We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here on thanksgiving and it was such a treat! The staff was super attentive and helpful- the rooms were immaculate- and the pool was just fantastic! The children could choose to do the lazy river, regular pool or splash pool area with a sandy beach. We were very impressed and satisfied with our choice of hotel for this holiday vacation! You will be as well! Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lburke71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending Thanksgiving weekend at our Resort. We know there are many excellent resorts around the valley and are honored that you chose to celebrate the holiday weekend with us. We are thrilled that you had a fabulous experience and hope that many lasting memories were made.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your feedback and appreciate your positive remarks.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    673
    222
    73
    60
See reviews for
583
532
74
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The property was Beautiful! We had to work too much but hope to return and use more of the wonderful amenities soon! We Dinned there. The Concierge secured a reservation at Mastros Seafood Bistro-- Mastros is a quick 4-5 minute walk from Property- and a must! There is a entire lovely "Main Street" shopping area is right there as well. There is nothing anyone could want for! Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room. There are a wide variety of rooms available. Near the pool. Away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We value guest feedback and appreciate that you have provided us with yours.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you departed our Resort feeling rested, renewed and better than when you arrived.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed twice in the last 2 years for business trip. Room was comfortable same to other resort hotels in the area. Golf course inside of the hotel has 27 holes but they are not desert course.
It may good for aged or family golfers if wish to pay more than $200.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have stayed at the Westin Kierland three times in the past 6 years. It is always an excellent hotel with great amenities and lovely staff. Pool, spa, and fitness areas are beautiful! It is located across the street from open-air mall with wonderful shops and restaurants. Hotel's restaurant and bars offer plenty of variety and great food. This is a great place to unwind and relax!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a repeat visitor to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. Winning the loyalty of a guest is a high achievement and we are honored to earned yours.

We are thrilled to hear that you had another great experience at our resort. We will be sure to share your review and positive remarks with our associates and management team. On behalf of The Westin Kierland, it was our pleasure to provide you with a memorable visit. We strive to provide only the best service to our Resort guests, we appreciate your loyalty and repeated stays with us and we are delighted to hear that we continue to impress you.

We cannot wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Although several year late in passing on our comments, I am now a regular Trip Advisor reviewer - and this getting caught up on concrete and constructive reviews of many of the places and sights we have had the pleasure of visiting and experiencing over the past few years.

The Westin Keirland Resort, and specifically the Kierland Villa Complex - a time share based resort and residence attached to the Westin Hotel property - will go down as one of our BEST family vacations ever. After a great deal of investigation and research The Westin Kierland Villa's were selected as the base location for a large family / family reunion vacation in May 2011.
As several family members are owners of property in the Interval / Diamond Resort Timeshare organization, we were searching for a great, suitable location in a warm climate, where there would be a wide variety of activities for all to participate in. This Westin property proved to be amazing on all accounts.
Although our accommodations (the Kierland Villa Timeshare) were based in the accompanying property to the resort hotel, we were fully able to utilized all the amazing amenities of the resort and spa - restaurants, bars, lounges, shops, golf, pools (amazing pools), lazy river complex, etc., etc.
As somewhat fussy travellers - even with the stereotypical beer budgets - we do like to travel well, search out 5 star+ accommodations and amenities, etc... and both the Villas and Resort property proved to be 5 star + in all areas.
The Resort Hotel itself is in one word - AMAZING!!! top quality, spacious, immaculate in all details. As mentioned the outdoor facilities were all terrific - pools and spa facilities at the Resort area are shared with the Villa residents - but the quality of service, cleanliness and upkeep, etc. were wonderful.
Over our week long stay we tried out and took advantage of all the outdoor activities - highlights again being the various pools, all with different looks and different crowds. The Villas have their own family friendly pool area. The Resort had several pool complexes from olympic style which on several evening occasions was like our own private resort as no one else was using it. There is a more adult only spa / cabana pool complex with waterfall, bar service, outdoor lounge / out door fireplaces, etc. which we visited daily after car trips throughout the local area. Then there is an amazing 'shoreline beach' and lazy river / waterslide island complex which we visited several times. One day we stayed put at the resort and rented a private cabana at the lazy river complex - great service, great experience, great fun!!! and well worth a few extra $$$'s.

The hotel resort main building proved to be a great central base for breakfast, lunches, bar /pub snacks, and dinners when we did not feel like preparing our own meals in the self contained villa residences (for the week we booked 4 family units within the timeshare complex - 6+ private queen / king bedrooms, each bedroom with private baths, balconies, spacious living room / dining room / kitchens).
All of our restaurant, bar, pub, or even take out deli experiences at the main hotel facilities were more than great! Great food, great service, great staff!!!
The overall look and ambiance of the resort is casual, refined elegance. And there was never any distinction or separation from villa resort guest to hotel guest. THUS the resort's main building facilities were the perfect compliment for the villa's more luxury, private home feeling.
The resort itself is out of the hustle and bustle of Scottsdale main core - BUT is certainly extremely conveniently located to all major attractions and some AMAZING 5 star shopping. In fact juts outside the resort complex is an area called the 'Kierland Commons'... one of the nicest, most beautiful, casually elegant mid range to high end shopping complexes I've ever experienced - Rodeo Drive, 5th Avenue, Yorkville, Palm Beach all rolled up into one extremely well designed indoor and out door shopping area. Great shops and restaurants, and again a GREAT casual ambiance - even just to window shop with a coffee or ice cream after hours.
There are also the usually - but extremely WEEL DONE areas of department store, box store, chain restaurant complexes all within an easy drive of the resort.

ALL IN ALL... our stay at the Westin Kierland Resort ... and Villas was casually 'perfect'!!! Extremely relaxing and enjoyable, great facilities at your doorstep, everything you could want in a vacation. At least everything that we needed to make a memorable family event.

Room Tip: We did get the opportunity to look at several levels of hotel rooms - ALL were 5 star +. Our acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwickens407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Mrs. and I had a wonderful stay at the Westin Kierland, and we highly recommend it. Our visit to Scottsdale was for a family event, so we had limited time to explore the Westin, but we really enjoyed what we did have a chance to experience at the resort.

The hotel is on beautiful grounds, and when you drive-up to the front on the palm-tree lined driveway, you’re already looking forward to your stay. Check-in was quick and easy with no line, and Scott made us feel very welcome.

We had one of the Deluxe rooms with an amazingly comfortable king-size bed. The room has all the standard amenities like room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV, etc. In addition to the mini-bar, the room also had a separate refrigerator for your own items. The closet seemed to be a bit on the small side, but more than ample for our stay of a few days. Our room had a terrace overlooking the golf course. The bathroom had both a bath and stall shower. The stall shower had a rain-forest shower head, along with a hand-held shower head. Our room was at the back of the hotel (facing the golf-course) where things were very quiet.

We found the room, and all areas of the hotel to be nicely decorated and very clean. Every single staff member we encountered, without exception, was very professional, friendly, courteous, helpful, and eager to provide the best of customer service – which they did.

We enjoyed food and drink at several of the hotel’s offerings including Nellie Cashman’s, J. Swilling’s Pool Bar & Grill, the Rim Lobby bar, and the Dreamweaver’s Canyon. They had an interesting menu of specialty drinks, and we liked all those that we tried. Our favorite place, by far, was Dreamweaver’s where you could sit outside on the patio and relax. For cool-nights on the patio, you can sit by the fire-pit or under the gas-fired heat-lamps to stay warm.

The only full meals we had at the hotel were the breakfasts at Nellie Cashman’s (at all the other venues we just had some appetizers and finger-foods). I highly recommend the Southwest Eggs benedict.

Since we are Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) members, we had a choice of some credits. We chose to apply those credits to the $25/day resort fee, which brought it down to $10/day. The resort fee includes WiFi access.

We spent some time pool-side, but because it was rather cool for Arizona while we were there, we didn’t go in the water. I had been eager to try the Lazy River, the slide, and possibly the Flow-Rider, but the cool temps kept me from them. The Mrs. had hoped to enjoy a spa appointment, and was tempted by the menu of service offerings – but unfortunately, there was no time for it.

The hotel offers both valet and self-parking. We chose self-parking since it was a fairly short-walk to the car. Just like checking-in, our check-out was quick and easy with no lines and no hassles. I should point out, that AAA membership gave us a room-rate that seemed to be cheaper than all other options.

We really did not have a single complaint about our stay at the Westin. We plan to return to Arizona in about a year for another family event, and we’re hoping that we’ll be able to stay at the Westin Kierland.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the hotel (golf course). This seemed like it would be quieter than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian11375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and greatly value your feedback while taking the time to write to us.

We are thrilled that you and your wife had an excellent experience. We will be sure to share your kudus with Scott as well as the rest of our team. They will be glad to know that they connected with you in a meaningful way and left a lasting impression on your stay.

Please let us know if you do plan your return visit next year. We would love to welcome the two of you back to the resort!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was there for business and brought my husband along. We had an amazing time. He was able to work from the lobby with the free wifi while enjoying the view if the golf course.

The pools are beautiful and were never overcrowded. The resort is with walking distance of tons of shopping and dinining.

The staff at this place was always very helpful and plesent

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeyprincess66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#2 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing