We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was our third visit to this property for Easter and the following week, so we have the benefit of comparing this year's stay to prior years/Easter week. Sorry to say that the experience was less satisfying than in prior years. First, the good: great location/proximity to Kierland shopping and restaurants -- not cheap, but lots of trendy options for couples and families alike. Very convenient. Pretty grounds. Good staff at the kid's club (just reserve for the pajama club MONTHS in advance as they only take a handful of kids each night!) (although the older woman at the Mining Company for kids is NOT well-suited to that job). Tom, a poolside server, was delightful. Every bellman/valet was sweet and nice. Food choices are pretty good/ample kid selections. Relatively affordable for a casita / family suite style set up during a peak week (with taxes and the "daily resort fee" -- which as best we can tell gets you the slowest wifi on the planet--still over $600 per night). Love the nightly fire pit and bagpiper and great social opportunities from families with toddlers to teens. HOWEVER this property/staff was NOT suited to handling this peak travel week this year (since we have a point of comparison the "sorry ma'am its just spring break" doesn't cut it). What this translated to was a cast of thousands at the pool. Literally, since the pool entrance is locked until 9am, a snaking line of anxious pool-goers would start to form across the property as early as 8am. Stress level up yet? The line-standers would proceed to save 5-6 chairs each with pool towels and then anyone who simply tried to walk into the pool area at the normal opening time would find that they could basically sit on the cement. While complaints (and there were many--I think the guests "bonded" over the pool complaints) were met with "we are monitoring unattended chairs and will remove belongings within 45 minutes" this simply did not happen, as when you are perched on a square of cement stalking an empty pool chair you have the opportunity to monitor these type of things. I'm sure other resorts have had to figure out how to deal with this these peak times to make sure that the guests attending the resort during this time don't have a miserable experience. Advice: find out how they solve the problem and implement!

The other low point was the Easter festivities. In past years, great egg hunt on the golf course, complimentary petting zoo, moon bounce and face painting. In prior years, delightful. This year, NIGHTMARE. I don't know if the greater Scottsdale community has caught on and realized this is a lovely freebie or what, but for the paying guests, it was awful as there was no realistic chance that your kids was getting anywhere near the attractions. Why not make these things accessible to the hotel guests only? For whatever bonus letting thousands of people onto the golf course for an egg hunt brings to the hotel, can't you make some of it accessible/exclusive for those paying thousands per week to stay? Also, right after the egg hunt, mad rush to the pool -- seemingly for lots of non-hotel guests. My son met one in the pool who said "we aren't staying here but its fun to come to the pool -- they don't care". Indeed. A "wristband" program, presumably designed to keep out the greater Scottsdale community, was sporadically applied. In my entire week stay, I was never asked to verify I was a hotel desk and never received a wristband.

I really really want to return to this Westin. We love Arizona during the spring and this property has all the makings of a wonderful family resort. They need to solve the "peak" issues such as the aforementioned pool issue, the number of waitstaff for drinks and food during the popular dusk/bagpipe playing (impossible to get a drink order fulfilled). It is not a satisfactory response to just say "sorry, we're full to capacity" when there is a complaint that interferes with your stay. Hopefully the Westin Kierland can pull it together--otherwise we are finding a new Scottsdale destination that wants our repeat business!

Room Tip: Casitas are convenient to pool but dark/not well lit. The casita units right next to the new "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michfromdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write us and share the details of what you have experienced during your stay. We really appreciate the fact you have come back for three years now and it because of guests like you that this event has become so successful. We take all guest communication very seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible.

We have a very strict wristband policy in place to ensure that only registered resort guests have access. Please be assured, your comments have been passed on to our pool management team and they will be looking into the challenges you described.

The Easter Egg-Stravaganza is our biggest holiday event of the year and we spend many months planning to ensure our guests have a great time. We are very aware and disappointed by some challenges we encountered for the first time as you pointed out. The popularity of our event has grown significantly over time and although we were prepared for the amount of people, we were not prepared for the behavior of some participants. Unfortunately, we realize it deeply affected the experience for you. Please know we are taking a very close look at changes we can make for next year in order to preserve your guest experience and will work hard to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Please reach out to us directly at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com with your reservation details so a member of our management team can follow up with you. Thank you again for coming back to spend the Easter Holiday and Spring Break with us and we hope you’ll give us another chance and join us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,505 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We travel quite a lot and spent a few days at this resort. As my title says, the place is nice. Clean, beautiful setting and nice golf course. For me the major upside to this resort is the staff, particularly Kerry at the Concierge desk. We had some major issues with the use of the pool by the pool staff and pool manager even before we arrived. Trying to resolve it with them directly was impossible as they would not listen and were a bit rude in the process. I contacted the Concierge desk and was lucky enough to get Kerry. She listened and then contacted 2 different managers to get 2 of the same response. Issue was resolved immediately and beyond our satisfaction. Kerry should be the model for all the staff to emulate. Bell staff and front desk staff also top notch. Down sides to the Westin- the restaurants and pool wait staff were understaffed. In all cases we had to wait for food
and beverage way too long and sometimes they forgot about the order. Should a cocktail and chips really take 40 minutes to arrive? No turn down service in the rooms. There real kicker for me was the kids being allowed to run around the golf course at sunset including playing in the bunkers. The only reason the service is rated 4 stars is because of Kerry (concierge) and the bellman. Would we return? Probably not. Not enough of the perks that we expect for the price they want and way too many kids for the price as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a golf course view. It's also a little more quiet too. If you have kids then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Front Office Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Steve,
Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay and provide some feedback. We take all guest communication very seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible. We will make sure this is forwarded on to Kerry so she knows just how appreciative you are. We are very sorry for the challenges that you encountered and really hope you will give us another chance to show you how amazing a trip to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa can be. Please reach out to us directly at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com with your reservation details so a member of our management team can follow up with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

we spent 4 nights here, using a special offer from starwood points. our 1st stay here. it was great to hang out in a new area of scottsdale. an article in the hotel magazine says they had 31,000 children stay with them in 2010, and it was obvious that the hotel makes families feel comfortable. it was easter weekend and spring break week, so the hotel was humming. there were many corporate groups as guests also. however, as the grounds are so big, all of us were absorbed easily. many areas to play in, tennis, kids zones, adult pool, large kid's pool area, a couple of bars, several lobbies. timeshare areas included on the large grounds. attractive gardens. and a bagpiper plays at dusk!! someone very smart came up with the idea of dessert served in the lobby starting at 5:00, very clever. there was a mix up with our luggage when we arrived and in under an hour of bringing this to the staff's attention, we were given a gift certificate to the restaurant in the hotel, very appreciated. our room faced the golf course, so we had a great view. i highly recommend this hotel and hope we have the opportunity to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sounds like you had an amazing time and were fully able to take advantage of several amenities around the resort. We are sorry for the challenge you encountered with your luggage but glad it got resolved! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com if there is ever anything we can assist you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was helpful, the rooms were exquisite, the view from the patio as the sunset was breathtaking. The service at the pool was great, the library was a wonderful place to escape to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 718Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at this hotel. The pluses include a good location, many activities for children and families, an excellent South American-style restaurant, clean rooms, excellent Westin beds, a great view of the golf course, plenty of parking, easy walking to shopping and restaurants and pleasant staff.
The few negatives include a very loud lobby where sounds echo taking away from the efforts to make the area a feature of the hotel, a considerable distance from Old Town Scottsdale and the "feeding frenzy in the Club Lounge" that unfortunately detracts from most Starwood hotel Club Lounges in North America.
This is a great family hotel in an incredibly active city.

Room Tip: book a room on the golf course side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 205MWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay and sounds like you had a delightful time! We are glad you were able to take advantage of several amenities while you were our guests, especially our signature restaurant deseo. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa in the future and please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com if there is ever anything we can assist you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here end of march for 10 days in a Casita suite, for the price this place is pretty average, the suite has a small kitchen with nothing in it not even a spoon to stir your coffee, kids slept on a uncomfortable pull out couch, auto room temp control never did work, the pool is kept under lock and key so you have to line up to get in then its way overcrowded, weather was nice and the two coyote games we went to were good. I guess I should give them credit for the website it got me here but I'll never be be back to this resort.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank pitkadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are sorry you felt it was just average. Every associate strives to exceed each guest’s expectations. We are sorry for the challenges you encountered during your stay and like to be informed of them immediately so they can be addressed. Please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com so a member of our management team can look into it and follow up with you. We truly hope you will give us another chance to show you just how wonderful a trip to The Westin Kierland Resort and Spa can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We all have to expand our horizons. When you're tied to Marriott because you're a member of their rewards program - you tend to go Marriott. We had a chance to stay at the Westin Kierland Resort and Spa! I was impressed with the curb appeal when driving up to the resort. It looked and felt relaxing even before entering the resort. The amenities including a golf course, spa, restaurants and the daily activities would keep you on site for a relaxing getaway vacation (had a facial and participated in a yoga class). The extra added bonus is the easy access to 2 shopping areas within walking distance, Kierland Commons and Scottsdale Quarter plus the iPic movie theater.

Room Tip: Our room was 4025 - it was in a corner - so quiet and peaceful. We knew the hotel was full due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0rindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Dorinda,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are so delighted you were impressed with our resort. As a senior contributor on Trip Advisor, we understand how valuable your feedback is and it will be shared with our management teams. Sounds like you were able to take full advantage of several amenities around the resort and have a relaxing getaway! We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa and if there is anything we can ever assist you with, please contact us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,550 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £165 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing