We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Gainey Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stay at Gainey Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

Our recent visit (March 15-23, 2009) was a most positive experience. Gainey Suites is a well-managed and appointed facility. The location affords maximum access to Scottsdale and surrounding points of interest. Out stay was make comfortable by a well-prepared breakfast each day and the happy-hour was most pleasant and appropriate. Gainey Suites is served by a courteous and professional staff that makes one feel that this is a home-away from home. Our pleasure was to be part of this scene and we will not only be there again, but we will also recommend Gainey Suites to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstoriaOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    284
    63
    29
    7
See reviews for
451
517
59
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

This hotel serves as a home base for my colleagues and I when we are in town. I am here at least once a month if not more. The rooms are great and the staff is always friendly. One staff member (Cristalle) is my morning coffee. No matter the time of day she has a smile on her face and is eager to help.

From the continental breakfast to the evening happy hour, this hotel aims to please and make my time away from my family bearable. (Did I forget to mention the cookies?)

I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to my friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogersk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

The Gainey Suites is not a resort.....nor is it a 5 star hotel. But, if you're looking for a warm, welcoming, homelike atmosphere with a wonderful staff that will greet you by name when you come and go......this is the place to stay. I just spent 9 nights at G.S. while I was in the final planning stages of my daughter's wedding and I can't express how friendly, helpful, PATIENT and gracious the entire staff was. In addition to the wonderful staff, the property is cozy, clean and VERY comfortable. Don't be fooled by the relatively unimpressive exterior. Inside is where it's all happening!! You will immediately feel the warmth and coziness of the staff and the hotel the minute you walk thru the doors. I was there in February, so I was immediately struck with the glowing fireplace, the welcoming furnishings and the basket of chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. Look past the front lobby and you will be pleased with yet another fireplace in the Hearth Room, which is where they serve a more than adequate breakfast buffet in the morning and a lovely cocktail hour from 5-7 pm. The rooms are well appointed with nice, fully equipped kitchens, flat screen TVs and very comfortable beds with down comforters and pillows. There is a very attractive patio area off the Hearth Room and a lovely pool area with comfortable lounge chairs, tables and umbrellas. The hotel is also situated directly next to the Gainey Village with restaurants and boutique shopping, as well as the Gainey Spa and Fitness Center where you can enjoy a Spa day. I hosted a brunch on the patio for approx. 60 people on the sunday morning after my daughter's wedding that was flawless. The food stations, the table settings and the staff were all outstanding. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable, relaxing and friendly atmosphere with impeccable service.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

My sister and I have stayed at Gainey Suites in the past and were pleased. This time, the hotel was undergoing renovations to their guest rooms. This was not mentioned at all on the website, or when I called to book our package. We were given a room at the very far end of the hotel, and had to pass by debris removed from rooms (curtains, etc.) as well as new mattresses and furniture stacked in the hallways. We were also near "banos for construction workers" and the laundry room where lint was abundant on the sidewalk outside our window. This was not what I would consider a "luxury" experience. My complaint is that I should have been given the choice as to whether I wanted to stay in a hotel undergoing renovations or not. Had we stayed more than one night, it would have been hard to ignore the condition of the hotel.

  • Liked — location, good value of package
  • Disliked — renovation work, disinterested hotel clerk at check in
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrgainey, General Manager at Gainey Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
Allow me to express our apologies to any of our guests who may have been disturbed along the way of the $3.7 million "top to bottom" renovation of our 162 guest suites this past summer and fall. I admit that it certainly can be a challenge at times and not without the occasional bump in the road here and there. Nonetheless we completed the project in late November 2008 and are very pleased with our stylish new suites product. We hope to have the opportunity to share our fantastic remodel and some good old fashioned Southwestern hospitality with you all the next time your travels bring you to Scottsdale, Az. Until then, wishing you all the best! The Gainey Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

Recently stayed here on business - nice property, well-maintained with a good front desk staff. Great value for the money in a central Scottsdale location.

A couple thoughts to chew on...

#1: When I returned to my room at 1:30 after going out with several clients, at least two of the hotel's exterior doors were unlocked (including a secluded door at the end of a hallway). I'm not one of them, but I do know this freaks out certain people.

#2: Teenagers in the hallway when I returned (1:30AM) - running in and out one of the aforementioned unlocked exterior doors, up & down the hallway, etc.. Not unusual in some hotels, but I really thought this was a business-centered hotel.

#3: The hotel seems to offer free, in-person wakeups from the hotel's housekeeping staff. They apparently aren't familiar with the "DO NOT DISTURB" hanger. I received an early morning knock from a housekeeper who wanted to know what time I thought I would be checking out. Nevermind that it was several hours before the listed checkout, nor that my "DO NOT DISTURB" sign was hung, nor that I was out late the night before with clients.

Otherwise, a good stay and a nice place.

  • Liked — Convenient location, free internet
  • Disliked — Housekeepers disregarding "Do Not Disturb" hanger
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justalittlecrazykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrgainey, General Manager at Gainey Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
Please allow me to express our apology to anyone roused out of our wonderful Gainey Suite Dreams Bed a bit early by our apparently, a little too eager to clean, Room Attendants. They are a great group but rest assured we'll refresh the daily start schedule with the entire team. On the weekday mornings they should be off and running about 7:30-8 am and on weekends around 8:30-9 am. Just as an added measure we recommend that folks wishing to sleep-in leave the "Do Not Disturb" hanger outside their door. Thanks so much and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing