We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good location, pretty resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kevil, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Good location, pretty resort"”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Sheraton Desert Oasis is located right off the 101 on Hayden Road. It is very easy to locate and has a wonderful park across the road. The rooms were very nice and clean. We especially liked the Bose stereo system. Check-in was very easy and they accomodated me in every request. The pool is nice and very family oriented. A little boring for people that like to mingle. On the weekend they had a special drink of the day for $5, which was nice. Although, they only had a drink of the day on the weekend and they prefer that you do not bring your own to the pool. I would not recommend this resort for people with walking or breathing difficulties because there is really no room that is close to anything. I traveled with older women and it was difficult for one of them to enjoy everything because of that. All in all it was a very nice resort and there is a ton of shopping and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the pool. Most of them do not and you really only have a view of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabo1Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear cabo1Kentucky,

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your experience with everyone. We love to hear our guests feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our drink specials, pool area and rooms! We hope that you'll be back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    320
    74
    25
    14
See reviews for
324
383
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed in a large one bedroom unit here on a special I booked through Interval International for $300 for the week. The units are very new and comfortably outfitted with full kitchens, and a two person jacuzzi tub right in the bedroom. Even though this is a timeshare, I was not bothered by anyone to attend any sales pitch, which was a plus. There are two pools, a large one with a huge waterfall, and a smaller quiet shaded pool. The grounds are lushly landscaped, and there are activities for children. The complex is close to great shopping and restaurants, as well as the 101 freeway. I have no complaints, and it was an extremely pleasurable week stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Parrotthead1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Parrothead1953,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We truly enjoy hearing about our guests and the fun they encounter while with us. We hope that we'll continue to be your vacation choice the next time you are visiting Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at the Desert Oasis mid September. Facilities were excellent and location was convenient to attractions. Had a great time relaxing poolside until Friday...which I'd imagine is when the resort is opened to weekend visitors... People were smoking in the pool, throwing butts on the pool deck and the atmosphere had gone from fun family resort to trashy Jersey Shore-West. I'd be tempted to purchase here, but if this is what can be expected every weekend, then I would recommend to steer clear.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Craig216,

We're glad that you did enjoy our facilities but are disappointed about your pool experience at the end of your stay. Please know that this is not a normal experience for our guests; as our focus is on our guests need to relax and experience everything we have to offer. We do our best to monitor the pool area, but as there is no lifeguard on duty we sometimes have to rely on our guests to report disturbances. Smoking is NEVER allowed within the pool area, and we apologize for the disturbance they caused you. We do hope that you will visit us again and hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The waterfall pool is a true oasis in the hot desert summer of Scottsdale/Phoenix. If you prefer shade, a small side pool is lovely. This comfortable resort is extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen and bed are a bit small but it's a perfect quiet retreat in northern Scottsdale with a nice large flat screenTVd living room. You will definitely need a car but the restaurants of Scottsdale Rd. and the convenience of Highway 101 are only minutes away. Landscaping is desert style but perfectly neat with quails and rabbits in the early morning running between the cactus. The computers in the lobby were a great convenience.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on Hayden Road would be quieter and therefore preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear STraveler2,

We thrive on our customer feedback and want to thank you for such a positive reveiw! Our location in North Scottsdale is essential to getting anywhere and everywhere within the valley! Travel safe and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Desert Oasis in July 2012. We selected the hotel off of a timeshare list from our Groupon purchases. I did extensive research and read many reviews before the right hotel and date popped up. As soon as I saw it, I grabbed it because it was one of the top choices on my list in the US. Since the hotel is a timeshare, it has all of the amenitities of a condo/townhouse including a microwave/conv. oven, toaster, fridge, dishes, cookware. It reminded me of when I used to live in an apartment in Phoenix in my early 20's. The room had very updated decor and was very clean. We didn't have the additional room/lockout so we had to rent a rollaway bed (not much room for storing it during the day) because we have two teenagers (one boy, one girl). We used the pullout sofa for one and the rollaway for the teen. We also enjoyed our privacy with our own TV and queen size bed in the bedroom. They advertise that it sleeps 4, but without the lockout it really only sleeps 3 comfortably.

We had one maintenance issue (leaky fridge). I called the front desk and they sent someone to fix it within twenty minutes. No further issues and he was very quick, polite and professional.

The pools were very well kept and the grounds were also well maintained. The main pool has a separate hot tub behind the "falls." They do allow floats and water toys in the bigger pool so if you're looking for some quiet time, try the smaller pool which is designated as the "quiet pool."

They have daily activities for grown ups and kids; ice cream social, hot dogs, hula hoop contests, water aerobics, local vendors, wine social, local tour packages, etc. They leave a message on your room phone each night with the next day's activities. Some of them you need to sign up for in advance. We were not hounded about the timeshare. We received a quick overview when we checked in if we wanted to join a presentation and received one "note" on our door and one follow-up reminder call. It was certainly not high pressure at all nor did it interrupt our vacation. We chose to not sit in on the presentation (I sat in on a presentation many years ago for another timeshare) because we are not in the market for a time share at this point.

We would definitely recommend this hotel. It is within about 20 minutes from everywhere we went (except Sedona, of course). You do need a car. But I recommend shopping at the Fry's supermarket up the street before your stay and you can save money by preparing some of your meals at the hotel yourself rather than eating out every day. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Cheryl W,

We thank you for such a wonderful and detailed account of your vacation experience with us! You brought to life everything the Desert Oasis has to offer our guests! From our rooms to our pools and the variety of activities both on and off property! It sounds like you made some special memories while you were with us. We invite you and your family back again and hope to become a tradition for you!

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I needed a retreat for inner personal reasons & there couldn't hve been a better place. All staff were helpful & so friendly. Everything you could want or need was there. I shopped @ Trader Joes before going & was able to just stay in swim suit or lounging clothes the whole time. Beautiful well cared for landscape, pool, cantina, gift shop......Just so happy I found this oasis from another trip advisor member. Can't wait to go back in a few weeks!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Sunya,

It was our pleasure to provide you with peace and relaxation during your stay. We hope that you'll continue to use the Desert Oasis as your own private retreat and visit with us for the weeks and years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our first time in the Sharaton resort. It was a home away from home. We stayed in a one bedroom villa and it was plenty big for me, my husband and 2 children. It was so nice because there are dishes, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and washer/dryer in the room. I could do all my normal mommy things but in a relaxing setting. The maid service was amazing. We had fresh sheets, new towels, more laundry soap and more coffee every day. Our screen door to our balcany was off track so we informed the front desk and within 2 minutes there was someone there to fix it. All staff was excellent and truly there just to meet your needs. I was a little worried that maybe I should have upgraded our room to one with an actual hot tub in the room. I was worried for nothing because the jaccuzi tub was plenty big and worked just the same. The pool was beautiful. It was a bit crowded during the day but we are night owls and didn't usually go to the pool until about 10pm and the pool is open until midnight. It was not crowded during that time. The jaccuzi is very secluded and goergous. It's bigger than your normal hotel hot tub. Very relaxing. The location of the hotel is perfect. We had such a wonderful stay and can't wait until next time!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbdsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Hello bbdsmama!

Thank you for a wonderful and glowing review!

We are so pleased you felt right at home in our comfortable rooms and even escaped the hot July sun by visiting our pools at night!

We hope that we continue to be your choice of Scottsdale resorts and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing