We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing Stay in Scottsdale for Spring Training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Mirage in Scottsdale for a week while attending the 2014 baseball spring training. We had a studio with a partial kitchen and a full bathroom. It was very nicely furnished and clean. We would have appreciated a king bed; but I can see that it would be too large for the unit. The bathroom was very large and nicely appointed. The unit had a balcony large enough for two chairs and a table. The balcony was always in the shade. This was great because of the heat in Scottsdale, even in March. We cooked breakfast every morning in the unit and the kitchen facilities were adequate for breakfast. I don't think I would try to cook dinner in the unit. There is just a two-burner stove and virtually no counter space. However, it is perfectly adequate for breakfast. The unit had a nice coffee pot which we used every day.

The resort is very well kept and it is very quiet. We did not hear any noises coming from the other units. The only noise we heard occasionally were from people outside the units. Our door did not fit well on the door frame; and it let in light and outside noise. But this was not anything that bothered us.

One thing that did bother us was the shower head was way too high and the water spray was too, too fine. Also, we had to wait a very long time for hot water to come out of shower. The resort has a very, very small cafe (more of a take-out place). We walked over once to have lunch; but were disappointed in the ambiance. We decided to go somewhere else. The cafe is next to the pool, so I suppose it would be nice to eat there instead of going up to your room if you were laying out by the pool.

There are many good restaurants close to the resort; and it is close to the freeway which was very handy to go to all the different baseball stadiums for spring training. Some of the restaurants I would recommend are: Cantina Laredo (great Mexican food; don't skip the desserts); Flo's Asian (delicious Chinese food); Chart House (has a great view of a lake; the furthest of all the restaurants we tried).

We did sit through a timeshare presentation; but it was not a high pressure meeting. They did provide us with a lot of different options, some of which were tempting; but we didn't buy. We already own a timeshare in Maui, Hawaii.

We would stay here again because of it's location, it nice furnishings, it's quiet location, friendly staff, and proximity to nice restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want a king bed, get a one-bedroom or larger.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Scottsdale Villa Mirage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed in numerous timeshare resorts over the last dozen years and we love coming back to the Villa Mirage. The location is great as it's close to all that Scottsdale has to offer yet not in the middle of the congestion. In just a few minutes you can be in Scottsdale proper or out hiking in the desert. The 1BR units are roomy and well appointed with a great bed and a full kitchen. Mike Brown the resort manager has assembled a friendly and efficient staff. If you need assistance all you have to do is ask and help is on the way. Be sure to attend Mike's "meet the manager" meeting on Monday mornings for a free doughnut, to meet some of the staff and to find out what is new at the resort. One last word, this is a timeshare so they will try to get you to attend a sales presentation. If you don't want to go just say no.

Room Tip: Unless you like stairs ask for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwkinggaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We are glad to hear you appreciate Scottsdale Villa Mirage’s ease of access to nearby attractions all while maintaining a tranquil atmosphere. Thank you for continuing to choose to make our resort your home away from home. Our spacious accommodations and helpful kitchen amenities offer guests the comfort and convenience that they have come to expect and deserve when staying at our resort.

The team members will be thrilled to hear you took note of their efforts, and we are happy you took advantage of our informational meeting. This being said we offer all of our guests the opportunity to learn more about our product; however, you are correct in the fact that this presentation is certainly not mandatory.

Thank you for your favorable review of our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just stayed 5 nights at this resort and our experience was mixed:

Pros:
1. it was a great property with many activities for families. Our boys loved the pool with waterfall, the shuffleboard, game room with free XBox, giant chess set, putting green, and bocce ball.

2. Our room was spacious and well apppointed, comfortable for the 4 of us. We had a full kitchen and dining room table. two flatscreens and nice bathroom.

3. The location was very convenient to Scottsdale attrractions

4. The staff was very friendly at the front desk, in the cafe, and in the activity center

Cons:

1. We got a call a few days before our trip from a telemarketer asking us to schedule a time-share presentation when we got to town - this was annoying enough, but then when we arrived at 8PM with two tired and hungry kids we got another hard sell from the concierge trying again to sign us up for a time-share presentation. Then we got another call asking us AGAIN to schedule it, then a voicemail on our room phone. It was frankly very off-putting and the main reason we won'tbe staying here again.

2. The housekeeping staff seemed very lax overall

3. the hot water in our room took forever to warm up, and we kept tripping on the raised fireplace tiles. we finally taped a washcloth to the raised corners to stop from stubbing our toes.

4. the lack of a real restaurant was a bit inconvenient.

Overall we loved the amenities of the property but the hard sell really turned us off. We just wanted to relax not fend off aggressive salespeople.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd and highest floor and enjoyed the quiet, but beware there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Found this place onHomeAway for a last minute trip. I think all the studios open onto the parking lot. One bedroom may be better. Service is good, pool is fine and has a small cafe that was better than I imagined. Not near much to walk to and the regional view is marginal. Close to Scottsdale activities. Rooms are very decent.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Scottsdale and I think this resort was my favourite.

We had 2 nights passing through the area in October - room 310M - 1 bed unit.

It was extremely spacious, bright and although no elevator we did not mind being on a higher floor.

The kitchen had everything you require and there was also a washer/dryer.

Pool area was clean and tidy and on the morning we were there, they had water aerobics which looked good fun.

Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties it is best to request a ground floor room as they do not have eleva...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here one week in the beginning of December 2013. The grounds are clean. Our room was a very nice studio that had been recently remodeled. The kitchen had everything that my husband & I needed although we only ate breakfast in the unit. When we realized that the blender didn't work we made a call to the front desk and within minutes someone was at our door with a new one! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giehadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Scottsdale Villa Mirage, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed while you were here. We are really pleased to read that you would like to return here, and we hope to be of service to you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This Diamond International Resort is one of our favourite's (3rd Stay) when visiting the Phoenix / Scottsdale area. It is off the beaten track but still close to everything you might require. Very close to the PGA's TPC course. The front reception staff are excellent and can and will provide for your every need. They are extremely competent and accommodating. The activity schedule leaves a lot to be desired, except for the water aerobic classes (3 times weekly) and the Yoga class. You can also take these classes at their sister resort (Scottsdale Links). The Oasis café has a limited menu but serves very good food. The recently added BBQ and Fire Pit are excellent and a great addition to the facilities. Overall a very relaxing location.

Room Tip: Ask for Bldg. #13, It's close to the pool and right next to the fire pit and new BBQ and games a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapaHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experiences and we hope you will give us the opportunity to show you this on another visit. We have taken careful note of some of the details of your stay and reassure you that they will be addressed. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale North/Perimeter Center
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at North Scottsdale Road
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale North
Courtyard Scottsdale North
#51 of 75 in Scottsdale
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scottsdale North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Villa Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Address: 7887 E Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5803
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#35 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £54 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Villa Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Scottsdale Villa Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel Mirage
Scottsdale Resort Mirage
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing