We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottsdale - Westin Kierland-family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Recently stayed at Westin Kierland hotel resort for a short family trip in December 9-11. Check-in was very easy and hotel room was spacious. Pleasant surprise was listening to the Scottish bagpipes at night playing Christmas carols. Went downstairs to the concierge requesting a local family restaurant that was casual and relaxing for our family, they recommended Cheesecake Factory restaurant which was truly 'just right'. We enjoyed a night drink at the hotel's bar located downstairs and then walked outside to the bonfire at midnight. The hotel room was very clean and quite comfortable to relax. I would certainly come back next year again.

Room Tip: balcony rooms have excellent view of golf course and North Phoenix mountains for beautiful sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We love hearing from our guests and appreciate your candid feedback.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our resort. It sounds as though you and your family had a great visit and we hope that you all left our Resort feeling better than when you arrived.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at the Westin Kierland two nights in December, 2013. Nice property, not outstanding but nice. Staff was very friendly. What was outstanding was the food in Deseo's! Dinner was superb. We were with a group and, I don't know if you can order it off the menu, but the dessert presentation was outstanding. A rich chocolate dessert was rolled to look like a cigar, complete with paper band, a book of matches and a rich chocolate drink all served on a small tray. Everyone at our table was in awe. Also of note, are the chocolate chip scones in Coffee Flats, the small coffee shop off the lobby. They, too, are the best I have ever had. Didn't have a chance to check out the other amenities but there is lots of good golf in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieQ304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Susie,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay and your overall positive experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and greatly value your feedback while taking the time to write to us.

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to dine in deseo during your visit. deseo is a unique dining experience and we are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening in our signature restaurant. The chocolate cigar is a fan favorite and we are glad you think so too!

We hope to see you soon. We will always welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I spend 5 days at this property with a large group earlier this month and I was personally disappointed with the property. There was nothing about the property that made me want to come back.

The service was always acceptable, but just that, acceptable. In fairness there was a standout moment and that would be the waitress in the steak house next to the pro shop. She had a genuine smile and tried her best to satisfy our large group. Unfortunately the food was just acceptable, so that left me flat after the visit.

The food served for our function was always acceptable and timely, but again, just acceptable.

The gym is nice, but not as well equipped as I would expect for a resort property.

The golf course looks nice and a few of the folks in our party played it and stated that it was a nice course.

Daily room service was performed but it was a simple pick up, nothing special. One day they forgot to leave coffee and another they removed the ice bucket. Getting those replaced involved long waits both nights.

There is really nothing bad about the property, but neither is there anything exceptional. It's a pretty average property, with pretty average food and service.

Starwood Gold members don't have access to the club on this property.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room in the main Tower to avoid long walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Please allow us to thank you, first and foremost, for your feedback and for taking the time to write and share the details of what you have experienced during your stay. We take all guest communication very seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay and hope to have an opportunity in the near future to show you just how amazing a getaway to The Westin Kierland can be. If there is ever anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Westin for a work trip from December 7-10. The room was fine. I enjoyed the big balcony. One lamp was missing a switch. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, it was $45.00 for two adults. You can also order off the menu, fresh squeezed orange juice was nice and there were lots of choices. I went to the spa and had a massage and facial. Both services were very good. I enjoyed the whirlpool and steam sauna. My husband played golf and loved the course. It was too cold to swim because of a freak cold snap but I did walk the area. If you have kids, they would enjoy the big pool, the lazy river and the slide. The pool loungers are also tiered which would make it a little nicer if the pool area was crowded. There was also a restaurant by the pool which would make it convenient to get snacks. The coffee shop on site has a deal where you can get a shot of Baileys in your coffee for $5.00. Nice touch if you are on vacation! Overall, I would visit this property again given a choice,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ychick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is detailed comments such as yours that not only help fellow travelers, but assist us in our ongoing effort to provide the absolute best customer service experience. We are sorry for the cold snap you experienced during your stay as even in The Valley of the Sun we do experience a few winter days but it sounds like you were still able to enjoy your time and take advantage of our wonderful Resort amenities. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon and if there is ever anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I recently stayed at this property for a corporate conference. Our group was very impressed with the property and service. The Westin Kierland is beautiful, clean and well appointed. Check in was quick and easy and service remained solid throughout the duration of our program. There is an amazing spa on site as well as a golf course (neither of which I had the luxury of participating in). My favorite element was the location of the property to the shops and restaurants in Kierland Commons across the street. Shopping and dining galore! Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Not a detail was missed during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your time at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. It is our goal to provide excellent and memorable service and we are happy to hear that we achieved this during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We know that many travelers review TripAdvisor prior to making their travel arrangements and we appreciate your positive remarks and recommendation.

We hope you have the opportunity to come visit us again. We would to welcome you back to our Resort.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent the Thanksgiving week at the resort. The weather was a little chilly. The pools were heated so the kids did not mind. The zero entry pool was perfect for the 18 month old. The water slide and lazy river were hits with our 6 year old. However, the Flow Rider stole the show with our 10 and 6 year old. This is a great resort for families. I would also recommend a trail ride with Cave Creek Outfitters. We booked this through the resort. It is about 30 minutes from the resort.

Room Tip: Book the Flow Rider as soon as you get to the resort. The time slots fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olive321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Olive,

Thank you for electing to spend Thanksgiving at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We know there are many excellent resorts around the valley and are elated that you choose to celebrate the holiday with us.

It sounds as though your family had a fun and relaxing time and we hope that many lasting memories were made.

Please let us know if you plan a return visit. We’d love to welcome you back to our Resort the next time you make your way to Arizona.


Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here recently to attend a conference. It really is a wonderful property. The grounds are immaculate, the staff is attentive for the most part. The cold seemed to take everyone by surprise so unfortunately we didn't use the pools but we looked at them and commented on how terrific they looked and how we would have to return to use them. Adult pool and kids pools with a lazy river and rafts that looked like fun. Everything was clean and beautifully maintained. Lots of seating for just reading or lounging. We happened to be here during the Christmas season and the hotel puts on a surreal laser show on the back of the hotel that is reason enough to visit. Quite entertaining. In the evening the firepits were blazing and blankets were handed out. Great place for couples and families. There were just a few reasons I couldn't give it 5 stars. For a luxury hotel, I thought the towels were small, the toilet paper was similar to sandpaper and the sheets were a bit rough. Yes, these are small things but I travel a lot and notice the little things. Doors are thin so any noise in the hallway is assured to be a wakeup call. Lots of banging in the morning from housekeeping on other doors. Sleeping in probably isn't an option. BUT I will say that always left a tip for housekeeping each morning and I ALWAYS got a very sweet thank you note. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Vicki,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent visit to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We value receiving feedback from our guests and appreciate that you took the time to provide us with yours.

We are thrilled to hear that you had enjoyed your time at our Resort amidst a busy conference schedule. Our Holiday PaintScaping show has become a favorite for both our out-of-town guests and local visitors and we are glad that you agree!

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,603 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £172 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing