We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary from 10/17 - 10/11. The room we were in appeared to be already renovated. It was decorated in Southwest style - very cute. Bed was comfortable, shower/tub combo had great water pressure. The grounds and the pool were upkept and nice. The people seemed friendly. The ONLY thing I did not like about our stay is that we were approached THREE times about purchasing attending a vacation ownership seminar (to purchase a time share). If it happened once, I would not have even mentioned it. Three times is a bit extreme and a little annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Cristina H.,

First off: Happy belated anniversary!
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property and thank you for your kind comments about our villa and staff. We would like to apologize, however, in regards to the number of times you were approached to attend a timeshare presentation. We are with you, three is definitely too much, and we are working towards eliminating these situations!

We do hope to see you again sometime soon!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have come to the Oasis both spring and fall for 1-2 weeks the past 2 years to catch some sun and all Phoenix has to offer. I have visited the concierge each time - got some great recommendations this time on restaurants from the concierge Helaine - who was just excellent. So this is useful to pay them a quick visit and get the area map at least We did decide to attend the Starwood vacation ownership presentation this time - I had done my research and the program doesnt make financial sense for us - once the sales agents realized we weren't going to buy - they wrapped it up very quickly. No high pressure sales tactics and you do get a $100 gift card or 6500 star points for attending the 90 minute session which included a look at the newly renovated villas. It's a well run place with very nice staff - good value for the money and we love the lagoon style pool with waterfall. Look forward to staying again next spring and trying out the newly renovated rooms! Thanks for another excellent stay SDO!

Room Tip: We try to get a top floor with a southern exposure. The larger villas are definitely worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osoyooslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Osoyooslover,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on you recent stay with us. We were excited to learn that you have been making our resort a favorite destination over the past two years.
Thanks also for your nice comments about Helaine - one of our concierges. We will make sure to pass them along.

We hope to see you again soon!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family again revisited the Sheraton between September 28 thru October 8, 2013, This is my 4th two week stay in within 2 years. My previous reviews attest to how special this property is. BUT guess what, its about to get BETTER!!!. This property is under RENOVATION. A revovation that is being done in a very special way. Owners have divided the property in half. The renovation involves half the villa's while the other half operates as usual. The renovation does not disrupt or interfere with any visitor staying at this property during this time. The renovation started in April 2013 and will be completed April 2014. I took the time to visit the newly renovated model and was blown away. While the old villa's were well appointed and comfortable: the new villa's are completely redesigned and could only be classified as modern elegant. Both kitchen and bathrooms have been reappointed with modern cabinets, appliances and tile. Furniture of smaller design has been choosen to give the feeling of larger spaces. Master bedrooms offer elegant headboard king size beds with firm confortable mattresses. Wall colors are light and airy. Bathroom pocket doors have been replaced with a large modern sliding door. During my visit I did not stay in a newly renovated villa: but enjoyed my stay as usual. At the time I visited I was told the any renovated villas where being offered to owners first. It wouldn't hurt to ask for a renovated villa if visiting. Can't wait to revisit in April or May. This renovation makes this property the premier location in the area: hands down!!!!!!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a renovated villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noneck_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear noneck_73,

We can honestly say that we were blown away by your glowing review of our property! We could not have said it better ourselves :) Thank you so much for your kind words! We love that you and your family are regular visitors, and we look forward to having you back once all the villas are renovated!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just stayed here for a week for the first time. Very nice place, but lots of work going on. Grounds are nice, nothing great.......the main pool, for some reason, was a little on the cold side, even with temps in the low/mid 90's .......... and they picked this week to start painting, and closing, areas of the pool deck. ............. The only staff we dealt with was the front desk, and they could NOT have been Nicer people !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

However, I did ask for a simple wake up call on 2 days, for 730am both times. First time, they called me at 750 am . The second time, 752am. That is NOT ACCEPTABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!.......for some unknown reason, their wakeup call system is NOT automated. The person both times was NOT TOO APOLOGETIC !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Overall, not a bad place. Mostly very clean, although our kitchen counter appeared to have some contruction debris (minor) on it when we entered . And its exactly a 1/2 mile from the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear markcassel,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate any and all comments from our guests.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the fact that both of your requested wake up calls did not occur at the correct time. That is something that should never have happened, and please know that we addressed this issue with our Front Office Manager.
We are glad however that, overall, you seemed to enjoy your time here and we do hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently exchanged our time share for a week at the Sheraton Desert Oasis and had a great time at this property. We had a two bedroom condo that was well appointed and spacious. We like to cook in and the kitchen is very well equipped. The location is great, just off the 101. Staff was very friendly and very quick to respond to a small maintenance issue when we first checked into our unit. We were on the first floor which was convenient for us. We toured the newer units, but personally we liked the southwest décor a bit better in the older unit we were in.
The pools are both very nice and we liked the option to be able to go to the smaller quiet pool when desired. The restaurant is convenient by the pool as well. We enjoyed evenings out in the hot tub as well. This was definitely one of the best exchange locations we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We personally liked being on the first floor. Very convenient for bringing in bags and groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Debbyrr,

Thank you for your glowing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us! We very much appreciate it and are happy that you enjoyed your time here!

Please visit us again sometime!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent 6 days at the Sheraton Desert Oasis and were extremely pleased. The one-bedroom suite was large and very comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we could possibly need.

The bathroom had a really large triangular tub with a Jacuzzi. Towels were changed every day and the rooms were completely cleaned. This is primarily a time-share property run by Sheraton, and the time-share owners apparently have to pay extra for having rooms cleaned and towels changed. People paying a daily rate don't.

The front desk people were great.

Room Tip: Room 2124 above quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac2000gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear mac2000gm,

Thank you for your nice feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. It is much appreciated! We are glad you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to welcome you back some time in the future!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for a week using our RCI points in mid-Sept. At the time, half the resort's rooms were closed for renovations to the units. This resort is at a great location, less than a mile from the freeway. This is important given the Phoenix area - getting anywhere requires driving as it is spread out. It is also close to shopping and next door to a PGA golf course.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit on the third floor - lots of good exercise although an elevator is available. The room must have been newly renovated as it was in pristine condition. The balcony was great for sitting in the morning and evening. The air condition worked perfectly; critical given outside temperatures that exceeded 100F. The full service kitchen, ice maker and hot tub in the bed room were welcome amenities as were the TV's and the Bose stereo system. Bring you Mp3 player to listen to your favourite music. WIFI was free as was parking. There are outdoor BBQ areas with gas BBQs for those wanting to grill their meal.

The only annoying bit was the pressure to attend a Sheraton presentation - we said no twice and were then left alone.

I would recommend this resort to all and will stay here again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Mark N.

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at our property! We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We absolutely hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,556 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £132 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing