We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Getaway”

Citizen Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Citizen Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Craftsman Ct. & 5th Avenue
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick Getaway”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The staff made this an excellent experience. Dinner was an experience not to be forgotten. Starting with the chopped salad, followed by the ribs and scallops. Can't wait to return !

Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    158
    43
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Plain brown wrapper”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Located in Old Scottsdale, west of Scottsdale Road and south of the canal. Stroll the area's storefronts before or after you drink or dine. A diverse crowd on a noisy night. A full wrap bar area. Long tables for groups. Nothing really intimate but it is a public house with energetic vibes. The service and food were outstanding. Knowledgable tenders. Must tries are the scallops and chopped salad; quality, not quantity. The house made Sangria is a treat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the finest restaurants in metro Phoenix”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Citizen Public House has a small but excellent menu. Everything they serve has a unique twist turning a common dish into the spectacular. The ingredients are superb, and the service is excellent.

The meatloaf (yes, meatloaf; there's no filler in it) is incredible and the best thing on the menu. Even if everyone at your table orders the same thing, you'll be happy.

The chop salad is so good that it has its own facebook page. They don't even waste your time listing the ingredients on the menu. Get a couple for your table to share.

Bacon fat popcorn is excellent and has strong bacon taste.

The scallops are quite good.

The only negative I have is the same one everyone has: the restaurant is incredibly noisy; it's hard to have a conversation. They need to do some acoustic dampening or something. The servers have to invade your personal space just to hear your order.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food - Bring A Flash Light and Mega Phone!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were taken to dinner at Citizen Public House last weekend and really enjoyed the food. I started with the crab cakes and they rank up there on the top of my favorite things to eat. They are served on a slaw salad,,,,just delicious! I also had the ribs, something I normally don't order at upscale restaurants but was happy I did. The service was top notch, not overbearing but appropriately attentive. I hate to sound like my parents but the lighting is very low and I had to use the candle on our table to see the menu, you might want to bring a pen light! Also, although I enjoyed the ambiance it is very loud making table talk difficult. I could communicate with the person next to me but that was about it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TomInAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The pork belly pastrami is good, the salad is very good. the pork chop was very salty and a little dry, Excellent service

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Citizen Public House also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Citizen Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing