We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great accomodations”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We did a 3 night stay end of September in one of the newly renovated rooms which we found very comfortable.We were surprised that it had a full kitchen so we took a quick trip to Trader Joes and got a few things! The staff was very friendly and accomodating and the grounds are very nice and the pool was just perfect! The waterfall, music and a glass of wine....wonderful!
I actually was truly amazed that a place so nice was that reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Maureen W.,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for you kind words about our property and staff! We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us to the fullest.

Please come see us again sometime soon!

Warmest regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    309
    72
    24
    14
See reviews for
293
375
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Sheraton Desert Oasis and it was basically exactly what we were expecting, nothing outstanding, nothing terrible. I read a few reviews before we left and saw that they were under renovations, unfortunately we weren't able to stay in a newer room. When we checked in we asked if there were any newer units available and the response was "no, sorry, those are for our preferred guests." Talk about being made to feel unwelcome right off the bat, especially since this was a trip for our anniversary! Oh well, we're pretty easygoing people so that was easy enough to shrug off.

Check in was quick easy but the one thing we noticed was that we didn't get any help offered for our luggage so we ending up having to bring everything up ourselves. There was an elevator, thank goodness, but not sign posted well at all so we almost didn't see it. I would have been more upset if we had to lug 4 suitcases up 2 flights of stairs! We ended up in rm 3077, sort of away from everything, but the resort is easy to get around so it wasn't a huge deal for us. The room itself was fine, decor was pretty dated but nothing to really complain about. Ours came with what was referred to as a partial kitchen, which I'm assuming just means that it's smaller than the full kitchen suites because we had absolutely everything - and I mean EVERYTHING - that we needed in there, it was basically like being at home.

As well with reading the reviews, we didn't bother with the welcome package they wanted to 'treat' us to. We already own a timeshare and this was an exchange vacation for us so we were definitely not looking to purchase another one. They only called our room once the day after we arrived to ask us when we wanted to come and pick it up, I told them that we weren't interested and that was the last we heard about it.

The pool was fine, we only visited it once, mostly because we weren't crazy about the no snacks or outside beverages allowed rule. I'm really not sure why that rule is in place... If it has do with people inconsiderately leaving garbage lying around, I'm sure that if someone was rude enough to do that to begin with that they're going to do the same thing whether or not they purchase their things poolside or not.

All in all, the stay was fine, again nothing spectacular but exactly what we had expected. We would most likely return, but will probably wait until the entire place has undergone it's renovation so as not to be singled out from the "preferred" guests and be able to enjoy one of the updated suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear dsm09,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. We always apprecite hearing from our guests.
As a property that prides itself on striving to make each and every single guest feel special, we were truly sorry to hear that this was not the case in your case, especially celebrating a special occasion like yours (happy belated anniversary by the way!). It is true that as long as we don't have all units remodeled we try to accomodate the people that own a timeshare at this property first, but this certainly could and should have been communicated in a way that wouldn't have made you guys feel like "second class guests". Please know that we absolutely value every guest!

We do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future, and we look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expecations next time around.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary from 10/17 - 10/11. The room we were in appeared to be already renovated. It was decorated in Southwest style - very cute. Bed was comfortable, shower/tub combo had great water pressure. The grounds and the pool were upkept and nice. The people seemed friendly. The ONLY thing I did not like about our stay is that we were approached THREE times about purchasing attending a vacation ownership seminar (to purchase a time share). If it happened once, I would not have even mentioned it. Three times is a bit extreme and a little annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Cristina H.,

First off: Happy belated anniversary!
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property and thank you for your kind comments about our villa and staff. We would like to apologize, however, in regards to the number of times you were approached to attend a timeshare presentation. We are with you, three is definitely too much, and we are working towards eliminating these situations!

We do hope to see you again sometime soon!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have come to the Oasis both spring and fall for 1-2 weeks the past 2 years to catch some sun and all Phoenix has to offer. I have visited the concierge each time - got some great recommendations this time on restaurants from the concierge Helaine - who was just excellent. So this is useful to pay them a quick visit and get the area map at least We did decide to attend the Starwood vacation ownership presentation this time - I had done my research and the program doesnt make financial sense for us - once the sales agents realized we weren't going to buy - they wrapped it up very quickly. No high pressure sales tactics and you do get a $100 gift card or 6500 star points for attending the 90 minute session which included a look at the newly renovated villas. It's a well run place with very nice staff - good value for the money and we love the lagoon style pool with waterfall. Look forward to staying again next spring and trying out the newly renovated rooms! Thanks for another excellent stay SDO!

Room Tip: We try to get a top floor with a southern exposure. The larger villas are definitely worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osoyooslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Osoyooslover,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on you recent stay with us. We were excited to learn that you have been making our resort a favorite destination over the past two years.
Thanks also for your nice comments about Helaine - one of our concierges. We will make sure to pass them along.

We hope to see you again soon!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island, nyc, ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family again revisited the Sheraton between September 28 thru October 8, 2013, This is my 4th two week stay in within 2 years. My previous reviews attest to how special this property is. BUT guess what, its about to get BETTER!!!. This property is under RENOVATION. A revovation that is being done in a very special way. Owners have divided the property in half. The renovation involves half the villa's while the other half operates as usual. The renovation does not disrupt or interfere with any visitor staying at this property during this time. The renovation started in April 2013 and will be completed April 2014. I took the time to visit the newly renovated model and was blown away. While the old villa's were well appointed and comfortable: the new villa's are completely redesigned and could only be classified as modern elegant. Both kitchen and bathrooms have been reappointed with modern cabinets, appliances and tile. Furniture of smaller design has been choosen to give the feeling of larger spaces. Master bedrooms offer elegant headboard king size beds with firm confortable mattresses. Wall colors are light and airy. Bathroom pocket doors have been replaced with a large modern sliding door. During my visit I did not stay in a newly renovated villa: but enjoyed my stay as usual. At the time I visited I was told the any renovated villas where being offered to owners first. It wouldn't hurt to ask for a renovated villa if visiting. Can't wait to revisit in April or May. This renovation makes this property the premier location in the area: hands down!!!!!!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a renovated villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noneck_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear noneck_73,

We can honestly say that we were blown away by your glowing review of our property! We could not have said it better ourselves :) Thank you so much for your kind words! We love that you and your family are regular visitors, and we look forward to having you back once all the villas are renovated!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just stayed here for a week for the first time. Very nice place, but lots of work going on. Grounds are nice, nothing great.......the main pool, for some reason, was a little on the cold side, even with temps in the low/mid 90's .......... and they picked this week to start painting, and closing, areas of the pool deck. ............. The only staff we dealt with was the front desk, and they could NOT have been Nicer people !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

However, I did ask for a simple wake up call on 2 days, for 730am both times. First time, they called me at 750 am . The second time, 752am. That is NOT ACCEPTABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!.......for some unknown reason, their wakeup call system is NOT automated. The person both times was NOT TOO APOLOGETIC !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Overall, not a bad place. Mostly very clean, although our kitchen counter appeared to have some contruction debris (minor) on it when we entered . And its exactly a 1/2 mile from the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markcassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear markcassel,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate any and all comments from our guests.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the fact that both of your requested wake up calls did not occur at the correct time. That is something that should never have happened, and please know that we addressed this issue with our Front Office Manager.
We are glad however that, overall, you seemed to enjoy your time here and we do hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently exchanged our time share for a week at the Sheraton Desert Oasis and had a great time at this property. We had a two bedroom condo that was well appointed and spacious. We like to cook in and the kitchen is very well equipped. The location is great, just off the 101. Staff was very friendly and very quick to respond to a small maintenance issue when we first checked into our unit. We were on the first floor which was convenient for us. We toured the newer units, but personally we liked the southwest décor a bit better in the older unit we were in.
The pools are both very nice and we liked the option to be able to go to the smaller quiet pool when desired. The restaurant is convenient by the pool as well. We enjoyed evenings out in the hot tub as well. This was definitely one of the best exchange locations we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We personally liked being on the first floor. Very convenient for bringing in bags and groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Debbyrr,

Thank you for your glowing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us! We very much appreciate it and are happy that you enjoyed your time here!

Please visit us again sometime!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas providing up to 1,290 square feet with enough room to accommodate as many as eight guests. Each villa includes a fully equipped kitchen or well-equipped kitchenette, washer and dryer, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing