We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest People at the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendliest People at the Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent the weekend at the Gainey Suites Hotel and I have never stayed at a hotel where all the guests were so friendly. There was a wedding going on and the wedding party was friendly. There was a scrap booking group there and they were also so friendly. People by the pool, eating breakfast or Happy Hour - all very nice.
As far as the hotel, it was in a great location. Right in the heart of Scottsdale in Gainey Ranch. There was a shopping center next door with boutiques and restaurants. Very safe area where I took an hour walk in the morning. The suite was a great value at summer rates. it was a suite with a kitchen/living room and bedroom/bath. Full breakfast and generous Happy Hour were also included. Nice pool area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LslLaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    284
    63
    29
    7
See reviews for
451
518
59
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a really nice place. It's not as updated as others (I came from the W after a business meeting) but the amenities are nice and the rooms spacious. I was here with my sister for the weekend and I was initially put into a 1 bedroom with 2 queen beds, which was what I had paid for, but the room had an unpleasant smell so I called down and they relocated me to the other side of the hotel. This time, I was put into a 2 bedroom each with a queen and a bathroom and a balcony that overlooked the pool which was very nice. It was a much appreciated and welcome upgrade. The breakfast and evening reception provided enough food that you really could get by with going out for 1 meal a day. The staff was attentive and the rooms, just updated, were comfortable and clean. Even the bear was a nice touch. The hotel is walking distance (you don't even have to cross the street) to a great shopping center with restaurants and shops and they have a shuttle that will take you within a limited radius of the property. I would have given it 5 stars if they had airport transportation and some minor updating to the kitchens, hallways, eating area (chairs were big and hard to get around if the room was full). The hallways stretched the entire length of the hotel and you could only access stairs at either end. As our room was in the middle, it was a decent walk. I recommend if you don't want to walk a lot, ask for a room closest to the front or back of the hotel and if you need an elevator, closest to the front. If you're looking for a family oriented hotel, this is ideal. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: The hallways stretched the entire length of the hotel and you could only access stairs at either end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

As others have stated - this is an excellent HOTEL for the price. The quiet rooms have been updated with nice tile in the bathrooms and very comfortable beds and linens. The kitchen has generous amenities and there is a convenient "charging station" on the desk.
Service staff is friendly and zealously perform their tasks. The parking is free and plentiful. Breakfast was better than expected with Hot and Cold choices kept well stocked and served at appropriate temperatures and the complimentary afternoon social had beer, wine, soda and several appetizer treats. There is a guest laundry room and good size workout room. The location is great - away from downtown bustle but only yards away from a shopping complex with numerous restaurant choices. There are also several good safe walking paths throughout the Gainey Ranch area.
Pool area is clean (pebbletec salt water pool?) with plenty of cushioned, well maintained chaises, clean towels, and umbrellas and the courtyard is very lush.

That said - this is NOT a Resort but is a very nice suites hotel. While there is a bar by the pool - it didn't open until 4 PM which killed my "morning mimosa by the pool" plan. When we checked in we were told the courtyard was off limits due to a wedding reception, which was fine except an email with that info could have gone out to guests a few days prior. While the hotel website never explicitly calls itself a resort, it makes references to 'Scottsdale Resorts' and the browser tab says "Gainey Ranch Resort" or "Resorts in Scottsdale" in some of the links.....but do not expect the personal service (valets, bellmen, live concierge, morning Mimosas, etc) that you get with a resort.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard view, otherwise you are looking at the parking lot. Also, the elevators are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowakklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for one night to catch our flight out of Phoenix the next day. Fabulous hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, wonderful amenities, beautiful grounds. Very much enjoyed the complimentary cocktail hour buffet. Look no further if you're staying in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 10 nights here in May. We were a bit worried as the price seemed too low for the amenities, yet the reviews were great. 4 e-mails to hotel staff went unanswered (reservations, front desk mgr, general mgr) so that increased the worry. However this hotel was amazing. The staff were ALL friendly, helpful, and seemed to really care about keeping the grounds, rooms, common areas immaculate. We rented a one bedroom courtyard suite on the 3rd floor and were very pleased with our choice. The only thing that could have made it better was a balcony, but it was a quick trip down the stairs or elevator to the pool area & courtyard. The pool area is compact but the pool is large enough and we never had a problem getting chairs with an umbrella in the shade. The hot breakfast items varied daily and there was always lots of fresh fruit, breads, cereals, etc. We only attended the evening reception twice, but found it was enough for a meal, and most guests were making it their evening meal. There was an outdoor wedding one evening but the pool area and the inside eating area remained open for hotel guests. A very short walk around the corner are Village Tavern, Paradise Bakery & Cafe, Chez Vous French Creperie, Notorious Burgers, Cuttlefish, Downside Risk, Naya restaurants and several small shops, a spa/salon, nail salon. At this time of year, only drinks were available from the Terrace Patio Cafe (no food), however room service was available from the Village Tavern restaurant next to the hotel. The hotel is located right off Scottsdale Blvd in an area with offices, retail and residential complexes. It was an easy drive to wherever we wanted to get to. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel staff said that the one bedroom suites are the same square footage as the studio suites, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckp025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this location. Staff was friendly and the location was great. We did not use the pool but the grounds were well maintained. The meals were a plus and they were pretty good. Great way to go if you are traveling with kids.
The rooms were great size but I would suggest getting a room with a patio so you can sit outside and enjoy the weather. Parking was included and that was great.
I would stay here again if we return to Scottsdale

Room Tip: A room with a patio or a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After reading reviews on TA, I was hopeful that this would meet my expectations for a girlfriend getaway. It totally blew my mind that we received such amazing service and had such over-the-top amenities at these rates. Best beds I've ever slept in in a hotel, amazing food at breakfast and evening reception, beautiful, well-maintained pool area. It felt like a 5 star resort, honestly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing