We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My spot for Spring Training baseball”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #43 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've recently started coming to Scottsdale for business and I found this little gem of a hotel on my company's preferred travel list. From the initial reception at check-in thru my departure, I was impressed with this hotel. My only suggestion would be to ask for a room away from Camelback road as there were a few noisy buses passing by pretty early in the morning. The pool has underwater speakers which were a cool feature and the loaner bikes gave me an excuse to pedal around the old Scottsdale scene. Going to come back here for our spring training baseball trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjfernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear JJfernan,

Thanks for the great review. We were so glad that you had a great experience with us, and that you were able to enjoy Old Town on our Saguaro bikes.

See you in March for some baseball!!

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

The hotel was nice and very stylish but out suites that had a beautiful view of the pool were so loud with bass for the DJ we could not have a conversation in our room. The staff was not helpful and only told us we should have requested rooms at the calm pool. Not great when we were paying $250 a night. The hotel also hosted a private party on Friday of our stay and as guests we were not allowed access to the hot tub . 2nd night if the stay they give you smaller toiletries!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelwithkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Travelwithkidd,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. While we do have music at the Picante pool on a daily basis and a DJ on select weekends, I was dismayed to hear that the volume was not at our standard level. We have addressed this with our DJ as well as put controls in place to limit the sound - thank you for bringing this to our attention.

And, as you mentioned, for those who want little to no music, one of the great things about this property is that we have other rooms located around our second pool - the Calma Pool - that is much more serene. Please let us know next time you are headed our way, and we can block you for a suite in this area of the hotel.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

The Saguaro is located right in the old town, so you really can walk everywhere. The bar is fun, with good music. They don't mention the resort fee at all and, believe it it or not, it is more expensive on Hotwire than direct if they are running a deal. Distrito restaurant is very well rated and does their room service.

Gym is actually quite good, but the "valet" usually just shows you a map and you park yourself

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1120A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear N1120A,

Thanks for your comments and feedback from your stay with us. It was great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and great location. We do always encourage guests to book directly with us, as we do guarantee the best rates to be on our website.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you back here soon!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Located right in Scottsdale so within 2 mins walking distance to all the nice bars and restaurants. The hotel setting is nice, rooms big and modernly decorated. However, our toilet blocked on the 1st night and wasn't rectified until the next morning, by which we had to move rooms as someone had shoved something down the toilet. Not the hotel's fault but we were given any alternative at the time until we asked so we had to go without the toilet overnight. WI-FI was also down for half the time we were there. Pool menu is rather pricey but to be expected. We got this place on a late deal (the night before) for $84 p/night for 3 nights so can't complain too much. Also, the bedroom doors are paper thin! Do not expect to sleep in!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landyuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear landyuk1,

Thanks for staying with us recently and sharing your comments. I want to apologize for the toilet and Wi-Fi issues that you had during your visit, certainly not the norm or what we expect for any of our guests. We are definitely a more fun hotel in the heart of Scottsdale, which does lead to a bit of noise on occasion, but have asked our security to be more vigilant in keeping the noise down in the hallways.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the Saguaro! We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying one night at the Saguaro Hotel in Scottsdale recently. The hotel was immaculately clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere of the property was warm, welcoming and enjoyable. The rooms are quirky and well-maintained. The location was quiet and peaceful. The staff went out of their way to ensure a pleasant experience. What I liked best was that the hotel was pet friendly and welcomed our four-legged friend. I would happily recommend Saguaro as a refreshing change of pace from the 'box' hotels and you can rest assured you'll be well taken care of.

Room Tip: Request the pool view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Daniel H,

Thanks for your oustanding review of our hotel. So glad you had a great visit and that the staff went out of the way to make you (and your four legged friend) feel welcome!

Thanks for sharing...and come back soon!!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I was staying at a nearby hotel that did not have a spa and really wanted to get a massage while in Scottsdale. Since The Saguaro was in walking distance, I decided to schedule my massage there and I am so glad that I did! I love massages and get them fairly frequently, but this was literally the best massage of my life. I booked the monthly AZ 100 special which is a one hour spa treatment for $100. The October special was a Spiced Orange Massage. The massage therapist was so very good. She worked extensively on my problem areas (neck and shoulders) but still did a full body massage, as well as a foot massage, scalp massage, and face massage. She really helped my neck and definitely helped me to have a relaxing trip in Arizona.

As far as the spa itself, it seems fairly small, from what I could see it seemed like there were only maybe one therapist and two rooms, but there may have been more. The massage room itself was kind of small, but more than adequate. I also noticed there was a small shower in the back which would be nice to use if you had received other treatments or been out to the pool, etc. The only negative of the experience was that it was kind of warm in the room especially with all of the blankets on the massage table and it also sounded like they were mowing the grass right outside of the spa when my massage first started.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Kayla W,

It was great to hear how you LOVED our Saguaro Spa. Josh and the team do an outstanding job, and I'm certain they will appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again - We'll have lots more specials throughout the year!!

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding weekend and had all our guests stay here. It was a great surprise to see how well put together this hotel is since being renovated. The rooms are beautifully decimated with a retro 50's feel. Almost like a Miami Cuban influenced decor. The food at distrito was great though we only had breakfast and the whiskey bar was a great drink spot.
The pool was a great spot to pass the day with some good drink selections and food options.

Overall I was very pleased with our stay here and would recommend if yo y want something outside the corporate chains in a great location you should stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear RJS5,

First of all, let us congratulate you on your most recent Wedding!

Thanks for celebrating your special occasion with us, and sharing your feedback. We'll pass on your comments to the team.

We hope that you will come back and celebrate on your anniversary!!

Congratulations and Best Regards,

Alan Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
944 reviews
Aloft Scottsdale
#61 of 75 in Scottsdale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £114 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing