We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Happy Hour and Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of pure sushi

pure sushi
Ranked #220 of 1,241 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and Cocktails”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pure Sushi has a great happy hour and some great cocktails. I have eaten here several times and never been disappointed. They have several TV's and always have sports on. Also, a great outside wraparound patio exists if the weather is right. Great service and the right price!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
346 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Sushi and more”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Pure Sushi Bar. The best thing about Pure is that its extensive menu and expert kitchen staff guarantee a delicious dining experience, regardless of whether you love sushi or not. We enjoyed dishes ranging from appetizers (some half price, like lettuce wraps, beef yakitori, and pork gyoza during happy hour) to entrees including the sashimi platter, yakisoba chicken, and chicken katsu. The katsu's preparation was new to us, utterly unlike everyday katsu dishes. The wine list features an extensive choice by the glass or bottle. Service was friendly and efficient. We all agreed that we would enjoy eating at Pure again.

Helpful?
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good sushi joint”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is my favorite sushi place in the valley. I am glad it is near home. Love the Poke here (not authentic - but they put a delicious spin on it)! The sashimi is always fresh (sometimes a challenge for AZ sushi places). I enjoy maki wrapped in cucmber and they have a few really good choices here for those. Happy Hour is a steal and I like the Korean BBQ pork sliders a lot (which I hate to admit ordering these at a sushi restaurant with such great sushi).

My only negative is service can be hit or miss, even within a meal. In this case, super attentive until dinner was served and then no water or drink service for quite a while. We would have stayed a while and ordered more beers and drinks after dinner, but we decided to leave since it would have taken a while.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last Time”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I've been here a few times and everything seems to be on the decline each time. This was the last straw. I will go elsewhere. The waitress seemed indifferent. The rice tasted day-old. The manager didn't appear interested in managing. Hell, they "lost the ticket" in the kitchen, per the waitress. There were 8-10 people in the restaurant......really? The menu is creative and diverse, now they just need to find employees interested in preparing, serving and managing it at a high level.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCLG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our FAVORITE place to eat!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

When my family wants to eat out, it's always a consensus when we bring up Pure. Simply, hands down our FAVORITE place to eat!! Best quality fresh seafood. Clean and inviting environment, rock star chefs, Eddie, Daniel and DJ, you guys are amazing! We live pretty far from this place, but it's worth the drive 10X over! Love the sashimi!! And for a special treat the Creamy Lobster Roll is insane! Happy hour specials are a great deal. We've eaten sushi from coast to coast, nothing tops this for consistency and freshness. Can't say enough good things about it! We eat there as oftern as possible and it's not enough! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed pure sushi also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to pure sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing