We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talking Stick Resort
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Talking Stick is great for the location, close to Scottsdale shopping & nightlife but their customer service sucks. Severely. They just are not service oriented at all.
Also, the website was a little deceiving bc I reserved the "Scenic View Club King" room, which was $45 more than the regular "Club King" room I had previously stayed in, bc the pics online made it look like it was a corner room with balcony. It was no different than the one I had stayed in before. In fact, it was no different than the regular basic room my friend stayed in on the 3rd floor besides the fact that it was on a top floor. The rooms are fairly nice, don't get me wrong, but I would say just go with the basic guest room, same room, better price.
Overall nice, clean hotel, unfriendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I enjoy traveling and certainly enjoy traveling to cities with casinos. While I didn't stay at the Talking Stick Resort, I did visit their casino on a couple occasions recently.

The casino was nice and clean. The dealers were fun and they had all the table games I like to play (Blackjack, Three Card Poker and Let It Ride with the three card poker bonus) The dealers DON'T tips share which adds an incentive for them to be nice or risk not getting tipped! Smoking usually doesn't bother me but it did seem a little over the top on this trip. They did have 4 blackjack tables in the poker room that were non-smoking but I prefer to be in the middle of the action. It is what it is, it's a casino after all. As is typical with Native American casinos, you have to pay for your alcohol. Always a bummer, especially knowing how much money people are spending.

Overall, I enjoyed my time spent there and will be back the next time I visit the Phoenix/Scottsdale area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place was absolutely amazing. Room was clean and spacious. The staff didn't seem to clean the hallways, as beer caps from first night were there when we left 5 nights later. first night was a bit loud from a bachelor party, but nothing crazy. It was great place, for gambling and eating. The restaurant downstairs with sushi was to die for. Casino wasn't overly smokey...but we didn't play many games. The valet parking was a dream, and easy to use, no more than 5 min wait for car.

Room Tip: pay extra for the breakfast upgrade...very worth it and the ladies who look after the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

TALKING STICK is just not only a great place to gambling and lodging, It's a great place for friends and family to get together and spend a great evening. Dining superb, entertainment for everyone and even a cigar lounge that rivals the best of them. If staying overnight, the rooms are impeccably cozy and very
quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have been to a couple local Arizona casinos and they are nothing like Talking Stick. It is a lot more fun with a younger crowd. it is still smoky on the casino floor but all of the amenities make up for it.

Room Tip: We got a room on the suite level and the free happy hour food and drinks was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrittanyCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here at the end of June for a conference. Had a double queen room. Overall, room was good. Couldn't give a 5 because of carpet stains and the bed slip at the foot of the bed was well worn. Minor maybe, but, they charge "resort" prices so rooms should be "resort" quality right? Bathroom was nice; shower was awesome; had a bathtub. Conference facilities were nice. Casino was smokey! Restaurants in hotel were pricey. Lunch buffet was $20.95. Selection was not what I expected. They do have a small bistro type place right off the casino floor. Pretty good prices - Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken Breast is delicious. The resort is off by itself, but a shopping center with several eating places (Taco Bell, Chipotle, Arby's, McDonalds) is about 1/2 mile away. Also have a Target in the same shopping area. Staff is very friendly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Goldwinger59102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

been a few times each time its amazing! always clean, always friendly service. and the pool is so awesome! i also had my 4 year old with me and it was fine for family too! she didn't stay in the casino parts but was fine to walk through them on way to the hotel area.

Room Tip: i like the lower levels, its a really high tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsdale/Riverwalk
3.5 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,497 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
3.2 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
271 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#30 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talking Stick Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talking Stick Resort

Address: 9800 E. Talking Stick Way, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £133 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talking Stick Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Talking Stick Resort, a luxurious Four-Diamond Scottsdale resort, where fun is limited only by your imagination. Play in style on our 240,000 square foot casino, one of the largest in Arizona. Savor the flavors and take in the panoramic views from the award-winning Orange Sky Restaurant. Check out Vegas-style entertainment and local favorites as they take the stage in the TSR Showroom. Test your skills on 36-holes of championship golf at Talking Stick Golf Club, one of the most scenic and challenging golf courses in Scottsdale. Then when it’s time to relax, head up to The Spa at Talking Stick and enjoy a relaxing spa treatment overlooking incredible views of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Talking Stick Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talking Stick Hotel Scottsdale
Talking Stick Resort Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing