We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Singles or Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
“Great Place for Singles or Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

I loved this resort...Stayed in 3 condos there with family for my daughters wedding. All kinds of activities optional to enjoy...Pool and grounds are great ..poolside burger and snack shack for children and poolside bar as well..rooms are immaculate and everything you need for a nice long stay. Shopping is close by but not on top of you..Great location for all Phoenix and Scottsdale Entertainment

Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank B62756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    308
    70
    24
    14
See reviews for
288
371
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

My husband and I invited my sister and her husband to join us in for two week vacation in Scottsdale, Arizona. As with any timeshare exchange, we were a little apprehensive as to whether the generally glowing reports of the Sheraton Desert Oasis in Scottsdale, Arizona were true; however, I am pleased to report that our stylish two-bedroom/two bathroom lock-off unit exceeded our expectations. Ours was the larger "one bedroom apartment" which included full-size equipment (stove, fridge, dishwasher, washer & dryer) while the other side was a mini version of ours (minus the stove - only a cook-top). However, this was never an issue for us since meals we ate at the resort were prepared and eaten in our well-equipped larger unit. This is the perfect set-up for two couples holidaying together since the doors between the two units can be closed when privacy is needed. The only negative is that when we added another couple for a few nights, there were privacy and comfort issues (queen-size pullout sofa was not so comfy) and early risers (us) were not able to access the living area until later in the a.m.; however, we were able to access our balcony from our bedroom so were not totally confined to our bedroom.

I am also pleased to report that the resort recently upgraded their beds and bedding and our "super-sleeper" king-size bed (queen-size in the smaller unit), fabulous pillows (not the usual lumpy nightmares) and fluffy down duvets made for sweet dreams from the first until the last night.

The pool and fitness areas are beautiful and well-equipped and the resort itself is meticulously cared for by friendly and courteous staff. The resort is located close to both high-end (Restoration Hardware, Crate and Barrel, many high-end clothing stores, etc.) and average (i.e. Walmart,Target, JC Penney, etc) shopping, grocery stores (Fry's, Safeway, Costco etc.) We enjoyed the Casino Arizona's topnotch restaurant and cabaret and came away with a few extra $'s to boot.

As with any resort, outgoing phone calls are charged at highway robbery prices so take care. Incoming calls are not chargeable. High-speed internet net is excellent and included.

I definitely recommend this resort and commend the Sheraton (Starwood Resorts) for their attention to detail. We had a wonderful vacation and intend to return to the Desert Oasis in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedroverOttawa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Very nice hotel in nice area. Was there on business.. Hotel has very nice anemities.

Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dbottini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

We got a full kitchen, one bedroom unit for one week as part of an RCI exchange. We loved the layout of the condo and its location. You do NEED a CAR though. From here, everything is about 15-20 minutes away - mountains for hiking, Old Scottsdale for shopping and the Thursday night AtrWalk, the start of the Apache Trail, Phoenix airport (25-30 mins.). Fry's (grocery store) is 5 minutes away.
The resort is on the small side which is perfect for mingling with other guests in the ClubHouse area if you want. They had the most helpful concierge desk we have ever encountered and offered nice activities like wine tasting, line dancing, nature walk. The use of 2 computers with Internet and printer was free.
Since the pools were closed for maintenance, we had access to the pool at their sister property, Kierland Commons. Nice touch.
We did decide to attend the timeshare presentation which was 1h45 mins long, and worth 100 U$ to us. The folks were nice and not pushy.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed at this property 5 years ago, having traded in RCI Points for a unit with a full kitchen suite. At that time we found the suite well situated. This time we unfortunately didnt realize that our RCI assignment of a partial kitchen would be a disaster. How they can rate this a Gold Crown Resort and how they suggest a partial kitchen suite would accommodate 4 people is surprising. Luckily there was only 2 of us. The suite itself is poorly laid out, has very limited natural lighting so the kitchen area is dark and depressing and the entire living space feels as if you are in a cave. The kitchen has a bar sink, 2 burner stove that took 1/2 hour to boil water in, a little tykes type dishwasher and an ok fridge plus no counter space at all. The bedroom is taken over by a double/queen bed and no closet only two cabinets on either side of the bed. There is no space to put your luggage other than back in the living room. The bathroom was ridiculously large for the size of the overall space. Plus there was what I called a time capsule bathtub/shower. A huge jacuzzi tub in the corner with a glass enclosure. I feel bad for any elderly people trying to get into the shower as I would think it a safey hazard as it's a pretty big climb in to take a shower. The balcony adds to the cave like feel and has very cheap plastic chairs and furniture. The worst part of the entire week was that we couldnt even sit on the balcony as most days the property smelled so much of chlorine from the pool (and we werent even near the pool). The final straw for us was that at other time share properties, while we know there is no daily housekeeping, mid week they at least tidy up. We got a knock at the door a few days into our stay with a housekeeper handing me clean towels. Asked her to come back a bit later to get the dirty ones. Never saw her again.
This was not a good stay and wont be going back. I highly recommend to anyone staying here with more than 2 people, stay away from the partial kitchen suite. You will be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattituck
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

The Desert Oasis was just the perfect place to stay. I was traveling with my husband & cousins, total 3 couples. We each had our own 1 bedroom unit, which was spacious & had everything we needed. The rooms were clean, weight room was perfect, pool was warm & lovely. I would stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra47Mattituck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed for 1 week as part of a timeshare exchange, the resort is wonderful. The pools are great and there is enough shade to make sure you can stay safe in the sun. The suites (1 bed partial kitchen) were small but adequate. The spa in the bathroom was great and the kitchen was ok as we used the BBQ's around the resort (Gas BBQ and free to use) to cook meat on an evening. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas providing up to 1,290 square feet with enough room to accommodate as many as eight guests. Each villa includes a fully equipped kitchen or well-equipped kitchenette, washer and dryer, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing