We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what your looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Depends what your looking for”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Gainey suites is a family hotel. We stayed in a king suite overlooking the parking lot without a patio or balcony. It was clean and comfortable but nothing special. The pool area is nice but small and crowded. The hotel has free parking, wifi, a great breakfast, and nightly happy hour with drinks and appetizers. It's a solid value hotel but not a full service resort. If you're looking for a couples "get away" you may want to consider other options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopperBoyBJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    290
    64
    29
    7
See reviews for
462
528
61
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a great hotel for families or people looking for a great value. Clean, friendly, fun place. Breakfast and evening cocktails and abundant "snacks" basically fulfill meal needs, except for lunch. Food is varied and tasty and refreshed frequently. Rooms are large and clean. Has a complete kitchen. Rooms are around a central courtyard with pool where people gather for breakfast and cocktails, creating a community feel that is very warm. Staff is accommodating and very nice, all trying to make your stay the best it can be. The manager, Rich, is constantly moving, checking in with guests, picking up things, making sure everything is good and everyone is enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically around the pool. Few balconies, but not really a bad spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_and_Mike_603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
263 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Gainey to be near Taliesin and good hiking. We were impressed by the clean, well appointed suite with living area, fully stocked kitchen, and separate bedroom. We were on the opposite end of the building from the lobby and it was extremely quiet. Parking was convenient near a door close to the room. Free breakfast met all expectations of a complementary buffet with some regular hot items, fresh fruit, and oatmeal. The evening complimentary happy hour did not have a good spread of appetizers (very greasy food), but the venue is lovely with lit torches on the lawn and nice tables to enjoy a lovely sunset. Service was friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Opposite end of building from lobby is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Gainey Suites is a well maintained property in a great location. Came here for spring break with the family, and was pleased with the area and the convenience to get to hiking, golfing, shopping, etc. Our room faced the parking lot/shopping area to the west, but it was still one of the quietest hotel rooms I've ever slept in. Beds were comfortable as well. We especially found the complimentary breakfast/dinner to be good quality, and extremely convenient/cost effective! The kitchen in our room was pretty much wasted space though, since we either ate lunch out, or ordered poolside most of the time. The only negatives I had for this hotel was that the pool was too small for the amount of people staying there (hard to find a lounge if you come past 10am), and the pool was not attended to very well - there was a lot of breakfast food left on the ground as late as 2pm. Around that time, one of the managers came around and picked up dirty towels and the food left behind, but that should be done hourly, in my opinion. They also serve food/drinks at the pool, but the staff doesn't really come out to take orders very often - you have to walk up to the bar at the main building and order it. This is a high quality hotel, but if you are looking for "resort" type amenities, this is probably not the best option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blkhwkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Gainey Suites in March. After reading the reviews, perhaps our expectations were too high. The hotel is like a glorified Comfort Inn with a very crowded breakfast area and cheap wine served during the cocktail hour.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Not a bad choice but we expected a little bit more.
ROOM: We stayed in a studio room and it was kind of dark. No balcony or a patio; one window overlooking the roof; the second pair of curtains near the bed was covering the wall to look like there was a window behind. Kitchen was generally well supplied, but if you are planning to cook - bring a sponge to wash the dishes. The bathroom only had a tub shower; the lower faucet made a noise like it was about to take off. Toilet flushing was slow. So, all and all - we were not impressed with the room itself.
FOOD: Free breakfast was good. Appetizers in the evening were more of a comfort food dinner, changing every night (e.g., tacos). During our 2nd night, there were a lot of "clean" dishes with food stuck on the outside in several towers. Very unpleasant.
POOL AND OUTSIDE: The hotel courtyard was rather small. Pool and hot tub - excellent. There were people who were spending their vacation in the pool. It was open until 11PM - huge benefit for me as I relaxed under the stars after my son and husband went to sleep.
LOCATION: There are no walking paths inside or outside the hotel. If you have young children, visit McCormick-Stillman Railroad Park which is very close to the hotel. We thought we should have stayed closer to the zoo and the botanical garden.
OVERALL: With over $200 a night, we overpaid for this hotel. We think its fair price should be up to $150. We really didn't see it as being number 2 in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyushka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Passing time solo while my husband was on a trail ride...very pleasant atmosphere, not at all stuffy. Lots of families having fun, pool was busy but lounges were available. Quiet outside corner room, very private and could keep windows wide open. Picked up a few salads from Whole Foods to stock the fridge, and with free and varied hot breakfasts and happy hours, I will never have to eat out! Discounted services at the Gainey Village Spa are on my agenda. Hoped to hit the driving range at Gainey Ranch golf club, but disappointed to learn privileges are only available if you stay at another hotel (the Hyatt?). Used the range at McCormick golf course instead. Shopped at the PGA Superstore on Shea, very good selection of women's golf clothes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peety50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing