We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guacamole and Margarita”
Review of The Mission

The Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,267 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Transit: The Scottsdale Trolley stops in three spots within less than 2 blocks from The Mission!
Description: Old Town Scottsdale’s heart is beating to a Latin drum, now that The Mission has arrived and brightened the restaurant scene. Renowned Zinc Bistro Chef Matt Carter is now cooking up modern Latin cuisine blending influences from Spain, Mexico, Central America and South America. Home made Tortillas, Arepas, and Salsas are made fresh daily and all meats are prepared on a Plancha or a grill using pecan and mesquite wood that instills a rich flavor.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Guacamole and Margarita”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A must go in Scottsdale. Awesome Mexican food. Always start with a Guacamole. Prepared and served at your table. Have a margarita with it. There is nothing much to say. Very good service, perfect food, nice location, reasonable prices. Reservation is highly recommended. Even on weekdays.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TobiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,257
    503
    176
    74
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Predictably Great”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Mission's food and service never disappoints. It's the one restaurant where I could close my eyes and point at anything on the menu and be confident it was going to be delicious. I love going here for dinner on special occasions, or brunch on any given Sunday.

The restaurant itself is beautiful -- sexy lighting and vibrant music that add to the overall experience.

I was surprised on this last visit to see quite a few other diners eating in their bathing suit tops, cut-off jean shorts, and similar super-casual attire...on a Friday night. It certainly doesn't match the vibe of the restaurant, or the quality of their service and food. I'm not suggesting that the Mission needs to initiate a dress code; merely wondering what people are thinking sometimes when they leave the house. On a Friday night...isn't swapping out your flip-flops for your stilettos part of the fun?

If you like flavorful food, attentive service, and a full-sensory dining experience, do yourself a favor and eat at the Mission.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must in Scottsdale”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lives up to its fantastic reputation. The 6 of us were all impressed at the service, atmosphere and amazing food.

We were made welcome and looked after with humour and speed. The servings are generous and every meal met with praise

Happy to recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisV1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious upscale Mexican - like nothing I've had”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a gem in Old Scottsdale. I thought I'd had good Mexican food until I'd eaten here. The best fish tacos I've ever had. Crispy, crunchy, and amazing flavour. They make margaritas the way they were meant to be - no slush here. The table-side guacamole was a tad over-salted, but that's the only negative criticism I have. Service was great and the ambiance was very cool. Dark and romantic. I'd go again in a heartbeat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic environment and food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On a Friday night without reservations we showed up with 9 people. Fortunately for us there was room on the back patio. So happy to be outside in a lovely courtyard. Inside seating was nice too, but it was a gorgeous night and the courtyard was perfect. The service was amazing, very attentive. We were celebrating a bachelorette party the manager surprised us with a cordial glass of premium tequila and orange slices with cinnamon and sugar and gave a toast to us all. I would definitely return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floralee061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mission also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing