We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2010

From the moment we arrived at the Canyon Suites, we were in awe. Driving through the Phoenician property up to suites, you will be met with immaculately kept grounds and a backdrop of Camelback Mountain. As you enter you will be met with some of the most attentive and professional property professionals that I have encountered on my travels. The valet, concierges, and desk staff makes you feel as if you are their only priority for your stay. The room was clean, comfortable and the private patio made it a treat to have breakfast with a view of the pool and the mountain behind. Some highlights from the stay include: the beautiful pools, access to Camelback Mountain, the John George restaurant, drinks at the Thirsty Camel patio bar, and again the personal attention of the property professionals. I would highly recommend a stay at the Canyon Suites on your next visit to Scottsdale.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

We experienced both ups and downs at the Canyon Suites.

On the up-side: (1) The location is terrific, particularly if you want to be near great shops and restaurants, as well as Old Town Scottsdale. (2) The entire Phoenician property is beautiful with fantastic landscaping and the lovely cactus garden. (3) It was wonderful to have the separate, quieter pool, dedicated only to the Canyon Suites guests, while also being able to access the Phoenician pools. (4) Ambassador Gary, and Ben (at the Canyon Suites pool), were terrific, friendly and helpful. (5) Complimentary high-speed Internet access and parking were a plus as were the twice-daily visits from the housekeeping staff.

On the down-side: (1) Overall, we found the service at the Canyon Suites to be lackluster, and we cannot see how this is considered a 5-star property. We wondered if they had decreased the number of staff recently. For example, several times, cars, which needed to be parked, were stacked up and/or we found no one available to park our car (despite the included valet parking service). Sometimes staff handling luggage, or even the Ambassadors, were also called upon to deal with the cars. In short, staying at the Canyon Suites was like seeing a play where a few actors are called upon to handle several roles, limiting their ability to handle any one task with aplomb. We even experienced, more than once, pool service being closed, mid-day, because the singular staff person serving the pool area was called away to another part of the property. Hence, if you wanted food or beverages, etc., you were told that the pool service was being closed down early. Overall, the lack of service and attention to detail was disappointing. (2) It was a good thing that we scrutinized our bill before leaving the property. It contained many errors and over-charges. Fortunately, when we brought the errors to the attention of staff members, things were rectified, but no guest should ever be presented with an invoice with incorrect entries and over-charges. (3) The morning and evening refreshments, available in the (gorgeous) lobby of the Canyon Suites are sparse, to say the least. Perhaps we have become too accustomed to staying at true 5-star properties where fantastic treats are made available during the day, but we were very surprised at what was advertised, through the website, as opposed to what we found in the lobby. (4) Although we found the hotel to be generally clean, we were struck by the number of room service trays, with remnants of food, left, for hours, in the hallways. We even found dirty trays and dishes collecting on the floor of the room which housed the ice machine. Again, poor/questionable service. (5) Our Ambassador, at check-in, was aloof, demeaning and obviously unfamiliar with our reservation. (We are purposefully omitting his name here.) Fortunately, we later interacted with other Ambassadors who were much more pleasant!

Overall, we had highs and lows at the Canyon Suites. If they could improve on service, the place could be great, and as such, we might give this resort another try in future. Hence, we can recommend the resort, but with some hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank derber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Please see my review of the Phoenician. The Canyon Suite staff is, believe it jor not, just as competent and helpful. Gary

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apacherodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Our Canyon suite was enormous and comfortable - from our poolside patio we looked straight up at gorgeous Camelback Mountain. The Ambassadors (especially Alicia and Jill) were extremely helpful and friendly. Almost all other staff was equally as pleasant and helpful. Canyon suites pool and jacuzzi are fabulous. J&G Steakhouse is one of the best restaurants in Phoenix. Relish restaurant in the golf clubhouse seves unbelievable kobe burgers. My husband had a great time on the beautiful golf courses. Spa services for myself were excellent - not the case for my husband. Overall, our stay was a wonderful experience and we plan on returning. Only downside is that rooms and especially the spa are dated.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is a hotel with a gorgeous location – could not be prettier – but it misses the mark big time on the service side.

We stayed here on a recent business trip to the area. We decided to stay at the Canyon Suites because the reviews seemed to be better. If this is a four star property AAA was bribed. A beautiful location does not take away from the fact that hotel management has cut back on their staff and is hoping the guests don’t notice. The first thing that sticks out like a sore thumb at the Suites is the lack of a bellman. When you pull up, you just sit there – when you go inside – if you are lucky to find someone at the front desk – they will send someone out to help you. Throughout our stay, the person working the front desk had to also valet cars, concierge, check guests in and go to a room if a guest needed help. I’ve stayed at Hampton Inn’s that had better staffing.

We went up to the main hotel for dinner one evening, and it did not get any better there. The décor is definitely “1980 is calling and wants it’s brass and ferns back.” I could deal with that, it was relatively well maintained, but again the service was off. We ate at the Italian restaurant. The couple next to us ordered ice cream. After 15 minutes of waiting for the dessert to arrive, the wife left to go to bed, leaving the husband behind to wait for the check and tell the waiter to forget the ice cream.

Our food in the restaurant was tasty (nothing special to write about), but the service was very slow – to say nothing of the fact that the place was nearly empty and there seemed to be plenty of staff running around.

Maybe it is the fact that it is not peak season, so the bean counters thought they could cut corners and no one would notice. It is hard not to notice in a hotel that charges the prices this place does, yet leaves all of the breakfast dishes in the hall to gather dust until 6PM.
My suggestion – look elsewhere for an upscale location – pity, because with the location on Camelback, this place is on prime real estate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank cr8it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I spent 6 nights at the Canyon Suites. The first three I was on my own and the last three I was with my husband. I booked the Canyon Suites because I wanted an upscale property with a focus on service and a sense of subdued luxury. The Canyon Suites did not disappoint! The pool area is tranquil and the the view of Camelback Mountain is simply stunning. The rooms (we stayed in a one bedroom suite, golf course view) are very lovely and every detail has been considered. We loved the J+G steakhouse onsite, but do NOT recommend the on-site Italian restaurant. Dining offsite at Tomaso's is a MUST! The in-room dining was prompt and very good.

But the Ambassador Service is what sold me on this hotel. The staff are attentive, proactive, and very knowledgable. We were promptly shuttled to and from golf and to and from shopping downtown. The ambassadors booked off-property excursions (hot air ballooning -- a wonderful experience!!), and dinner reservations. The poolside ambassador magically appeared every time the pitcher of ice water needed to be refreshed. And the somolier at the complimentary wine-tasting was very knowledgable.

I would recommend this hotel for any adult vacation...kids with families would likely be happier elsewhere.

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enrouteBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback provided by our guests. As Arizona's first resort-within-a-resort, the AAA Five Diamond Canyon Suites is designed to offer a more exclusive, private and enhanced experience -- starting with your in-room check-in --whether traveling on business, or off on a quiet getaway. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment in our Italian restaurant, however. If you would like to provide specific details, please contact the hotel and ask for the Public Relations Director. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Canyon Suites in Feb for 4 nights. What an amazing experience! We've stayed at the Phoenician several times over the years, and always enjoyed it, but the Canyon Suites are definitely a step up.

Our suite was very spacious and looked out over the golf course. Huge marble bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Spacious living room with well-appointed furniture. Great veranda overlooking a well-manicured par 3. Concierge service was friendly and helpful. Private pool was very secluded and quiet, which was just what we were looking for. Complimentary afternoon wine tasting was a real treat.

We will look forward to our next visit to the Canyon Suites.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you for your review. At The Canyon Suites, we strive to bring the AAA Five Diamond experience of The Phoenician to a more intimate, personalized level. The private pool, complimentary afternoon wine tastings and therapeutic turndowns, along with the signature golf course or mountain views that accompany each suite, are designed specifically for that purpose. We are so pleased that you found your experience to be special. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,726 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Address: 6000 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £365 - £844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician is Arizona's premier AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star resort destination. Guests enjoy a daily, complimentary artisan breakfast, a private infinity pool, chauffeured transportation throughout the resort and to nearby shopping areas, as well as priority dining reservations on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing