We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to do this!”

Arizona Rafting by Wilderness Aware
Book In Advance
More Info
US$144.90*
and up
Full-day Salt River Whitewater Rafting Trip
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: World class whitewater rafting on the Upper Salt River! This is not a tubing trip on the Lower Salt River. Half, full, and overnight rafting trips of up to 5 days through the Salt River Wilderness. Offering comfortable changing facilities on the edge of this remote wilderness area. Lunches include delicious chicken and beef fajitas.Experienced and fun loving guides make rafting here a great experience for almost anyone.
High Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You have to do this!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just a great day!! The guide was top notch. READ THE LITERATURE--this is not Disney--it's a bit like roughing it but you will not be disappointed...just preparing you for what to expect (port a potties; can be cold; wear some type of footwear and be prepared to paddle & participate). Went with my 14 year old son. Clean, safe, gorgeous and fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

On a short visit to Phoenix, my son and I went on a half day rafting trip. It was a beautiful drive to the location, and the rafting trip was fun and relaxing with a couple of thrills. The stop for lunch was refreshing and the meal was delicious. It was the last trip of the season so the water level was low, which is why it was more of a river float than active rafting, so being a thrill seeker, I will go earlier in the season next time and do the full day trip. My son had never gone rafting before and wants to go again, too, and this time for the full day. I highly recommend this company as the guides were knowledgeable, fun and entertaining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We initially purchased a half day raft, however we had such a wonderful time it stayed for the whole day!!!! The instructors (main folks who guided us) were personable and a good time for everyone in our raft (age ranged from grammar school to 60+). I will be booking another trip this March cannot wait!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
“Excellent Adventure”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Myself and a group a friends did the overnight trip which I would highly recommend last spring. The food was good, sights stunning, and the guides awesome! Although we didn't quite make the trip without flipping the boat, its well worth you time and money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocketted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rafting, great service -and OUTSTANDING Food”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My two sons and I rafted the Salt River with Wilderness Aware in early April, 2013. Everything about the trip worked and Wilderness Aware made it happen. The equipment - top notch, in great condition. The guides - friendly, knowledgeable, enjoyable to be around for three days. And the most important creature comfort - The FOOD! Fantastic meals, made all the better by how effortless the guides made it happen it the wilderness conditions.

A trip I'd recommend to anyone seeking an outdoor adventure, whether they're experienced or a novice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arizona Rafting by Wilderness Aware also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Arizona Rafting by Wilderness Aware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing