We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to stay here”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a really nice hotel. It's not a luxury resort but it's definitely a few levels better than any chain hotel in the area.

The location is excellent and the property is very clean.

Upon check-in we were upgraded to the next better room which was actually 2 bedrooms and a living room with a full kitchen. We also had a private covered patio overlooking the pool area.

The room was very comfortable and modern.

The hotel had a full bar in the lobby so we were able to order drinks and sit outside and relax.

Right next door is a shopping center with a few very nice places to eat. The only problem is that the complementary afternoon snack at the hotel is so good that you lose your appetite for dinner. The breakfast was pretty decent, also.

I'm glad that we picked this place base don the TA reviews and we would definitely recommend this place if you're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    290
    64
    29
    7
See reviews for
462
528
61
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at Gainey Suites from April 19th to the 22nd. This hotel offered just about everything you could want or need in a resort. The room was very spacious and while we did not use the kitchen, it was a very nice to have nonetheless. The room and bathroom were very clean and as an extra bonus the provided toiletries were my favorite scents from Bath and Body Works. The grounds and pool area were very well kept and beautiful. We enjoyed 2 days relaxing by the pool and used one of the cabanas that were set up with a table and chairs. The breakfast and happy hour buffets were excellent as they offered a wide variety of delicious food items. Service was top notch! If I had only one complaint it would be very slow and inconsistent internet service. While we did not need to use it much, when we did we had to wait 5 minutes or more to connect and then would lose connection often. Other than that is was an awesome stay! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: We chose a courtyard view overlooking the pool area. I think any other rooms looked onto the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My son & "new" daughter-in-law, my husband & myself planned their wedding here. Kara Mason, Catering Sales Manager aka "Wedding Planner", met our every need & request. The rooms were great and the wedding venue, decorations, food & service were top notch. The overall cost for a small wedding was reasonable & there was a reduced room rate for all guests.All rooms are suites with very nice kitchen facilities. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future and would also not hesitate to plan further important family events especially if Kara is taking the lead!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio suite or, at least a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

HavIng recently stayed at the Gainey Suites for the second year running, I am pleased to say that this hotel and all the staff are as good as ever. Rather than them sitting on there high praise they have recieved, They have had improvments to the property, That is a major plus to all there hotel guests. Firstl of all they have introduced an out side bar area,Which is both pleasing on the eye, And of a very practicull nature. You can now sit in comfort out side into the evening enjoying drinks coctails, food and snacks al fresco. they have totally refurbished the pool area, With brand new recliners, gazeebos and chairs with a fire pit. They have completely re tiled the floor area surrounding the pool, In what we call in the uk flagstone., There is also tables chairs and a fire pit one end of the pool and the other has the jacuzzi. There is also extra tables and chairs around the garden area to relax at with your family day or night, we enjoyed a game of cards whilts enjoying a drink from the new bar in the evening. Having witnessed the genral manager taking a good interest in all his guests and there well being day or night, its hardly suprising his staff are so good. I know there are more expensive resort hotels in the scottsdale area, But my advise is keep your dollars in your pocket and stay here, better service better value better all round.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenellis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am a travel agent of 25 years and so I do travel frequently. I recently stayed here for some business meetings and I absolutely loved this place! The pool area is a great place to just sit and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.The breakfasts and snacks in the evenings were an unexpected surprise. The rooms were updated and very nice! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevietaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Absolutely love Gainey Suites' location and the fact that they are suites with kitchens. Rhw breakfast buffet and happy hour food is excellent and the pool area is clean, charming and has a lovely atmosphere. The pricing however, is WAY too high for what you get. For instance, the kitchens are small and cramped and not that well supplied (2 small dull knives, VERY basic supplies, no oven). The bathrooms also are far from luxurious, yet the pricing for a 2 bedroom suite during spring break was over $400 per night! That's just ridiculous. If we were not a family of 5 who prefer to not eat every meal out, we would have been better off in a true "hotel". Compared to the Westin Kierland Villas, Gainey Suites pales both in terms of amenities in the suites and the pricing. Problem is Westin Kierland is hard to get bookings at during peak times, otherwise we would prefer to stay there (and we have several times when possible).

Overall, Gainey Suites is a good place to stay if you prefer to cook some meals on your own and cannot find another similar suite hotel. Otherwise, save some money and book a regular hotel. The customer service at Gainey is also hugely lacking. We have stayed there several years in a row now and each time when we put in a specific room request they have failed us. Disappointing for repeat customers. We only continue to go back because the options are so limited, however, if you know you plan to visit Scottsdale well in advance, then book elsewhere now if you can. There are less expensive and nicer options out there, provided you book well in advance.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have a nice view of the pool and you don't get the noise of the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessikaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here one night and wished we could stay longer. The breakfast was great, the evening reception was unexpectedly good and the room was perfect. When we return to Scottsdale, this will be our first choice in a hotel. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing