We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fun atmosphere”
Review of Local Bistro + Bar

Local Bistro + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Bistro + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Thompson Peak
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Enjoyed a great meal at Local Bistro. Try the calamari appetizer....you won't be disappointed. Atmosphere was fun and lively, but on the louder side. Would definitely come back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJMAC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    112
    32
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Played golf with a friend and we decided to check out the little bistro. I love the decor. The food was great and my Bellini was excellent. Plan to return for lunch in the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karynklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Scottsdale Spot”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Met friends for dinner at Local Bistro recently and found it to be quite good. The interior is essentially one big room with high ceilings, which got rather loud the busier it became. But it didn't affect our conversation significantly. The service is very good with nice touches, such as our server offering freshly sliced citrus of your choice for your water.

The menu is fairly standard...something for everyone. We started with lobster bisque, which was very good. The Kale salad was better than most versions. But, we were somewhat disappointed with the mushroom pizza. The menu states "no sauce", so that was not unexpected, but it still was rather dry and without much flavor. I'd try another version next time.

They offer a nice beer, wine, and cocktail menu. Looks like it would be a nice place to enjoy a glass of wine on their patio.

They offer a long list of desserts....my guess is the server rattled off 6 or 7 options. We tried the cookie ice cream sandwich, and it wasn't nearly as good as it looked. The macadamia nut cookie was over baked, with the bottom nearly burnt. It was a difficult task trying to cut the cookie sandwich into bite sized pieces! The sharp knife provided little help, and overall it wasn't worth the battle.

I'd give Local Bistro 3.5 "circles" if I could, but I'll round up because it's a very likable place and probably somewhere we'd hang out if we lived in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcskinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Based on concierge recommendation from Sheraton Oasis we tried this for dinner and were very impressed by the food quality and variety. Fairly noisy bistro setting with chalk board food and wine specials and tucked in a shopping center, it has a neighborhood feel. Pasta dishes and fish we tried very very good. Wine was reasonable. Went back on our last night for pizza. Busy both times, so make reservations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plano_TexasGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Something For Everyone”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Every day the specials change, so if you are a regular, and judging from the crowd many are, you won't be disappointed. Wonderful tuna tartar with avocado. Loved their specialty pizzas. Farm to table approach. Friendly service. Outdoor dining available. Nice selection of wines. We went to dinner early, at 6:00,and it was already crowded, so make reservations. If you want quiet, romantic, fine dining, this isn't for you. This is bistro at its best; fun and flirty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artsletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Local Bistro + Bar also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Local Bistro + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing