We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, ok stay”
Review of Motel 6 Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Scottsdale
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average room, ok stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

This was the cheapest option in scottsdale so overall it wasn't a bad room. Yes, it's small and smells a little funny if you don't keep the fan on. The TV SUCKED -- super small and the picture was blurry, so that was my biggest complaint. And there is no hair dryer! Buyer beware. But this is what you get in a budget motel. But The walk to town wasn't bad...about 10 minutes and all sidewalks. The pool looked decent, but i didn't use it. The BEST thing about this hotel is that it's right next door the the original pancake house, so slip next door for the salami and eggs- delicious :) Also there's a shopping mall on the other side so plenty to do in the general vicinity.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DreLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    72
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
23
48
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Homer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever seen. My husband and I and my 7 year old were tripping over each other. There was no clock (!) and the clerk told my hubby it was because people kept stealing them. No hairdryer either. On the plus side, the beds were very firm and clean and the bathroom was clean. The pool was nice and clean and warm, and the jacuzzi was great! The wood floor was not clean, however. Be sure to check out the pancake house right next to this motel-it was wonderful. Paid $3-ish per night for WiFi which never worked. At check out we were told some of the WiFi codes are typos-so check with the desk if you have problems. About a 5 out of 10.

Room Tip: Okay for short stays- we were there for 2 nights. Our room was on the northeast corner (217) in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSp8ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Motel 6 of Scottsdale

+ microwave and fridge
+ outlets convenient to bed (for CPAP)
+ bathtub with shower
+ sink outside bathroom for easier access
+ nice swimming pool
+ disposable plastic cups
+ nice (hardwood?) floors

0 tight little room
0 only premium channels are HBO and HBO2
0 wi-fi about $3/night (see below)
0 handle jammed in shower, cannot get water (reported in
morning and fixed by evening return

- shower floor is slick with no mat, hold bars, or
appliques
- cannot hang clothes from rack, microwave in way
- no facial tissue
- no shampoo
- no clock
- no list of TV channels
- Internet downloads very slow

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Travelling across Arizona in RV and husband and I needed a location close to downtown attractions and shopping in Scottsdale. (first time there)
We came across the Motel 6 on Camelback Drive and it had a perfect location. My thoughts were "going to be kinda sleazy and old".
Wow.......were we surprised. Small pool,(has wheelchair lift for disabled) Smaller compact rooms which are basic but all remodelled with new bathtub/shower combos and new laminate flooring. Non Smoking or Smoking available. We stayed on Floor 2 which overlooked the pool and was away from main highway. Think Room 252
Air conditioner was a bit oldfashioned and noisy.....but hey.....for $50 a night in downtown Scottsdale is was OK.
We could park the RV easily and were within 100 yds of THE Fashion Mall. Great little restuarants, close to downtown canal, and walking distnace to Old Town. (also has free shuttle than runs from the Mall) Wonderful.
We are even considering a weekly rate for a last minute sun destination in the winter

Room Tip: Room 252 has inside view of pool and away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I've been staying at this Motel 6 occasionally for the past few years. I used to like it fairly well.
On my last stay I was not so fond of it. There was a weird, bad odor in the bathroom. The fake wood floor is wearing out and overall the place is getting funky.
I hope Motel 6 decides to make over all of their properties.
Just because it's cheap does not mean it needs to be ugly, smelly and less than perfectly clean.
All the people that work there are absolutely great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank w0rldtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scottsdale hotels

Northampton UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was our 2nd year at Motel 6. Rooms very clean and comfortable, staff polite, helpful and they keep the area tidy. Pool area nice but water a little cool
Walking distance to local bars, restaurants but fairly quiet at night. Would definately stay here again and would recommend.I remembered to take my hair dryer this time and as we needed a refridgerator for insulin we booked a room with one in advance. Reasonable rates too
Pancake house on site, good food and service, only open mornings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelnut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

You know when you check into Motel 6 it is going to be for value, not luxury. That being said, this is probably the best Motel 6 I have ever stayed at. We only needed a quick room for the night, no need to get all the frills. The property is very close to one of the Best Parts of town; Old Scottsdale. We spent some time walking around the streets, enjoyed a drink at a streetside bar and a really nice dinner in Old Town. The Motel is so close to Old Town we just had a short drive back to the room, and settled in for the night. The grounds are well kept, the staff is pleasant and we felt completely safe. Enjoyed a free coffee in the morning and we were back on the road again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2onatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Best Western Plus Sundial
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Aloft Scottsdale
#61 of 75 in Scottsdale
44 reviews
Comfort Suites Old Town
#56 of 75 in Scottsdale
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Scottsdale

Property: Motel 6 Scottsdale
Address: 6848 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-2427
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Scottsdale 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Motel Six Scottsdale
Scottsdale Motel 6
Scottsdale Motel Six
Motel 6 Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing