We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, room a little small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sundial
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Girard, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, room a little small”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The most friendly and helpful front desk clerks! Helped us in getting to various destinations and didn't mind how many times I asked the same question. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

We had a room with 2 full size beds. The room was a little narrower than the average hotel room, but it was okay. Loved the wooden, slotted blinds they have on the windows. They actually close... unlike most drapes that other hotels use. Mattress was comfortable. They had goose down pillows, which I don't happen to care for, but a lot of people like. The shower was different. There was no tub, just a shower with a partial wall and no sliding glass door. Sometimes water found its way out of the shower, but not too much that the towel didn't absorb. The shower was the kind that could be removed from the holder and hand held which was nice.
Sink was outside the bathroom which allows 2 people to get ready at once and keeps the mirror from being fogged from the shower.

The building was different. We entered the lobby and took the elevator up, then crossed a bridge like walkway and exited to the outside and then walked to the room. The door to go back out again was a little heavy. Could set outside on the 3rd floor on an open air patio which was nice. We could hear music from a bar somewhere down the street, but our room had an extra wall across from its door and we didn't hear the music once inside.

The location allowed for an easy 1-2 mile drive to Old Town which had plenty of shopping and restaurants. We stayed 2 nights here upon arrival to Phoenix and stayed again the last night before departing for the airport. A person at the front desk gave us easy driving directions to the airport which I believe was to just go down Camelback Rd and then 24th to return the rental car. It might have taken about 30 minutes to get to the airport. It was much better then what our GPS had us do to find the hotel from the airport.... LoL! GPS had us on and off freeways a few times and I missed an exit, but still not bad.

Getting into the resort at night was not clear with signage, but a little common sense worked fine. I didn't see an entrance, only exits and went around a corner and ended up on a side street next to the lobby. Here the parking was right across from the lobby and easy enough and close enough to just pull the luggage across a alley like street.... in a well lit safe area.

Breakfast was excellent here. 4 cold cereals, coffee, tea, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, various breads for toast and I think they had muffins.

Would stay again. Thanks to the staff for all their help with directions and making it such a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We weren't here on a Friday or Saturday night, when the clubs are probably more loud, but just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello OHvacationer, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your kind and complimentary review and look forward to your return. Please contact us directly at the hotel to set up your next stay and hopefully earn 5 out of 5 on your next review.

Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    155
    52
    19
    13
See reviews for
115
223
52
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great staff, great facilities and great value. Great location -- centrally located within walking distance of great restaurants, clubs/bars and shopping. I have stayed at this hotel several times. I couldn't find a better, more helpful staff anywhere. Must stay hotel in the heart of oldtown scottsdale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello Daniel T, we are very fortunate to have you as a guest at our hotel. Thank you for the kind words, I will share them with everyone here and look forward to your return.

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent location. Rooms and suites extremely well kept and comfortable. Most helpful staff. The decor in the rooms and throughout the hotel is quite attractive and well thought out. The hotel is located within walking distance to great shopping as well as dining and most Scottsdale attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello Don C, your review brings a smile to my face. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.

Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I used to work right up the road from this hotel and always loved how close it was to everything. This was the first place I thought of when thinking of a place to stay while in Scottsdale. I had a wonderful stay at this hotel, I had a late check in but was greeted and checked in quickly. My room was clean and very nice.definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Good Afternoon Dana D,
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus Sundial. We are privileged to have you as our guest. Safe travels and we look forward to your return.
At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peoria, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our room being so great! It was nice, clean and many amenities. We will stay again! It also was such a great location walking distance to places in Old Town Scottsdale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello CherylB, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We look forward to your return.

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here twice during our vaction, once on the way south and once on our way back north. Checkin was fine both times and we had a nice room on both occasions. On our second stay we booked a king bed room as that was all that was available, upon arrival we asked if it was possible to have a two queen bed room and they were very helpful and accomodated us. The hotel is close to the shopping mall with access to a variety of restaurant. The only slight down size was the breakfast wasn't great. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthnRobinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
hello RuthnRobinM, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. we hope to see you again in the future and will do what we can to earn that 5 out of 5.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Just like the sun the Sundial Best Western in Scottsdale is a force to reckin with.Jude and staff are what every hotel should have! Caring-imformative-nicely dressed and looking and really go out of there way to make sure my stay with them is the best. The dining and clubbing has really improved 100 percent too in the neighborhood.You could not ask for a better lication either.The Sundial is the Heart of location in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude N, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sundial, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello Sachdizzy, it is always a delight to see you when you come to Scottsdale. Thank you for the wonderful review and I look forward to your return.
At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Aloft Scottsdale
#61 of 75 in Scottsdale
44 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sundial

Property: Best Western Plus Sundial
Address: 7320 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3404 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#25 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sundial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Three Diamond The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial is located approximately 12 miles from Sky Harbour International Airport 25-30 minutes via car taxi shuttle or limousine. Located in Historic, Vibrant Downtown Scottsdale the most desirable destination in The Valley of the Sun, featuring the southwest's finest shopping, dining, entertainment and culture. Experience a relaxed tone and distinct "sense of place." The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial reflects and implies the flavor of its unique fun filled location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sundial Hotel Scottsdale
Best Western Plus Sundial Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing