendly. All in all it is a wonderful little gem in Scottsdale. We can't wait to return. Thanks very much. We are big fans of the Kimpton brand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Big thank you for the great review! Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I visited Scottsdale over the July 4th weekend. We chose Kimpton based on our other Kimpton experiences and wanted a resort a bit more personal than the large hotels. The FireSky had everything I believe Kimpton's have to offer from the wonderful happy hour each night to the free wi-fi to a very pleasant staff.

The pool area was beautiful and the lights at night made for a special evening by the fire pits.

Overall this is a nice resort however just note that it is pet friendly hotel. During our stay pet owners allowed their pets to sit on the furniture in the lobby as well as brought them to dinner.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room overlooking the pool and request 2nd floor (unless you have a pet you may want 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for the nice review! Pet owners should not be allowing their "kids" to be on our furniture and I have already re addressed this with my team as a reminder to provide a pet blanket if needed. We need to watch it closer and we will. Plan another trip back soon! Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I just spent two nights at Fire and Sky and as a single female traveler I was very disappointed in the hotel. I had requested a quiet room and was given a second floor room over looking an extremely busy main road, Chapparel, with lots of car noise. After returning to the front desk they told me that if I wanted a different room I would have to. I was fine with that, got a new room and then when I was leaving to go out to dinner I closed the room door, tried the handle and it would not lock. I finally had to call the front desk and they sent someone down about 15 mins later to "fix" the lock. The lock worked but you had to make sure the door closed just right. Today was my last day, and I thought I would get a little pool time in after breakfast but again my door would not lock. I called the front desk and after two calls and twenty minutes later, a maintenance man came and said my door would not lock and that he would have to replace the whole mechanism and it would take awhile. Since I had to leave by 9:30, and I had already wasted 30 mins waiting for someone to come to my room, I did not have time for breakfast or to have a quick swim in th pool. I could not leave my room because there was no lock on the door. In today's world, security should be at the forefront of any good hotel. Needless to say, I will never stay at this hotel again and will not recommend it to any friends. This is too bad because in general it is a nice hotel but I question it's commitment to guest security.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAW06098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Ouch that hurt! Please accept my humble apology for my team totally dropping the ball. I too, believe security is of the utmost importance and we need to be focused on the safety of our guests at all times. If you would give us another chance, you are welcome to contact me directly at the resort and I will promise a better experience next time. I will certainly address this immediately.
Cheryl, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at end of July. I highly recommend this hotel. The pool areas are beautiful and the ground are so nice. We loved that the cabana was no extra charge. We had no problems getting one. We also took advantage of saying "summer of karma" which is secret words this summer and it got us 25 dollars of food by the pool. The food was yummy. I loved the coffee in the morning because it was first time I ever saw ice coffee in the morning. Drinking ice coffee with either vanilla or Carmel reading the various paper options made my mornings relaxing. I would highly recommend if your looking for some peace and quiet.'

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank francine_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We added the Iced Coffee with flavored syrups for the summer months for a cool twist on the mornings. Happy to hear you enjoyed our special touch to complimentary coffee daily. Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
679 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel in Scottsdale is part of the same network of hotels that I stayed with my family in Sedona. It is from Kimpton Hotels, which have good, attentive service and stylish decoration.

This one called FireSky Resort is really big, with a huge number of rooms, occupying a whole block and, yet, it is cozy. The rooms are spacious and have the essentials: comfortable bed and good shower. The decoration is special, with some modern furniture and who did decorated the hotel, played well with colors and nice objects.

They have a big nice swimming pool with areas partly under tall trees and another swimming pool for kids with sand around it.

The breakfast was all a la carte, but the waitress that was serving us the couple of days that we stayed, was very fondly and effectively fast.

Room Tip: Room with view to the swimming pool are nicer than overlooking the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clm037, General Manager at The Scott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for the review and I am happy you enjoyed the resort.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,605 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
#45 of 75 in Scottsdale
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
2.1 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Resort & Spa

Property: The Scott Resort & Spa
Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7610 (Formerly FireSky Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scott Resort & Spa (formerly FireSky Resort) is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and Mediterranean-inspired bistro dining at The Scott Grill, Lounge and Acqua Pool Bar. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West - the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton
The Scott Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing