We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a stressful trip relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made a stressful trip relaxing!”
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I required an extended stay ( over a week) in Scottsdale for my trip to Mayo Clinic. I have been in pain for many years and finally had the chance to get some answers from Mayo. I was a little apprehensive about staying in a hotel because all I wanted to do at the end of the day was relax and not be bothered. Hampton Inn exceeded my expectations.

We stayed in a two room suite, which was bigger than my first apartment. Everything we could have needed was available in our room. Toiletries, pots & pans, dishwasher detergent, etc. The room was clean, bright, and fresh.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone that I talked to had a smile on their face!

The morning breakfast was quite adequate. There was something for every taste. Every morning something new was served. Hot coffee is served thru the day, and there is a hot snack at night. If you get hungry and don't feel like leaving the grounds, there is a small shop that has snacks and microwaveable meals. Also, the hotel is surrounded by many restraunts and take-outs.

I utilized the office area while I was staying. Everything was functional and in well supply.

The hotel is within easy driving distance from either Mayo campus. We had no problem navigating the major streets.

I cannot belive that the Hampton Inn is in the category of two star hotels! With the service that I recieved, it felt more like a four star treatment! Great value!

I would reccommend the Hampton Inn for any type of traveler.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montez1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    135
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
133
116
30
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coast range, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Very good hotel for the business traveler. I had to spen a full work week while at corporate HQ and the hotel was perfect for just this. Internet was solid, breakfast was fine, room was comfortable, TV was a flatscreen and location was quiet. Nothing was fancy, but everything was very nice. Great workdesk in the room and it was set up so I could have TV on while working. Shuttle was great for getting to restaurants (lots in the area). It was nice to have a little refrigerator in room to keep a couple cold ones in room too! Staff was friendly, but at least on the two times I asked, weren't overly knowledgeable on area restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

The staff at the hotel were professional, courteous and thorough from reservations to check-in. We will definately stay there again. Room and grounds were clean (except for stairwells) and we really enjoyed ourselves. Great location that is walking distance to many shops and restaurants AND there's a free shuttle that can take you to Kierland Commons (highly recommended) or Promenade (go to Nordstrom's Rack). Carrabas restaurant across the street was excellent for food and service, and we recommend Broker's Bar & Pub for drinks, appetizers, lunch or dinner. Tilted Kilt in the parking lot is nice for a unique distraction.

  • Liked — location near restaurants/shopping pretty grounds
  • Disliked — housekeeping a bit slow
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nmtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We arrived in Scottsdale without a reservation for a last minute birthday celebration on Christmas Eve. We wanted something close to Kierland Commons, clean, and economical, as we were staying for one night. The $320 Westin was out of the question.

We saw the Hampton Inn from the road, and decided to give them a call. The courteous clerk told me she had a king, non-smoking room available for $89.00, so I booked the room immediately.

The check-in was swift, friendly, and professional. The lobby was tastefully decorated with a gorgeous waterfall and a sleek concrete floor. The grounds appeared to be either recently remodeled, or extremely well cared for. Our room was super-clean, attractive, and inviting.

The hotel had a free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius. Perfect! Upon our check-out on Xmas morning, we asked the clerk for a rec on a breakfast place that was open. She not only gave us several recommendations, but she called a couple of places to see if they were open. Once again, the front desk staff was absolutely professional.

This hotel exceeded our expectations with their professional staff an attractive grounds. I have traveled extensively through the southwest and I can't stand the silly, kitschy, orangy decor that passes for "southwest". The Hampton Inn is a lovely property, with native plants and materials.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, attractive, professional, and inexpensive.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DagneyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort wayne, in
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

This wasn't the best Hampton I've stayed at, but it is certainly in the top 25%. I stayed here at $129/night rather than spend more than twice that amount at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge resort where our conference was being held. The JW is only about a 5 - 10 minute drive away, so it was well worth the significant savings. Construction is horrible right now in this area, so it was tough getting in/out of the parking lot.

The workout room has good equipement in it, the business center is good and the internet in the rooms is strong. The breakfast was typical of Hamptons. Staff were all very friendly and the hotel is clean. There are a couple restaurants within a 30 second walk and both were good. Overall my stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maninmirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

A night after a miserable experience at a Hampton Inn in Gallup, New Mexico (read my scathing review if interested), this Hampton Inn was a breath of fresh air. The lobby has a waterfall, of all things! The hotel has two wings, one which is entirely non-smoking. The check-in clerk told me that it's a business hotel, so it's quiet as few families with noisy kids were around. This hotel is also set well back of the main street, Scottsdale road, and rooms on the back side of the hotel were especially quiet.

Everything seemed clean and new, even though the hotel is 11 years-old. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn quality, which is good for these types of hotels.

All in all, for a non-resort north Scottsdale lodging choice, you can't do better than this Hampton Inn.

  • Liked — Business-oriented clientele
  • Disliked — A little pricier than others in this category.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in July 07 and it was very nice. The room was nice (better than some 5* resorts), the bed was really comfortable. The hotel and it's grounds are nice and well kept. We liked the free hot breakfast a lot and free wireless internet in room worked prefectly. The business center was well organized and had everything we needed. The hotel also has guest laundry. Not to forget that everybody working there is really nice, accomodating and friendly.
The location is also just great, very close to upscale mall and restaurants.
We paid $ 84 for the room per night and I consider it the best spent $ 84 ever!

  • Liked — Nice spacios rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TamiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale North/Perimeter Center
8.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale
Address: 16620 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-1509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#23 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites North Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Hampton Inn And Suites North Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing