We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a GEM!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gainey Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a GEM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's not a Hyatt .. and it's not a Best Western... What it is, is a wonderful hotel that represents great VALUE!

We stayed there using an $89 Living Social Coupon (Basically the same rate as booking on internet, but the coupon provided 2 free drinks)...

Nicely furnished, CLEAN, and little touches like... * EVENING RECEPTION (not your usual cheese curds and tap wine, but instead, stuff like Hot Dogs, Nachos, Popcorn, Fruit, bottled wine, Beer on tap, sodas, and more .... * Morning FULL BREAKFAST.. Scrambled eggs, toast, taters, cereal, fruits, burritos, and more ... * Great POOL and HOT TUB ... * FREE WI FI ... * MORNING Paper (USA Today).... * Did I mention the FULL KITCHEN?? (stove, large fridge, sink, washer)

The "Big Guys" can take a few tips from this hotel!.... We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The hotel is not large, so most rooms are close to the pool. Larger, suites have balconys overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azhotdogdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    277
    61
    29
    7
See reviews for
445
509
59
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked this place based on the reviews. I almost booked the Hyatt next to the Gainey golf course where my son had a golf tournament.We were happy with it, it is not fancy and the breakfast and afternoon drinks and appetizers are nothing fancy. Only complain is that they did not upgrade to a better room, but they let us do an early check in. Please beware that anything you buy from their hotel store is 3 times the normal price. There are some decent restaurant nearby, like Pomo the Italian place was really nice. I think I would go back to this place again, they need to start sering breakfast earlier that 6:30, some people have an early tee time :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triphugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, rated #3 so booked in initially for 5 nights. After seeing the property and staying 1 night, we added another night to our stay. This place is absolutely amazing - and especially considering their "off season" rates. Their prices were less than we would have paid for a run-of-the-mill chain motel.

We had a king suite, with a separate bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen (granite and stainless steel) and a living room. The kitchen is fully stocked, so all we had to bring was our food. The grounds are lovely-beautiful pool and hot tub, with a lanai and bar. A full buffet breakfast was included every morning in the price of our room, as well as an evening reception with wine, beer and hot AND cold appetizers. It puts Embassy Suites Manager's reception to shame! You could easily have your evening meal here.

The staff was very professional and helpful with directions, etc. The Shops of Gainey was a high end strip mall right behind the hotel with cute shops and restaurants. We were an easy drive to all the major highways as well as the touristy things to do in Scottsdale.

Frankly, we were a little concerned when we booked the Gainey Suites because of the great price and beautiful pictures of the grounds and rooms. You know how sometimes the hotel's websites' pictures are not what you see when you actually arrive? This time their pictures did not even do it justice. We're glad we trusted the Trip Advisor ratings, and we will definitely be back the next time we are in Scottsdale and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We asked for a 2nd or 3rd floor room facing the pool - it was beautiful, and quiet. We did notice, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyannaDreamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and picked it due to the good ratings from trip advisor. Let me tell you, the ratings were right on spot for this property. We had a king suite with a full kitchen and it was impeccable. Everything was excellent and the bed was fit for a king! A couple could actually use the room for an apartment. If in the area again this would be our choice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murvil An Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked two stays here at the beginning and end of our vacation due to TripAdvisor reviews. What a great find! Location, accommodations, food, staff, and amenities are all top class. Locationwise, the hotel is an easy drive to Taliesin West, the Desert Botanical Garden, downtown Scottsdale, golf courses, and the airport. The Shops of Gainey within walking distance had several restaurants plus shopping. Our exterior rooms were quiet and spacious. Staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful. The common areas were enticing and comfortable. The hotel has very clean, newer model laundry facilities as well.

Every morning we enjoyed full, hearty breakfasts in the common area overlooking the central courtyard, pool, and firewells. The
afternoon happy hour featured hot appetizers and drinks. Menus for both rotated through the week. All were tasty and the ambience was pleasant. The only distraction was the birds seeking any unattended food.

During our first stay, we had a Studio King Suite (227) with a full kitchen area (stove, full refrigerator, dishwasher, dishes...), living area with desk, couch, big screen TV, shared with a sleeping area featuring a king bed with pillowtop mattress and full bath. During our second stay, we tried a One bedroom King Suite (259) which seemed to be the same as the studio king with a wall dividing the living and sleeping area. Comparing the two suites, we liked the studio better with its open space. The one bedroom suite seemed a bit confined due to the smaller rooms. However, the one-bedroom suite did have more drawer storage space and two televisions. Both were comfortable so its a matter of personal preference.

All in all, thanks to our relaxed, comfortable stay at the Gainey Suites, I'm looking forward to another stay when I return to Scottsdale. As an added bonus, this hotel is reasonably priced without a resort fee added on!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are staying here for a family getaway. Wanted a place to give us a bit more experience than a typical hotel but didn't want something so over the top as to require a resort fee. The experience here can't be beat for the price. The clean, updated, appointed two queens suite separates the bedroom with a door which is a nice amenity, and having a full kitchen with a stove is more useful than I imagined (counter space alone is a benefit when you travel with a wife and kids). Happy hour was such a nice touch with free beer and food, and creates a social atmosphere most hotels don't offer. But the service puts it over the top. I watched a staff member diligently clean each tiki torch before prepping them with fuel and lighting them for the evening. The bartender made us some perfect piña coladas for poolside and gave us a wooden tray for carrying the drinks and free snacks he added in. When I discovered that people walking in the room above me kept me from getting a good nights sleep, Scott at the front desk didn't hesitate to immediately offer me a new upstairs room, ready to move in at my leisure. What a wonderful place. We will return frequently and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you get a suite; or be prepared to sleep inside a bass tube of footsteps fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Gainey Suites Hotel form May 31st-June 3rd 2014. From the moment we entered we knew we made the right choice.
It is a very clean hotel. The Lobby was very cozy and welcoming.
The room was very, very clean. I am a germ-phobia person and very particular about hotels. This one was exceptionally clean. The linen was fresh and looked as if they were ironed before placed on bed. The bed was very comfortable and slept well after a day of touring.
You should request a room that overlooks the pool and courtyard. We loved the view at night.

The breakfast was more than we expected with lots of fresh fruit, and an above average selection of hot and cold choices. We especially liked the selection of hot dishes....sausages, bacon, egg burritos. Also if you are a starbuck's coffee drinker, they serve a house blend.
The reception in the evening became our supper. Every night was a different choice like meatballs marinara, chicken stirfry and lots of salads and chips and dip. If you drink there is free beer and wine to go with meal.
To top it off, we had their delicious chocolate chip cookie which you get from the front desk.
Gainey Suites made our stay a memorable one.
PS: The pool was nice and warm. Our grandkids love the courtyard!

Room Tip: Request a pool or courtyard view (cost more).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SevenBlessingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#31 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing