We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Desert Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Loveland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great stay at Desert Oasis”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We took a short trip for 4 days 5 nights to Scottsdale and stayed at this property. It is a time share property but we booked through southwest vacations. They did ask us to take the tour and listen to their pitch but we declined given our short stay. The rooms are all being remodeled. Ours had just been finished and we were the first ones in there. The tub was missing a plug and the tub jets didn't work, but we called the front desk and maintenance remedied the problem very quickly. The front desk called later to make sure the problem was taken care of. The follow up is a nice touch. Everyone at the front desk seemed very cheerful and friendly. I kind of felt like I was on a cruise when the daily phone calls came in listing events that day. It was the off season so the activities didn't get a lot of takers, but I am still glad they had them. The hot tub cave is very unique (and the water was nice and hot) and the pool very nice, but we only went in the hot tub as it was a little chilly for swimming in mid November (at least for us, there were plenty of kids swimming). They have a small fitness center that I regret not using, I fully intended to but was just too tired after our hikes, golfing and shopping. Scottsdale is full of shopping, restaurants, car dealers and furniture stores and the Desert Oasis is close to all of them. The concierge has very useful information, maps, suggestions, etc. The rooms are like condos, which was very nice to have a couch and TV when an old friend stopped by.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TerrileeLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear TerrileeLoveland

Thank you for your nice review of our property, we really appreciate it!

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here to the fullest (you are so right, with everything the area has to offer, who has time for the gym? :))

Come see us again some time!

Warmest regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    309
    72
    24
    14
See reviews for
294
375
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We love this property! The villas are spacious and well appointed. The pool is very pretty and there is a bar where you can order food and drinks pool side. We stayed here several times and always got the one bedroom villa. I love having a full kitchen so that you don't have to eat all of your meals out. It's also in a great location.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gummybarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Gummybarb

We're so glad you made our property your "home away from home" several times already!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We love everything about this hotel! The pool is amazing! The food by the pool was yummy too. Every night we hung out in the large hot tub. The gym was great and spacious. We biked every day at McDowell mountain which is beautiful. It was great to come home everyday to the oasis and recharge our batteries. We'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Eemia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us- and such great one at that! :)
We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that we could be part of making your vacation experience a memorable one.

Please come visit us again sometime!

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Truly enjoyed our stay here. We came to Phoenix for a get-together with our high school classmates and we loved the renovated room so much, we spent more time there than usual.
The room was fantastic, all the comforts of home and more. Our patio was a bit confining with a view of a tree, but it was a bit cool during our stay so we didn't use it anyway.
Nice that the fitness room was open 24/7. The pool area was great and the smoothies delicious!
A shame there isn't a bar open in the evening, we would have loved to enjoy a nice drink or glass of wine with our friends.
We had to ask for a cooking unit; all the pots and pans were provided, but not the cook top. It was delivered exactly as we asked, with a followup call to ensure we had the service requested.
In order to get around the area, a car is really necessary, but that is Scottsdale, so spread out. Nice to have Trader Joe's, Whole Foods etc in the area. Enjoyed sites such as Talisien West and Cosanti with wonderful hiking nearby, plus the Botanical Gardens and more.
We would love to return more often, the staff was super! Our thanks to all them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Karen75017,

Thank you for your nice review about your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here!
We would love to have you back, so hopefully, we'll see you again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We found the Sheraton Desert Oasis through RCI, and were excited to try our first Sheraton timeshare. And, I must say, we were quite pleased. Our unit was very clean. We would have loved to be upgraded to a one-bedroom with a larger kitchen, but our kitchenette was adequate, and our unit was in very close proximity to both pool areas. We had a car, so we actually found the location of this timeshare to be very convenient. Trader Joe's was just a few minutes away in one direction, and we discovered the amazing Fry's Market just a few minutes away in the other direction. The property was quite nice -- well-landscaped. The main pool area was impressive with the waterfall, but we enjoyed most our "private" pool right outside our door. It was usually empty in the early evenings when we took our swim. Also, be sure to get the Sheraton map they provide at the concierge's desk. That map was fantastic -- it had all the stores, restaurants, attractions -- well-laid out. One of the best maps I've ever been given. And, I tend to navigate by landmarks, so this was especially helpful. The information at the concierge desk was excellent, and the concierge was very knowledgeable and pleasant with loads of helpful info at her fingertips. My one comment is that they should ease up on the pressure to sign-up to attend a time-share talk. We explained that we were not interested, but we were still asked in various ways to sign up. And, for three consecutive evenings, the phone rang in our unit about three separate times. We were not expecting any phone calls, so we didn't answer. Perhaps, they were just calling to ask us for feedback on our stay, but we suspected we might have been asked again to sign-up for a session and that was enough to keep us from answering. Overall, this property is great. If I were considering a timeshare, I'd consider this one. It's a clean, well-maintained property, and it looks like they are making improvements to some of the units. We participated in their bingo games, and I thought the staff running these events was great. So, definitely lots of positives for a repeat stay at this Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Aloha056,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an extensive review about your recent stay at our property. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we also want to thank you for your nice comments in regards to our staff and property in general.
We certainly hope to see you again some time in the future.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Albeit I'm an SPG Platinum member, I booked 4 nights here through a vacation rental owner. I got a renovated room on the third floor and it was excellent. Fireplace and bath in the bedroom, and everything you require:first class. However the pool area is 4 star with a high smell of chlorine, and renovations are underway. As I didn't have a car, there was no bar or restaurant, which I didn't understand on booking. I found taxis expensive to Scottsdale quarter and Westin Commons. There was a shuttle to a shopping centre one afternoon during my stay for $5, and I felt that the hotel should be running a daily shuttle. However, staff are pleasant and accommodating to all requests. Arielle, the vacation ownership representative is great, and whilst the "timeshare" experience was a poor one, the Manager and Arielle addressed this in a first class professional manner.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear IrisAnne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate it!
We were happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your time here, but we do want to apologize for the lack of a sit down restaurant on property. We certainly understand that this was an inconvenience, especially given the fact that you didn't have a car with you. We do hope you were able to take some advantage of our poolside bar and grille however.

Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this location for a convention. We knew ahead of time that the property had renovations underway and hope they update fitness center with more of everything. It's a little bare.

My main reason for posting a review is twofold:


1) On our 2nd night, while preparing to leave for dinner, we found a small (3 inch) scorpion scurrying across the floor. Needless to say, no more bare feet in the SECOND floor rooms. When we brought it to the attention of the desk clerk that night my son was told that nothing could be done until Engineering came in the next morning. That goodness we don't have small children or my wife would have moved us to a different hotel. The claim was that the scorpion had probably climbed up the dryer vent... okay, that doesn't help ease our concerns.

2) We have NEVER charged anything to a room EVER in our lives. We got our bill emailed to us after the trip and found food and liquor charges on it. This is a timeshare. There's a kitchen in the room and grocery stores nearby. No need to get resort food. I'd called twice and had to leave messages. I called again on 1NOV and spoke to Josh who said it was definitely from the previous occupants of one of the two rooms we had. He stated that it would be reversed. It hasn't yet and that isn't acceptable. I'll be calling my credit card provider mid-month to challenge the charge and file a formal complaint at that time if this isn't fixed immediately.


I don't post reviews often and let the scorpion situation slide until I was seemingly ignored regarding the food charges.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EasyTravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear EasyTravellerCA,

On behalf of the property, I would like to apologize that your stay with us fell short of your expectations, with the billing error being the primary reason.
The Front Office Manager let me know that a reversal of the incorrect charges has since taken place, however, this should not have happened in the first place, and I completely understand your frustration with this situation.

We usually take pride in great customer service and satisfaction and truly regret that we missed the mark in this instance.

Thank you for your time.


Warm regards,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas providing up to 1,290 square feet with enough room to accommodate as many as eight guests. Each villa includes a fully equipped kitchen or well-equipped kitchenette, washer and dryer, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing