We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, great service, some issues”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for a night on a fantastic low rate that included breakfast. I was a solo leisure traveler, just wanted a night of R&R and pooltime after a hiking trip in northern AZ.

The bad - My room was not in great shape or very clean when I checked in. The bed linens were quite dirty, the shower dripped, the bathroom sink drain was slow, there were hairs from a prior guest on the bathroom floor and on the bedsheets (ew) and the doorjam was warped so that I had to shove my way into the room, each time.

The good - I only complained about the bedsheets and the front desk was highly apologetic and sent a housekeeper right away (late at night) to change all of the sheets, and they asked me again the next day if everything was okay.

I also asked for a late checkout and they happily gave me a generously late checkout time.

I took advantage of their SUPERCHEAP spa special - it was a 60 mins massage for $60, and my masseuse (Micky?) was very very very very good. She was excellent. Firm, knowledgeable, I felt amazing afterward - like, floating in air - and this was really a great deal, especially for a hotel spa.

The pool area is wonderful. I was a little nervous when they gave me a wristband at check-in -- meaning, the pool is open to the public on the weekends, they charge a cover, etc -- I didn't want to deal with a big loud douchey over-the-top pool party scene. But the vibe here on Sunday was actually quite perfect. The dj was very good, the volume was perfect, not too loud, the crowd was well-behaved, also not too loud, just a very relaxed atmosphere, I enjoyed it very much.

The breakfast is pretty basic, not a ton of choices, not the most gourmet buffet around, but a decent solid meal to start the day.

The color scheme, the whole look of the property, is very stylish. It's a very nice place. I probably could have been moved to a different room to solve the housekeeping issues but I just didn't feel like gathering all of my stuff and shlepping it, and so I didn't even mention most of the issues until I checked out. I'm still very satisfied with my stay.

I made these same comments in the hotel's own guest-follow-up survey and the manager wrote me back personally to apologize about the housekeeping issues, which I also appreciated.

This is really a great, cute, quirky boutique spot. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilovestayinginhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Ilovestayinginhotels,

First of all....we LOVE your display name! How cool, as we love having you stay in our hotel!!

We were very upset to learn that we had sub-par sheets on your bed, and some other items in the bath and guestroom, but was glad that our staff acted quickly to rectify your situation. We also took the opportunity to do some further training of our staff, based on what happened with your guestroom.

It was great to hear about how we took a potentially bad situation and turned it around, so that you could have a great stay that you would recommend to others.

Thanks again for your honest feedback, and for allowing us to improve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

JOY! Is the word my daughter used when we stayed at The Saguaro in Scottsdale—we affectionately nicknamed it the "rainbow hotel" since every gorgeous color of the rainbow splashes the walls and rooms of the hotel with a brilliance to bring a smile:) Their tag name "a Joie de Vivre Hotel" is perfect! (Sofia did not know that at the time she chose the word JOY.) I have never experienced such delightful and personalized customer service in any hotel in the world. They did bring JOY to our lives! Before we even arrived for our first stay, they went out at lunch and bought a special saint bracelet for my daughter's special occasion. I was stunned! I had no idea how they knew—I must have mentioned it at reservations and they took note and followed up with this personalized surprise and a handmade note by Adrianna at the front desk. Everyone knew us by name before we left and on my next visit I was greeted in the room by Carlos, Margarita, and rest of the lovely housekeeping staff who were making the cutest animals out of the towels to surprise me—an elephant and dog! They also checked that the room was the color PINK to go along with our little business. Amy at reservations made a point to tell me she would personally help us with any future reservation needs and Clint is always there with a cheery smile to look after our car which he remembered from before. I just love the place and feel so at home. We will certainly always stay there when we go to Phoenix. It will always be our first choice. Pam's smile was as bright as her shirt as she gave me a ticket for the wonderful breakfast brunch where I was graciously served by the nice man behind the bar. I can't wait to go visit in the winter to sit by their pink fireplace and light sparklers just as it shows on the magazine cover in the lobby! Everyone can always use a bit more JOY in their lives and this is certainly the place to find and enjoy it. Wish we could just move right in:) Thank you Saguaro and to all the staff I may not have mentioned... you really make it seem like finding gold at the end of the rainbow by adding your personal touch and warmth! (P.S. Great location around all the cool things that Scottsdale has to offer. We were just enjoying the hotel so much that we never got out to see them this trip. But they do have the cutest colorful bikes to ride for free for guests! Next time....)

Room Tip: Ask for your favorite color and you will be surrounded with that and a wonderful accent. I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxrefresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Relaxrefresh,

Thank you for spreading your "Joy" story about your recent visit with us. It's wonderful to hear when our guests truly enjoy every moment of their stay.

Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you on our bikes during your next visit with us!! Come back soon!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We got a great military deal for $80 duing the week, and our stay as better than expected. The entire staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and professional duing our stay. I expected the employees to be a little stuck up because it was a trendy hotel, but not the case. The pool was really nice, with plenty of chairs and an outdoor bar. Although we didn't use the gym, it had new equipment and was pretty large compared to other hotels. The room's decor was impressive and a good size overall. The hotel had a golf cart and driver who took us to any restaurant/bar we wanted, and we just had to tip him. The free breakfast was awesome! The eggs and homemade sausage were delicious, and they also had some fresh fruit available. Overall this was a great stay, and I'll definitely be spending more nights and days there.

Room Tip: I wouldn't spend the extra money for the pool-view rooms. The patios are surrounded by a fence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Jen G,

So glad you had a great visit with us, and enjoyed our down to earth and friendly staff. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our pool area (with great DJ's) as well as the great food in Distrito and Old Town Whiskey.

Thanks for the great feedback, and we hope you'll come back soon!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Saguaro hotel is in a very convenient part of Scottsdale right next to Old Town. Easy to walk to restaurants and shopping. The pool is very lively with DJs playing music and a bar on site. The fitness room was smaller than I expected, but did the job nonetheless. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for some fun and in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaBarbara2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear SantaBarbara2011,

Thanks for staying with us recently, and sharing your comments. It was great to read how you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Old Town....it does makes it quite easy to get around.

We'll definately share your great feedback with our team, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great Location, walking distance to Old Town. Very nice valet guys. It is a older hotel and you can see it, even thought they did try qwirky add ons. If you want to see the action at the pool make sure you request to be in building #4 higher up, not in front bushes. This will allow for good people watching. lol. Pool view in building #3 will give you a view of the kiddie pool or where the large people lay. ( sorry its true ) I can say the AC did work very well which is a plus in 110 weather. Beds very comfy too !

Room Tip: Request building #4 pool view if you wanna see the action at the pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Wayne M,

Thanks for the great review, and for the great tips for people watching!! We are a fun spot in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, so we were glad to hear that you took advantage of our location to enhance your stay.

Come back again soon...we've got the AC cranking for you!

Best Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I live in Scottsdale so I really can't speak too much on the hotel itself, except to say it is beautiful, the staff fantastic and perfectly located in Old Town Scottsdale. What I want to review today is the Saguaro Spa. Living in Scottsdale I have enjoyed many of the spas in some of our most beautiful hotels and sometimes I find them intimidating. You may know what I mean, the front desk personnel look at you like a bug, they make you fill out a questionnaire that any FBI background checker would think is excessive, and during the entire procedure your visit is punctuated by sales, sales, sales. I can gladly report the Saguaro Spa has NONE of that! If your appointment is at 12:30, then that is when you show up. There is no request to come 20 minutes early to fill anything out. The spa lobby is a small intimate space that makes you feel welcome right when you walk in the door. The therapist will ask you a couple of questions pertaining any areas you have problems with and then you are left to undress at your leisure and get down to business. I had a 60 minute Swedish massage which lasted more like 80 minutes (and I was charged only the special rate which on that day was $60 for 60 minutes.) The room was clean, and pleasantly dark..there are no bright lights and there is pleasant music playing but not that Zen pinging music that I find so annoying. I cannot spell the young lady's name who took such good care of me and I don't want to offend her by misspelling, but she was fabulous! She took great care to ask me if I was comfortable and if the pressure she was using was alright. When it was over, I was left to dress, and she was waiting outside with a glass of cool water. Checking out was quick and to my great relief there was no sales pitch regarding any of the products used during my session!! I will be back and recommend highly to all my friends and family who come to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I was there in town for a wedding. The location is very nice and the pool is quite nice. It is a very stylish cool place. The decor is quite interesting as well. It is an old hotel and you can tell they work hard to keep it in good shape which is not easy.

Housekeeping forgot us one day. Also the breakfast is a very good value and tasted good, BUT the replenishment was poor and it was not clean. Ran out of coffee, bread, eggs, messy buffet area, attitude from the staff when told about it.

Otherwise it was good.. Price is reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropicalTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear TropicalTraveler78,

Thanks for your candid feedback on your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear how you enjoyed our hotel while you were in town for a special occasion. However, it was troublesome to hear that we skipped cleaning your room one day and that breakfast was a bit "understocked".

We appreciate you letting us know where we have fallen short, and have utilized this information to help train our team so that others do not have these same challenges.

Thanks again for staying with us, as well as giving us critical and valuable feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,698 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £107 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing