We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation as a home base to explore Scottsdale/Phoenix!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Red Deer, AB
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation as a home base to explore Scottsdale/Phoenix!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Our family party of four adults stayed at the Sheraton Desert Oasis for two weeks from February 19, 2012 to March 4, 2012 in a two bedroom lock-off, sleeps 8 unit, namely Units 1115 and 1116, which we were able to exchanged into utilizing Interval International. We found the North Eastern area of Scottsdale location of the Resort, to be in an excellent position to use as a home base to explore Scottsdale and the Phoenix environs. It is close to many attractions: Old Town Scottsdale, a number of casinos, the Talking Stick Baseball facility where spring training games were being played, the Jobbing.com arena where the Phoenix Coyotes call home, numerous shopping centres, Frys Food stores, Wallmart, Costco for gasoline, Taliesin West and many great restaurants. Being just off Highway 101, Exit 35, made it easy to access Highway 17 to head North to the Grand Canyon; South to Highway 10 to Tucson, or West to Highway 10 and on to Las Vegas.

The units that we were in had been recently refurbished, with new comfort beds and 3 flat screen plasma TVs. The bedrooms were large, each opening onto a patio. Both bathrooms were large and both had whirlpool tubs. The main kitchen had new appliances and was fully equipped to serve up to 8 guests. Although both units totalled 1,290 sq. ft., the design of the units seemed to sacrifice the space in the kitchen and living room for the extra large bedrooms. Having two people trying to prepare meals was tricky. Each facility had an apartment sized washer and dryer. Mid-week towels and bedding and a fresh-up of the units was provided.

We arrived at the Resort at 10:00pm. Registration was open and we were welcomed and taken care of by very friendly staff. Our units were ready and waiting for us. All of our interactions with staff were always cordial and friendly, be they front office, housekeeping and maintenance.

One thing that we really appreciated was the fact that we were NOT badgered by Sheraton personnel to partake in their “information” aka “sales pitch” sessions as has been the case in other timeshare resorts that we have stayed in. We also appreciated being asssigned tot he same units for two weks which meant that we did not have to pack up and move.

The Resort provided free Wi-Fi in the villa units. Free computers are available in the lobby but they seemed to be very slow. BBQ’s are provided in a number of common areas around the Resort rather than on each unit’s patio. This is a bit of an inconvenience, especially if your home unit it some distance from the communal BBQ’S. We would prefer to have had our own BBQ’s. We tend to take advantage of them in preparing our own meals when we stay in these types of Resorts. Parking near our unit seemed to be always available. The Resort is very compact and negotiating around it was easy.

The grounds are well maintained and groomed. Two pools exist. Towels are available at both pools. The large pool easily accommodated all those interested in taking advantage of the water and sunshine. The small, quiet pool probably would also be used to capacity during the hotter summer months. Although the Resort does not have a full restaurant on site, there is a “Splash Bar” which offers a variety of food services and drinks from 9:00am to 9:00pm. The wings are super. A good variety of beers, have the “Flat Tire” with your wings, smoothies and soft drinks are offered. A small convenience store does exist in the lobby offering a variety of food and personal items. Many activities are offered, both on and off site. We did not participate in any of these but we did notice that many other guests did. Good areas for long walks or jogging exist near the Resort. A small fitness center is available to Resort guests.

All-in-all a great place to stay and enjoy the Arizona Sun!

Room Tip: Avoid unit 1116. Adjacent to it is the laundry room which resulted in staff washing and drying at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanuckRedDeer_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    317
    74
    24
    14
See reviews for
309
382
46
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I traded our Lake Tahoe Timeshare for a week at the Desert Oasis in Scottsdale. This is a very, very nice resort. Since we come for Spring Training baseball, we spend most of our time away from the resort but it seemed to have a lot of great activities, is in a wonderful area with lots of shopping and restaurants nearby and is, on the whole an outstanding resort. I was impressed with the nice landscaping, nice employees, very clean, rooms and grounds, pretty pool and lobby. Great BBQ areas. The response time by housekeeping staff when we needed coffee and toilet paper was lightning fast. The washer and dryer did a good job and were pretty quiet. Loved the little doggie on the bed and the TV's in both living room and bedroom. I had one of the smaller units and it was a little cramped in the kitchen area for 2 people as was the queen bed. The kitchen needs some more microwave containers with lids for cooking. The spa tub/shower in these units is very hard for us seniors to get in and out of. I would definately be sure to book a larger unit next time. I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY APPRECIATE THAT WE WERE ALLOWED TO SMOKE ON THE PATIO. (Most places treat smokers like aliens from another planet). We were given a 3rd floor room and you have elevators which is great. I only had 3 problems. #1 - THE PARKING is really bad, especially if you come in late at night. You might have to park a block from your room. #2 I left my I phone charger plugged into the wall when I checked out of the room and although I called and tried to retrieve it, the cord was apparently never found because I didn't get a call back. #3 There is NO storage in the small unit. No place to put your luggage after it is empty or your food (all the kitchen cabinets have dishes in them) or your clothes (one drawer and a small area to hang up things). All in all - no one's perfect but I would stay here again. NICE RESORT - NICE LOCATION

Room Tip: Call ahead and request a 3rd floor room if you are a smoker. The larger, full kitchen units, are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerrieLReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were here for 6 nights the first week of March, for the Nascar race in Phoenix (Avondale) AZ, and Spring Training games at Scottsdale Stadium. The suite was fully furnished, full kitchen, washer/dryer, separate bedroom with 2 person jaccuzi tub, and large TV, and fireplace, big bathroom with double sinks. Cozy family room with large flat screen TV, dvd player, Bose stereo, fireplace, queen size sofa sleeper. Dining area, kitchen has all the emenities, including a bar height counter with stools. Private patio with chairs, kind of a small patio, but it faced right into the setting sun, and neighboring apartments, so we didn't really care to spend a lot of time out there. Not a view of anything (a little disappointing). There were lots of daily events that the resort had, unfortunately we were so busy with our own schedule, that we could not participate in any of their activities. Next time we will plan ahead so we can join in. The pool and spa area looked beautiful. Had lovely landscaping and waterfalls. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and house keepers kept our room spotless and always stocked with whatever we had even touched. I think really the only downside for us was, not having a view other than of the parking lot and apartment complex next door. But since the property is also a Timeshare, those are probably held for owners first I would guess. We never could seem to get a parking spot close to our condo, it was quite full. It would have been nice if there were a restaurant on the property for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You had to drive a ways to go out to eat, nothing was within walking distance. Other than that, it was a beautiful property, and hope to be able to get as good of a deal as we got this time, so we can stay there again! Thank you to Manager, Ryan, and his staff for making our stay restful and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerryLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here for a week two years ago, and a week this year. We noticed a change in upkeep of the property, the rooms are sorely in need of new carpeting, beds, etc.
It was enjoayable, but less so than before.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Subielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We value any and all feedback we receive from our guests. On behalf of everyone here at the Sheraton Desert Oasis, I apologize that you did not find your most recent stay as enjoyable as the last. We strive to maintain a high level of quality for all of our guest rooms and we apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We are pleased to announce that our property will undergo a total remodel and renovation next year. We look forward to hosting your vacation again in the future and hope you are able to enjoy everything our property has to offer. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I found a good deal here and travelled with my wife and two kids under 5 years old. Upon check-in, I was told our villa wasn't ready, but they would call me on the phone when it was. I waited an hour and a half and came back to the resort to check again. The employee who was supposed to call me left for the day and my resort had been ready for some time...a little dissapointing after a long day of traveling. On a good note, they accomodated my request for a first floor villa close to the park.

Pros:

Resort is very well kept and feels very inviting. Staff was friendly and there appeared to be plenty of activities to keep us busy. I was very impressed with how often they took out the garbage and was also impressed with the little things, like how they kept the public grills so clean. The premium villa was good sized for a family of 4 but I'm not sure if the basic villa would have been. The shower was the kids' favorite because it has two shower heads with good water pressure. The kitchen was great which allowed us to save a lot of money because we ate a lot of meals there. The pool was great and my kids loved it becuase it doesn't get very deep. The appliances and televisions were in great shape and appeared brand new. Playground for the kids kept them busy for hours and was in good shape. Lastly, any time we needed paper towels or kleenex, we had it delivered within 10 mintues which was much appreciated.

Cons:

After reading other reviews, my kids were looking forward to the splash pad. I noticed it wasn't working so I asked the front desk employee when it would be working and he told me it should be working. I checked the next day...still not working. Again asked the front desk and he didn't know why. It didn't work the full 8 days we were there and I was finally told they were waiting for a part. Housekeeping came one day for a towel exchange. We were never told when they would be coming. As I stated earlier, we were never told to come back to the villa to check in when we arrived. My point is that there seems to be a big gap in communication between employees and this is an area of improvement for them.

The only other con, but not a huge deal, was the sound proofing. We could hear every single footstep in the villa above us. I understand these can't be sound proof, but unfortunately it kept us up late many of the nights (well past midnight).

Overall:

I would definately stay here again. It's in a great area of Scottsdale and it was a nice resort.

Room Tip: the upgrade to premimum villa seems to be well worth the $$$$
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dwills0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for taking some time to write such a detailed review!

We do our best to provide a flawless vacation for our guests and now we know that we have some areas of communication that need to be examined. Communication is everything in this industry as we cannot provide exceptional service without communication as it makes it difficult to anticipate our guests needs.

We have taken some action in the communication efforts and thanks to your feedback, hope it will prevent similar experiences to the one that you have shared.

We are pleased that is sounds like you were able to make the best of our other amenities and your family was able to play and relax throughout your stay. We do hope that you’ll return in the future and your kids will be able to enjoy a fully functional Splash Pad.

Thank you for your feedback and please know we take the need for improvement seriously, we couldn’t do so without your help.

Travel Safe and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My parents and I spent a week at the resort and had a wonderful time. The staff is very helpful and very polite. They had quite a few things going on each and every day within the resort. I found the resort was filled with mostly older people not many families. This might have been because of the time of the year we went?? Because of this we found it to be very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyfunn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy some peace and quiet. while you were with us! We do get a variety of guests that stay here, but you are absolutely correct that in January and February we don't get too many families as children are usually in school. We also have huge local events this time of year (eg: Phoenix Open Golf Tournament, Arabian Horse Show & Barrett Jackson Auction) that influences the type of guest that we cater to this time of year. We hope that you will visit us again soon and we look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Most accommodating staff who assisted our special needs with elderly in wheelchair. Lovely grounds, nicely decorated, especially liked the separate 1 bedroom for family members. They need a restaurant and more choices for eating during the day. Pool was lovely. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request near the pool. Request ground floor if handicapped. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forevermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hello and thank you for posting about your experience! We do love to hear what our guests enjoy and where we need improvement. It sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful oasis we try to provide each of our guests. We agree that it would be lovely to add a full service restaurant to add to our experience, but currently we do not possess the space to do so. Our Food and Beverage manager does a great job of changing menu items seasonally to add variety to guests choices. There are also a wide variety of choices in the surrounding area that can meet any particular craving a guest is looking to fill. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#3 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing