We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great energy and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great energy and fun”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a perfect location for a "girls" weekend. Everything from the front drive, lobby, pools, restaurants and staff says "fun" The energy was contagious from every staff member, even the housekeepers made eye contact, smiled and gave some kind of greeting. The Fitness Center was described by one of the girls as "the best hotel workout room" she has seen. We were all amazed at the pleasant temperature around the entire hotel. Misters and lots of mature growth create a microclimate that must be 10 degrees cooler than the rest of Scottsdale. A mermaid in the pool and a synchronized swimmer added fun entertainment for the late afternoon & happy hour. We enjoyed a private Cabana at poolside for our second day, Tennis and Soccer on the TV, a comfy couch, and misters surrounding the bright yellow shade cloth made for a perfect poolside venue. The Cabana is the way to go for sure. Music was a little loud at the pool, but we were not there to nap, so it worked. We didn't use the bicycles or golf cart tour/taxis but they are both on our list for our next getaway. We'll be back
PS: Bathroom amenites were very nice. Lavender lotion was heavenly

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Patricia H,

It was so great to read about your recent stay with us, and how you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. The pool is certainly a great place to relax and unwind, and keep cool with the misters and cabanas. It was also nice to hear that you were able to have some fun and enjoy our restaurants and cuisine while you were here - Chef Garces food is fantastic!

Thanks again for your comments, and make sure to tell all your friends about the Saguaro.

Come back soon...

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    254
    153
    75
    42
See reviews for
113
290
55
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Earlier this year I stayed at the Saguaro Hotel for a business/leisure trip. I had stayed at the property before the new mangement company came in and was dissapointed so I was curious to see how the hotel had changed. Upon check in I was charmed by the valet staff as well as the front desk who were very friendly. While checking in the front desk asked if I ahd anything special I wanted to do while in town and I mentioned being interested in a yoga class. By the time I made it to my room I received a call from the Asst Mgr with recommendations for nearby yoga studios! I was really impressed by the extra attention shown by the staff. I was delighted to see that there is COLOR in the lobby, on the building in the rooms. The new design is thoughtful and fun. The mini bar offered different water types, there was a bulleting board posting fun local events, and there was an ipad docking station - thank you Saguaro from saving me after I forgot my charger! The gym was great, parking was easy, location couldn't be beat, and the bar/restaurant was fantastic. I would absolutely reccomend the Saguaro for someone looking for a fun place to stay in downtown Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAWeekender29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear CAWeekender29,

Thanks for giving us a try after your last visit, and I was pleased to read how you enjoyed all that we had to offer on this recent trip. Joie de Vivre and our owners have really worked hard to create a special place here in Scottsdale, and it sounds as if you truly enjoyed our vision on this stay with us.

We hope you'll pass on these great comments to other friends and families, and share your great experience about the Saguaro.

Come back again soon!

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have been frequenting this hotel since it was a Mondrian. Things fell apart at the end there, but I still had love for this property. It was such a pleasant surprise to check into the newly renovated, Joie de Vivre version this week. They brought in some Mexican heritage and brightened up the stark white from the Mondrian days with festive, fun and bright colors. This property definitely had the right "bones" to improve upon and The Saguaro has hit the mark. The beds are so comfortable, I was sad that this was a business trip because I would have enjoyed sleeping in a bit longer. The staff is extremely friendly and I like the new features like free wifi and breakfast from Distrito, headed up by Iron Chef Jose Garces. I will keep coming back!

Room Tip: Make sure you stop by the pools, they are gorgeous. Take a walk over to Old Town for some unique sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Courtney C,

Thanks for coming back to see us. It was great to hear how much you enjoyed our bright colors and great beds on your recent stay with us. We would love for you to stay with us on a little R&R next time so that you can give our Saguaro Spa or pools a try.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

From the valet welcome when I first arrived I knew that this property was going to work out just fine - the check-in experience was informative - the sleeping room was modern, fresh, trendy, and just comfortable. enjoyed two Iron Chef restaurants during my stay. I'd Recommended this property to the leisure, business, and group traveler…from hello to goodbye - first class and worth the money!

Room Tip: King pool side was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Hotelville,

Thanks for your great recommendation and feedback from your stay with us. It was great to hear how you had positive interactions with our team as well as fantastic meals from Iron Chef Jose Garces - his food is an amazing treat!

We're so glad you stayed with us, and we hope you can come back again soon.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Saguaro this week and I must say it was a different experience but fantastic. The hotel is very retro and the rooms seem dated (especially the bathroom) but with charm and purpose. The beds are incredible and the rooms have all the amenities you need including bar fridge, safe, large HD TV, etc, etc. The bathroom sort of reminded me of one of my first apartments in the 80's but that was the point. Very clean and very comfortable.

The best feature of this hotel is the pool(s) area. Just great and well decorated with the large main pool being perfect for laps (or nursing a leg injury in my case). The desert landscaping with the palm trees is so well done. There is a walk up bar open all day with the pool servers doing the rounds and the prices are very reasonable.

The hotel includes a very tasty buffet breakfast that was just perfect. The service and demeanor of the hotel staff was outstanding. You can tell that the staff really do enjoy working there. There is a free golf cart shuttle to anywhere you want to go in the Old Town area and they will come and pick you up too. This service apparently runs to 4am nightly and the drivers work for tips. The hotel is right in the middle of the action in Scottsdale so the location is perfect.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: See if you can request a room facing inward to the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear David J,

Thanks for your great review about the Saguaro. Sounds like you were able to enjoy almost every aspect of the hotel, including the surrounding areas in Old Town Scottsdale - we definitely have the best location!

We thank you for your comments, and hope that you'll come back and see us again very soon.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel was everything it said it was and more. The decor was adorable, funky, and fun. The staff were friendly, interesting, and helpful. The food was perfect and the pool was the best pool I have ever been to. The hotel is even better looking in person! We loved the atmosphere at the hotel so much that we struggled to even go out on the town. We lounged by the pool day and night. The cabanas were so romantic, and the fire pits really made the atmosphere perfect. I loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have little out door areas for your pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Mary W,

It was so great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel. The cabanas are also one of my favorite places on the property - great to just hang out and chill. We're so glad you had a great stay!

We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel; I had my dog with me and we got a first floor room with and enclosed outdoor area. VERY friendly staff, great food, bright and cheery. . . a pool, a spa and a fabulous location, what more can you want? Great restaurant options, and again, the location is awesome!

Room Tip: If you have a pet, ask for first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sscavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear sscavender,

Thanks for your great feedback on our Dog Friendly hotel! Our team takes great pride in making sure that our four legged friends also have a great time when staying with us. It was also great to hear that you had great interactions with our team - I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them!

Again, thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,561 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
906 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing