We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character/design! ”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great character/design! ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the feel of the hotel - it was very cool and the staff was extremely friendly.

The rooms could've been a bit cleaner. I felt like corners/crannies were a bit cruddy and they could've ran a vacuum a few more times.

Overall we enjoyed it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello WanderlustLiss,

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay and choosing to stay with us! We try to take each guest experience into consideration to make the next visit even better.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    261
    158
    76
    44
See reviews for
113
301
59
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
676 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The Saguaro hotel is in downtown Scottsdale. It's not very big. It odd however very colorful and has done cool decorations.The building is a bit dated but the rooms are modem and nice. It's a hip kind of place.I like the distrito restaurant a lot

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello gzau,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us!

Fun little fact that not a lot of people know, Distrito, our restaurant on property is actually owned and operated by Iron Chef Jose Graces! No wonder why the food is amazing!

Until your next visit…

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If only all of my business travel could be this charming. I stayed just one night at this hotel in Scottsdale, my first time in the city, while performing at the nearby Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art (also a knockout!), and was utterly charmed by it. It's a big place that might once have been something less charming than it is now. It has that look of something that has been repurposed with paint and imagination. While many hotels strive for a look of whimsy and end up looking strained, this hotel really pulls it off. My room was stylish and amusing while still being very functional and comfortable. The little touches, like old photos on the walls, and cleverly designed instructions for getting the most out of my stay, were actually amusing and helpful. There are two pools, one of which was very quiet, and the other that was a hotbed of activity. Both were surrounded by lush landscaping. There were bicycles to borrow and lots of things to see nearby and the whole thing was just fun and relaxing. I wish I could have stayed longer. My one complaint was that there didn't seem to be any WiFi, although maybe I just missed it somehow. I was too busy with work for it to become an issue but I'd have to investigate that more if I was going to go back. There was a spa, which I didn't see, but the gym was terrific. Great equipment an a view of the pool for motivating eye candy. There was a nice mix of straight people, lots of whom seemed to be part of wedding parties, and gay couples, and everyone was mixing nicely. I also availed myself of one of the town cars onsite to take me back to the airport and after realizing that I'd left my watch in my room the driver was very nice to take me back and wait for me to find it and did not charge me extra. I gave him a big tip, which I was happy to do because the watch, although cheap, has special memories associated with it and I left Scottsdale happy and very ready to recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello James J,

Thank you for such a wonderful detailed review! We appreciate all of our guests’ feedback and we enjoy hearing about wonderful experiences like yours.

We hope you do come back soon to enjoy some of our other great amenities like our Spa. And don’t worry, we have WiFi too!
Until then…

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
954 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We loved this colorful hotel. Had ground floor room with a patio which walked out to one of the two pools. Look for the hidden hammock! The rooms were on the small side, but with only two people, it didn't bother us. Loved the location! Can walk to everything in Old Town from here including across the canal to Scottsdale Fashion Square. There are also bikes here that you can take out for a ride, but we didn't do that. We did not want to try and ride a bike on the busy streets in Old Town. We enjoyed being at the pool each day as it wasn't very crowded the week we were there. They are very strict at the pool about bringing in your own containers. We only had our plastic Tervis tumbler, filled with water from our room, and we were told to put it away and that we couldn't use it. And we saw another couple that had a big water bottle from their room and the bartender took it away from them. Really?! We had to hide our own snacks at the pool for fear they would be confiscated too. You can get food from the menu out at the pool, but it was all unhealthy stuff and not many options. Would stay here again for the cheerfulness of it and the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room. That is the only way you will get a patio. The upper rooms have a lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dshendri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello dshendri,

We appreciate you writing a review about your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a wonderful time in the sun while you were here. The hidden hammock is my all-time favorite place on property, not a lot of people know about it!

I do apologize about the water bottle, but we do not allow outside food and beverage in our pool area. Like all restaurants, it could be a violation of health code and if liquor was brought in, we could potentially loose our liquor license.

We do have a prime location! Everything you need is within walking and/or bike riding distance.

We hope to see you again on your next trip out to Scottsdale!

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here through Hotwire. Great location. You can walk anywhere. Cool restaurant and bar though the front lobby. The pool looked decent.

This place is grossly overpriced. The rooms are very average. I was on the main level which had a patio that you would not want to hang out on.

If you are looking for a place to sleep where you can walk anywhere in Old Town this is a good hotel. If you are looking for any value in your dollar, I would look at one of the 'chain' hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Steve J,

We appreciate you taking some time out to review your recent stay with us.

It sounds like you didn't get to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer. To name a few, we have two pools, both heated and chilled, a relaxing an intimate spa, and Distrito, our restaurant on property; which is owned and operated by Iron Chef Jose Garces!

We do hope you return to experience more of what we have to offer!
Until then…

Sincerely,
Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were only there for a night and the hotel was in a great location for a one night stay. Walking distance to Old Town. The rooms were a little small and the bathroom door is VERY heavy. Other than that, we didn't have any complaints. I wouldn't stay here for an extended stay, but for a short trip, the location and price couldn't be beat. There is a complimentary shuttle which is a nice touch. Also, the service is top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Tracelbirds0809,

Thank you for taking some time out to review your recent stay with us!

Everyone loves the complimentary shuttle we offer. We also have complimentary bicycles so you can bike all around Old Town Scottsdale. That is if you feel comfortable riding a bright orange or pink bike around!

We hope next time you will be able to stay a little longer to enjoy more of our amenities!

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had shopping bags missing out of our hotel room after housekeeping came (the first time in 3 nights) during our recent stay. We contacted the front desk, and was told that a manager would contact me as soon as possible. I had to contact the manager myself, as he didn't think updating me on the issue was warranted. I received a cold "no" when I asked if there was anything they could do. There was approximately $150 of merchandise stolen, and they weren't even willing to investigate further.
I just want to clarify that I am not insinuating the staff stole our property, but I thought perhaps they threw the bag out on accident. Was the Saguaro willing to investigate into that as well? Definitely not. Doesn't matter, not their problem.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, under any circumstances, which is disappointing, since it had started off as such a lovely stay.

Buyer Beware, don't go down to the pool unless you feel like taking your suitcase with you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Amy b,

Thank you for your review about your stay.

I do apologize about your lost merchandise; this is not a normal occurrence. I did check into the investigation and everyone is still aware of the situation and they are keeping their eyes peeled for the bags.

If you would like to talk further on the issue, please feel free to contact me directly at mkunse@jdvhotels.com.

We hope this did not tarnish your opinions of us.

Sincerely,
Morgan K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,605 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#48 of 75 in Scottsdale
923 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing