We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were totally happy with our stay here as part of our time share. They really offered a lot compared to some of the ones we've stayed at...concierge greeting with info on activities, dining, maps, etc. They have a nice lobby with a little gift shop and offer all kinds of daily activities (unfortunately we didn't get to partake because we were always out & about).

Our villa was one of the renovated ones...nicely furnished, comfortable, had everything we needed...extra large shower, fully stocked granite kitchen, large vanity area with double sinks, and plenty of closet space. My two friends were in the villa next door and commented on how perfect the set up was for friends. Each villa has a balcony/patio also. We loved the setting. The landscaping was nice with cactus, trees, and streams dotted throughout...it made for a peaceful setting and you didn't feel like you were in a crowded resort.

The pool area was large and nice...big waterfall which was nice to drowned out the noise of all the kids. There is also a pool grill with food and drinks...lots more than just hotdogs and hamburgers. Don't know why some of the reviews said they couldn't bring food into the pool area. We didn't come in with a huge rolling cooler and grocery bags, but I brought snacks in my beach bag and it didn't seem to be a problem. If it's a busy time, get to the pool early. Even though there is a sign saying no saving chairs, people still do...kinda reminded me of the pools in Vegas. We got there around 11:30 the first day and pickings were slim.

Staff all over the resort were very friendly and helpful. Be aware that this resort is in North Scottsdale and about a 20-25 minute drive to downtown/Old Town. There are plenty of plazas in the area for shopping/dining and the Kierland Commons (my favorite) is just down the road...tranquil outdoor mall with nice shops.

We were so content here. We'd definitely stay again. Great value for our needs!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Hotelsnobb,
Thank you for your glowing review in regards to your recent stay with us! We love hearing that we were able to fulfill our “mission” in creating a great experience for each and every single one of our guests! We are especially proud to hear that your interactions with our staff made you feel welcome and appreciated!
It is true, Old Town Scottsdale is not directly around the corner, but we absolutely agree with you when you say that North Scottsdale offers a wide array of its own great venues, and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of that.
We sure hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Warm regards,
The Sheraton Desert Oasis
P.S. Love your TripAdvisor name!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

This place is older and they are starting a renovation but the bones of the place a good.. Rooms have everything you need, good space, good size balcony and it's not too big of a resort. The washer/dryer in the room isn't the best, especially the dryer.

The location is excellent as we were able to go a NHL,NBA,and MLB game all which are 30 minutes or less away. Every restuarant, store, etc. that you could possibly want is within a short drive - from upscale to low end.

The Pool is big and clean and fairly warm. Hot tub is very large. However, the biggest issue is that they do not allow you to bring any food or drinks ( except bottled water) to the pool as they want you to buy from their grill. If you're a timeshare , you need to allow this as I have not been to any in the US where this was not allowed. They actually walk around and check to see what you have! People who want the resort food and drink service will order it no matter what. I like to order it as well but when you are there for 7 days with kids, it just doesn't work from a $ perspective nor do we want to eat fried food everyday. Not to mention, if you leave your stuff unattended for 20 minutes, they clear your chairs so going to your room for lunch, isn't exactly an option unless you do it in shifts.

The renovation should do wonders for this place, especially if they are updating the rooms. Hopefully, they will redo the pool and hot tub since the plaster is old and rough.

The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a nice Sheraton with suites. We had a one bedroom with a well equipped kitchen and balcony. The pool is great; the waterfalls really help cut noise, the water temperature is very comfortable and the design spaces people out quite well for the size. The pool is open to 12 AM, later than most hotels, which is nice. The grounds are landscaped with trees and streams that helps to cool and create a nice feel. There is a small, but decent exercise room, and there are good options for running because close to a bike/walking path. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Checking the area, this hotel was much better priced than most ($150 vs. 400/night).

The down side is that you are farther away (not too bad, but requires driving) from restaurants, shopping, attractions, etc. than some hotels in this area. There is a small snack bar by the pool, but no sit down restaurant within walking distance and no hotel shuttle, so you need to plan to drive. We like La Hacienda at the Fairmont, True Foods and the Green House at Kierland down Scottsdale Rd. a bit. There are many great restaurants in the area for all tastes. Adding a complimentary shuttle would be a suggestion to improve this hotel.

Know that they are under renovations right now. Although we were not disturbed by any noise from this; we received a letter stating this and promising they would not start before 9AM. The walls here do not fully block sound from neighbors, so folks, please be mindful of your neighbors. It is time for renovations, although still pretty clean.

The showers are funky; it is a big step over the rim and no handles into the current model, so if you have any mobility issues request a special room with easier shower access.

Suggestion for management: consider Starbucks coffee in rooms in place of Maxwell House.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet location, and this was honored. Not sure if rooms closer to pool area would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear mtnwanderers,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciated hearing all the kind things you had to say about our resort.
We are happy you enjoyed your time with us, taking full advantage of all that the area has to offer.
We do agree with you on your shower assessment however, and we are excited for renovations to bring improvement to this area!
As a Starbucks lover myself, I can relate to your desire to have it offered as the in-villa brand, but I hope you at least enjoyed a few cups of it at our Splash Pool & Grille.
Please come visit us again sometime soon!
Warm regards,
The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

My review title answered in a minute.
The place is a little bit older and they are starting a renovation but the bones of the place a perfect. Rooms have everything you need, good space, good size balcony and it's not too big of a resort.

The location is perfect. We rented a car and ate out half the time. Also went to a NHL,NBA,and MLB game all which are 30 minutes or less away. Trader Joes, In N Out and just about every other restaurant only a few miles away.

We were there for spring break and it was busy but not overcrowded. Get to the pool by 930-10a to get a good spot on the sun. Pool is big and clean and fairly warm. Hot tub is very large.

The timeshare or hotel part is this. They don't allow you to bring food or alcoholic drinks to the pool. Now I have a Marriott timeshare in Hawaii and they have no problem with it nor have I had an issue at any place I've gone to with the exception of Cabo. Mexico is totally different in many ways from US resorts. I'f you're a timeshare you need to allow this. People who want the resort food and drink service will order it no matter what. I like to order it as well but when you are there for 7 days it doesn't work for my wallet or my desire for fried food everyday.

The renovation should do wonders for this place. Just updating the rooms will help and hopefully they redo the pool and hot tub since the plaster is old and rough on your feet. I will say I hope they keep the couches. They are by far the most comfortable piece of furniture I've ever sat on in a hotel or timeshare.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that, amongst other things, our villas as well as the pool area left a positive impression!
With that being said, we understand where you are coming from as far as the “no outside food & drink policy” is concerned, and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that caused you during your stay here.
As you already mentioned, renovations are under way, and all of us are very excited about the many good things that are in store for our resort!

Thanks again for your time!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is an update, as we have been at this property for 5 days. This property is NOT a full service resort which I was expecting. There is not a sit down restaurant nor lounge, that being said I will review it for what it offered: villas, nice pool, pool snack bar, pool bar. Our 2 room lockoff villa was very nicely decorated, clean, with plenty of towels and pillows. All kitchen items were here and clean and we never had to call for service or anything broken in our villa. The air conditioners ROCK. I froze my hubby out. The bed was very comfortable and the room dark, I like to sleep in so I appreciated this. Our villa 1077/1078 was also very quiet. Our balcony looked out to another building and a grassy area. The grounds were in excellent condition. We had no problem parking near our building. We attended the wine tasting for $ 15 each. The sommelier, Greg, was very informative and knowledgable, as was the Sheraton's beverage manager (forgot her name). The tasting went a little long, but people interacted a lot. The wines were nice and the bottles we bought showed up in our kitchen while we were away out playing. The pool tends to be very crowded, so show up early 0839-0900 to get a lounge. Then DONT leave and save your seat, so many people do this and its just rude. We ate at the pool bar one day and the flatbread pizza and quesadilla were very good, also so was my mango margarita. ALL of the people that work at the Sheraton that we interacted with were friendly, professional, and pleasant. Thank you!!! We signed up for timeshare presentation then changed our minds after checking out entire property as this is not the full service resort property that we prefer (marriott owners). That being said, this was a GREAT place to make your "HUB" while you go go go do Scottsdale, Phoenix, Sedona and all the tourist stuff. Took a trip to Tortilla Flat, shopped old town scottsdale, hit many restaurants, and came back to our relaxing villa. We took off to Sedona and spent the night there at L'Auberge, did some hiking and photography and headed back to our villa the next day. This was a great way to see Sedona, as driving 4 hours for round trip was too much for us for one day. Sorry long winded, but wanted you to know enough to make a good decision. This seems like a great property for families, especially with young kids. They will love the pool area and the water spouting kids area. This is also a great way to use the special certificates that Interval International gives you when you trade your property. Have fun!!! I recommend bringing a soft insulated bag to take ice water to pool, it gets very hot. Papa Johns delivers fast good pizza. There is a Fry's store less than a mile away, also many good restaurants within 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: ask that your balcony doesnt face Hayden Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Cheryl H,

Thank you for your updated review, and for the many compliments you shared!

We are glad to hear that you had a nice time while staying with us. We most certainly hope to see you again sometime!

Best,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We rented a one bedroom villa for Spring break (1st week in April) 2013. Front desk staff and concierge were very pleasant, helpful and check in was quick. They offered a few perks, like a free breakfast with local tour guides, but as we came to see friends and family, we weren't interested. We got some discounts to local restaurants. We didn't use the gym, so can't comment, except it was small, though had a good number of machines, considering the size! Room was clean and nicely decorated, but felt a bit "old". It was clean and the bed was pretty good, just a touch too firm, but that's better than too soft! We didn't use the kitchen, but it had all the things one would need, except an oven. The toilet scared me every single time we flushed it, talk about air pressure! The bathroom was too large, using space that could have been better utilized in the bedroom, which is quite small. The balcony was nice and secluded, overlooking a pleasant spot of greenery and trees. On the other side of our door was an attached "premium" one bedroom villa. We toured this unit and the increased space was appealing, though I do not know the price difference. The property itself is quite nicely landscaped, and pleasant to walk around. Being spring break, the main pool was quite crowded with families and young kids; we opted for the smaller pool that doesn't have as much sun, but was delightfully quiet! There is just one place to get a snack/lunch/beverage and it's in the main pool area. It's small with limited offerings. There were only a couple of people ahead of us when we got in line, but somehow it took between 25-30 minutes to get our grilled chicken Caesar salad. The salad was fine, but nothing special. We had margaritas one day, but their sweet/sour was pretty thick.
In their defense, Sheraton purchased this property and are just beginning a complete room renovation. I hope they plan on creating a real lunch/dinner/snack bar area, as it would make a huge difference to this property. The location is great, however, and we found lots of places to eat, but too bad for Sheraton that they didn't get our meal money.
Again, every staff member we interacted with was great! We would return to this property, hopefully into a renovated room!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kimmerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear kimmimi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback on your recent stay with us, it is much appreciated!
We’re happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time at the Desert Oasis, and we are especially proud to hear your kind comments about our staff as we really care about each and every single guest.
You’re right; the main pool can certainly get quite a bit of action, especially during spring break, so we’re glad that you were able to take advantage of our quiet pool area.
We do want to apologize however about the long waiting time for your meal at our Splash Pool & Grille; it should have certainly not taken this long to get your order.
Since you had mentioned renovations in your review, I wanted to let you know that they have actually started this past Friday, and all of us are excited about the outcome of this complete villa overhaul. Good things are to come for sure, and we do hope you will visit us again in the future to see all the changes firsthand!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This place really deserves it's name! I felt so relaxed while there. The pools were beautiful and clean. The suites were clean and beautifully kept. The only draw back is you have to bring your own food, as it is a time share. But if you have a car, a great supermarket isn't far away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanahWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Ranah-
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback on you recent stay with us! We love hearing that our resort was able to evoke a feeling of rest and relaxation in you.
Your nice comments in regards to the cleanliness of our villas are also much appreciated! We will make sure to pass those along to our housekeeping staff who make it happen every day.
It is true that a car can certainly come in handy in order to stock up on groceries, but I would be remiss if I didn’t mention our Splash Pool Bar & Grille as well as our general store that could serve as alternatives.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back with us soon!
Warmest regards,
The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £126 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing