We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here one night after a week long live-aboard scuba trip. It was so beautiful and exactly what we wanted after a week on a small boat. Comfortable bed, strong shower, great bath amenities, beautiful pool (which was the perfect temperature for a hot summer day) and very friendly staff. The price was amazing for our suite, which had great seating to visit with friends. Very nicely decorated too. As a matter of fact, the entire hotel is an explosion in color. I loved it. A very cool hotel. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hey NatAtHome,
It was so refreshing to read your review. It sound like the Saguaro was a great closure to your incredible vacation, OUTSTANDING! I look forward to sharing your comments with our entire team. Come back soon!

Take care,

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    261
    158
    76
    44
See reviews for
113
301
59
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noord-Brabant
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way from Phoenix to Sedona. This hotel is a bright, colorfull place to stay. Staff is friendly and willing to help you out, giving you directions for a restaurant or other place to go. One of the bellboys gave us some good tips for our way to Sedona and which way was best to take to have some nice views.

Hotel room gives me the feeling of an older hotel room ehich has been upgraded. Bed is a little squeeky and from some items you can tell they have been in the hotel for longer time. Like someone mentioned before I also have to name the AC which makes a lot of noise when it is turned on. The room has a decent size and the patio (when you're on ground level) is great to have your own breakfast in the morning. Lots of stuff in your room although some items are heavily priced, for example a bottle of water for $5. Same bottles could be bought at the supermarket for less than $1 a piece.

Pool area of this hotel is really nice. Great place to hangout and relax. Beds are comfortable and there are enough umbrella's to keep the sun away from you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Stefan,
Thank you so much for your kind and honest review. We are so proud of our atmosphere, our team has worked hard, and will continue to maintain such a "great atmosphere", ultimately creating unique and fun experiences for our guest.
The 12 colors used throughout the property represent the wildflowers which are indigenous to the Arizona desert. This certainly makes for a unique collaboration between landscape and architecture.
I look forward to sharing all the details of your review. And certainly hope to see you in Old Town Scottsdale in the future.

Take care,

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for only one night while visiting the Phoenix/Sedona/Scottsdale area in early September. When we first drove up, I thought the hotel was closed because it was so empty, given the time of year. The lobby was super trendy, decorated very nicely. Like other reviewers have said, it's clear the hotel was recently updated. The hotel is decorated in extremely bright, vibrant colors (our room was electric lime green), and funky, trendy decor. The room had some unique, vintage decorations and a nice walk-out patio with two chairs. Bathroom had a sliding warehouse-esque door, which was difficult to close. Bed was comfy but very squeaky, so every time you rolled over you woke your companion. Bathroom was small, but worked for two people. Pool area was awesome and had a great party atmosphere with colorful cabanas and a waterfall. Hotel is in walking distance of some great restaurants in Old Town Scottsdale, like the Mission. Highly recommend it for delicious Mexican food.

We would definitely stay here again when visiting, if the price is right.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have walk-out patios, some facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryinMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Mary in Milwaukee,

Thank you for your kind review. August and September are historically our slow season. Yes, our proximity to Old Town Scottsdale certainly provides for much to see and do in the area. The 12 colors used throughout the property represent the wildflowers which are indigenous to Arizona, desert "Art Deco". We certainly look forward to your return to the Saguaro Scottsdale.

Best,

Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, with very nice staff and a beautiful pool.
I was here only one night, but was very comfortable, and wished I could have stayed longer.
my only gripe was that the balconies were very small, and the room service food was terribly salty.
Also, I am a big believer that desert towns should offer free water in the rooms, and not charge in the minibar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear SamiKnight,

Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. I will share your comments with our friendly staff. So glad you enjoyed the pool, as many have done so throughout the summer. It is so much fun, great music, food and delicious beverages, all pool side. I can appreciate our thoughts regarding water in the desert, great point. I will certainly share with the management team. We do offer complimentary infused water station at the hotel entrance. Please come back, stay longer! Old Town Scottsdale has so much to offer.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My friends and I stayed here for three nights as a small getaway. We spent time at the pool and while it was busy, it wasn't annoyingly so. The service was great at the pool - Marcus was especially friendly and attentive. The gym was amazing - big, well-ventilated and fully stocked with towels and cold water. The rooms were normal - not too big but not tiny, and the shower pressure was good. Some of the A/C units are louder than others so if it's really too loud, just request another room. The Distrito restaurant left much to be desired. Skip it - the food was mediocre and expensive except for the guacamole. That is the only dish I'd recommend. Yes it is a bit dated, but the friendly bell boys, concierge and pool service made up for anything that the hotel lacked. I'd come back!

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have balconies where the walls lean in - there is not even enough room for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hi Sirena,
Small get-a-ways are fun! Sounds like you and your friends had a nice time, thanks for sharing. Over the summer many other guest have shared similar experiences, our goals is to offer something for everyone. Thank you for your comment regarding Marcus, he is amazing. I look forward to sharing your comments with Marcus, he will light up! And true, we are so proud to have an incredible fitness center, it is top notch. Unfortunately your Distrito experience will less than impressive, for that I am sorry. I will share with my team. They truly want to provide a great experience for all, sorry to hear that was not your case

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is in the middle of downtown Scottsdale. We had a 600 sq. ft. Room that was very comfortable and the summer rate was very reasonable. It is also within walking distance of restaurants and shops in Scottsdale

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatalinaTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hi Catalina Tucson!
"A gem of a hotel", well thank you so much for the compliment. Yes, we are a little diamond in the desert, a little secret in Old Town Scottsdale. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your spacious room. There is certainly much more to experience on your next trip to the Saguaro, see you soon!

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Old building, in need of renovation , small bedrooms , balconies not worth being there as no chairs to sit on and very small, the air conditioning unit were very old and VERY noisy , you had to switch off at night if you wanted any sleep. We had a very early morning trip one day and NO drinks facities at all....... , restaurant run separately and only really offered Mexican food, breakfast was very slow service.
I had emailed hotel in advance to check there was tea & coffee making in the rooms, to be told YES, BUT it is only a coffee machine, they told me to use for hot water and offered tea bags,( although it took 3 requests to actually get any ) but it still tasted of coffee , not what I wanted in a morning........
Lots of young people in pool drinking , not a realxing place to read a book.
Staff were generally Ok , but it was the level I would of expected.
Will not be going back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Lynette M,
I am genuinely concerned that your stay with us was, as you put it, "Not for us". For that I sincerely apologize. In September we received our first shipping of new AC units, as we are up-grading existing units. The experience with our F&B is disappointing, and I will certainly share with the team. Iron Chef, Jose Garces, takes great pride in his creations. His coffee kiosk on property, Garces Trading Co., has amazing coffee beverages. Your review will provide our team the opportunity to review and consider necessary changes to ensure future guest find a more pleasant experience. I hope you will offer us another opportunity on your next trip to Old Town Scottsdale.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,606 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#48 of 75 in Scottsdale
924 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing