We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“golf trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talking Stick Resort
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“golf trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I have been to Phoenix many times and to the old "tent city" that was the casino in years past. I spent three nights at the "Stick" last year and wanted to drop a note as I have just booked another stay. One of the bartenders in the cigar bar was an old friend and that was great to see someone that knew my name after many years! I was on my own for the weekend so I took in the spa. Do yourself the pleasure of taking an open air shower from the top floor of the hotel right before sunset. It was absolutely awesome. The service as great. I followed that up with a fine meal and made friends with many others on the road like me. The golf was great-I did hole out for a birdie on a blind bunker shot! I had played both courses before but so much better now knowing your room is 5 minutes from the 19th hole. The rooms are great, bathrooms clean and well appointed. There really is no where else to stay in the area now that there is TSR.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88buffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    413
    152
    61
    78
See reviews for
139
412
44
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I love Vegas. We all know Phoenix is not Vegas. Don't get me wrong. I like Phoenix. I would just rather be in Vegas!

Recently I had to go to Phoenix on business, and since I would rather have been going to Vegas, I decided to try the Talking Stick Resort to get a little taste of the casino atmosphere. I have been to quite a few indian casinos that were real dumps, so I had pretty low expectations. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. Walking around the lobby/casino of the Talking Stick Resort felt a lot like a Vegas casino. Admittedly, it didn't have all the fancy outside attractions like an Eiffel Tower or errupting volcano. But the casino itself was definitely Vegas quality (although obviously smaller). I can honestly say that the gambling experience was excellent.

The room was also very nice. I got an Executive Club room which was furnished beautifully, and it had a very impressive bathroom and shower. I was truly impressed. Later I heard that the regular rooms weren't much different than the Club rooms, so in hindsight I might have been able to save some money and just gotten a regular room. That is something to investigate before you book a room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim_and_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

New, clean hotel/casino which excelled in service. Buffet was excellent, compares to top Las Vegas buffets. Security person on duty 24/7, only one entrance, They asked to see a room card from everyone. We had a problem with the room, everything was fixed in less than an hour. New remote, new coffemaker. Golf course next to hotel was very good. We stayed on a 3-day plan. The hotel is about a mile from the freeway. It sits by itself on open range (wild horses roaming on a vast acreage, the hotel property is fenced in). Very quiet but easy to go shopping or to a restaurant. Casino was fairly large. Too may people smoking for me. The wife enjoyed playing the slots. Free internet, wired and wireless.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was so looking forward to my stay at this hotel and a poker tournament. The room was dark when we got there, so I went over to open the blinds. On the way back my ankle was ripped open by nails sticking out of the end of the bed. The bottom footboard was off and not repaired. My husband called for help, they send up mainanance and he took one look at me and called the house emt. He was nice and bandaged up my bleeding ankle. Needless to say I couldn't do anything as my ankle was throbbing all night. I was told management would call and compensate me for their neglegance. The next morning no call.....so I called the hotel manager the next morning and he said sorry, we don't do anything for YOUR accident-- like it was my fault. He was very rude and we checked out immediatly even thought we had booked another night. We will never go back to this place. They should take responsibilty for their poor maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfin1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at Talking Sticks for 4th of July weekend. Even during this busy weekend we experienced excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quiet vacation, I would not recommend going during busy holiday weekends. We did not mind crowds. Hotel pool is very busy but there is a small one, just left of the main pool, more private and relaxing. Our room was beautiful; all of requests to housekeeping were answered in timely manner. This is going to be, most likely, the only time in our lifetimes when we were able to watch spectacular Scottsdale fireworks from out hotel room bed! That was an unexpected treat and we are definitely going back next year for 4th of July! We loved the interiors and enjoyed comfortable sitting areas provided throughout the hotel. Coffee Garden cafe was great, we loved dueling pianos on Friday and Saturday nights! These guys were so much fun! Wandering Horse Buffett was great for Sunday brunch, delicious and fresh food. Casino is busy but we noticed that it wasn't as smoky as other Arizona Casinos. The employees at the resort were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Deluxe King room on 8th floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninamelie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Talking Stick on the surface appears nice but looks can be deceiving. The hotel operation at Talking Stick is rough compared to Fort McDowell. The Talking Stick casino is nice and compared to other Arizona casinos easier to breath because it is newer and the A/C designed to better circulate the air. However the games selection is only fair, doesn't stand a candle to Fort McDowell. The hotel at Fort McDowell, the Radisson at Fort McDowell is far and away a better place to enjoy yourself and the casino, while an older property, is a better overall experience. I would recomend Fort McDowell over Talking Stick any time. oldaztraveler

Room Tip: Radisson at Fort McDowell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Great room, well-appointed, nice amenities. I would never stay at this hotel again due to the simple fact that walking through the smoky casino is disgusting. After a quick walk, I felt like I needed an immediate shower due to the stench of smoke in my hair and on my clothing. There are so many options in Scottsdale that are smoke-free that I would choose from any number of other places to stay on subsequent trips.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte4625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talking Stick Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talking Stick Resort

Property: Talking Stick Resort
Address: 9800 E. Talking Stick Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Talking Stick Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Talking Stick Resort, a luxurious Four-Diamond Scottsdale resort, where fun is limited only by your imagination. Play in style on our 240,000 square foot casino, one of the largest in Arizona. Savor the flavors and take in the panoramic views from the award-winning Orange Sky Restaurant. Check out Vegas-style entertainment and local favorites as they take the stage in the TSR Showroom. Test your skills on 36-holes of championship golf at Talking Stick Golf Club, one of the most scenic and challenging golf courses in Scottsdale. Then when it’s time to relax, head up to The Spa at Talking Stick and enjoy a relaxing spa treatment overlooking incredible views of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Talking Stick Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talking Stick Hotel Scottsdale
Talking Stick Resort Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing