We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very baby-friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very baby-friendly!”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

TripAdvisor, you've done it again! We booked this hotel based on the reviews we read on here and were, once again, very happy with the choice.

Gainey Suites Hotel was a great hotel, complete with all those little extras that make your experience special. Traveling with our 13 month old son, the grounds and pool area were very baby-friendly. The pool was nice and warm and the grassy area was perfect for him to practice walking. On top of that, the included breakfast buffet and evening snacks/drinks were just what we needed - working around his naps would have made it hard for us to go out to eat. The two-bedroom suites were very nice and both bedrooms had king sized beds. Again, perfect for a family, each bedroom had it's own bathroom and one of them had a bathtub. We also didn't need to bring our own highchair, as they had highchairs available. Another added bonus was that they provided a crib, as opposed to a playpen. Finally, the hotel has coin operated washers and dryers for those unpredictable 'messes' babies can make. The evening ambiance was gorgeous with the firepits in the middle of the tables and the tiki torches all lit.

Gainey Suites was the perfect place us and for families with young kids. Plus, the location was great - a short drive to fantastic shopping! Be sure to check out the Nordstrom Rack for some incredible deals (and there's a Carter's right there too!).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekerfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    292
    65
    29
    7
See reviews for
466
534
61
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Although they call it a suite, the rooms are divided out and very small. The bedroom was barely big enough to walk around the bed. The living room had a couch, coffee table and a stand with a tv that was much to close to the couch to comfortably watch tv. There was wasted space in the kitchen and some of that space should have been taken for the rest of the "suite". Although the ad said it had been renovated a couple of years ago, the colors were very blah and not cheery at all. In addition, the air conditioner unit was so noisy it was difficult to watch tv with it on. The room overlooked the parking lot. When I asked about a room that would overlook the garden or pool area, I was told there was no vacancy. We come to the Scottsdale area every Feb-March and have always been pleasantly happy with our accomodations. The information on the internet may be true for the interior rooms, but not for the rooms on the outer premises. To get into the hotel, if you did not want to walk through the lobby each time, we passed some old beat up dipsy dumpsters which made the entrance very unappealing. From our past experience in Scottsdale, the price was much too high for the accomodations. Would never stay there again nor would never recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momsshopping123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2011

very friendly and welcoming the help knew your name. the manager was very helpful

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idabelle42808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flushing
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Everything about Gainey Suites is wonderful. Our suite was perfect, immaculate, comfortable and roomy. The public areas were exceptionally clean. Staffing at the front desk was very pleasant and extremely helpful. Housekeeping was excellent and responsive to our needs; i.e., extra hangars, soap, changing a light bulb, etc. Daily housekeeping did an excellent job. I felt like I was in my own home,
The breakfast buffet was fantastic and changed daily. If you arrived very close to the end of the buffet period, the kitchen staff was very flexible about bringing out more food. The same for the evening buffet. There was so much food to eat at both of these buffets that you could skip lunch and/or dinner if you chose. The Hearth Room where you ate the buffet offerings was very clean and the staff that maintained the buffets and the tables kept everything spic and span as well as tempting and appetizing.
The small fitness area on the premises is well equipped, used frequently and also kept clean. Room service was prompt and courteous, and the orders were always filled correctly. Laundry service and dry cleaning were excellent as well as prompt.
The outside grounds were beautifully kept and visually pleasing.
Everything about Gainey Suites was exceptional and we can't wait to return next winter.
I am writing this review as someone who is very fussy and hard to please!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gablegable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the many locations for their hotel guest. I needed to get to a store before it closed and the driver was not available because he was transporting another guest. The hotel manager personally took me to the pharmacy in his car. After I arrived home, I realized that I had left the charger to my computer in the room and I telephoned them and they kindly mailed it to me. What a great guest service. I will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pineapple00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I just returned from a 3 night stay. I was generally disappointed with the hotel. The rooms are fair. The a/c works but delivers cold air right at the bed, making the room uncomfortable. Noisy pipes bring ongoing running water from other rooms (resolved by closing bathroom door. Internet worked on and off. When it worked, it was still relatively slow. Breakfast was not good. Hot foods sat in their serving container and were cold. Fruit was not ripe and not very much variety. Finally found tea and it was only lipton.

While the location is good and the room is clean, I expected more.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank s2friedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The Gainey Suites is a great hotel and a great value. You should stay here if you can. Here are 5 reasons why:
1. The staff is great. From the general manager, to the office and desk staff, to the kitchen and catering staff, to the housekeeping and maintenance staff these folks have been there a long time, they are good at what they do, and they are happy. They go out of their way to accommodate guests and make them happy too.
2. The facility is great. The suites are clean, well furnished, and comfortable. The public areas inside and out are well laid out and make eating, talking, or just sitting quietly by the pool an inviting prospect.
3. The hotel is in a great location. It is easy to get to the many attractions in the area. And, if you are not going too far you can hop in the hotel van and be taken to your destination and picked up when you are done.
4. The mix of guests creates a great atmosphere. There are people who have been coming back to the Gainey Suites for years and who stay for months at a time and business travelers and vacationers in for a few days or a few weeks. You can always strike up a conversation with someone interesting.
5. The breakfast and evening buffets are varied and very good. We stayed for two months because we were remodeling our home prior to selling it. Although we could have easily eaten out at any number of restaurants close by, most often we stayed at “home” at the Gainey and enjoyed the food and conversation.
Now that we have sold our home in Scottsdale our plan is to return to the Gainey Suites each year for a month or so. We feel as if it is our new home in Scottsdale. Maybe we’ll see you there next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing