We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What going Green means...or meant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I've been staying at Westins (and their chain) for several years. Kierland is one of my favorites. Fairly recently they have the option to "Go Green" in all their hotels. Originally promoted as not changing your linens (sheets, towels, etc.), this has become something else. The original theory was by reusing your towels and sheets, the Westin (and by extension the guests) were saving millions of gallons of water and millions of gallons of soap into the ecosystem and saving energy by cutting down on their laundry load. Responsible and sensible, and you get either a $5 voucher or points for each day you go green. The last stay was different. Now it means no room make up at all, no replenishing coffee, coffee cups, no trash removal, etc. Being responsible for reduced impact on the environment is what I signed up for. Now it seem the "Go Green" means Westin can be extremely cheap and put more "Green" in their pocket. This simple deception has me thinking about the Hyatt chain as my new go to resort group. It's sad when corporations pervert the intent of a great idea. How does not emptying the trash become environmentally responsible?

Room Tip: Consider another chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelGuy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal Starwood Preferred Member. We value your loyalty to the Westin brand and appreciate that you elected to stay at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa during your recent visit to Arizona.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our “Make a Green Choice” program. It is never our goal to take away from our guests’ luxury resort experience and we apologize that this had a negative impact on your stay. We will be sure to share your feedback in regard to the program with our management team and review the areas of opportunity that you have highlighted.

Again, thank you for your sincere feedback as it assists us with our ongoing efforts to enhance our guests’ experience.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

For a family vacation we enjoyed this property. The lazy river and pool side service gave our entire family something to look forward to. The hotel staff were friendly and willing to accommodate any special request. There was convenient self parking. The hotel grounds were in need of some consistent cleaning as cigarette butts seemed to be everywhere in the front of the property. The resort was appropriate for business and families alike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Todd,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay and your overall positive experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and greatly value your feedback while taking the time to write to us.

We are elated to hear that our staff made a lasting impression during your stay. Our associates take great pride in delivering high levels of service for our Resort guests, and it was truly a pleasure to provide you with a memorable experience.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We took our 2 kids (8 and 6) here for a spring break trip. The hotel absolutely exceeded expectations. Nice room, beautiful outdoor areas, great kids pool, and many fun activities for the kids. The hotel complex itself is directly adjacent to two beautiful outdoor shopping areas with great stores and restaurants (we spent 2 nights at these restaurants -- good alternatives to the hotel restaurants). My kids particularly enjoyed the outdoor OK Corral area in the hotel that had a small basketball court for pickup games, a life-size chess board for kids to play chess, ping pong tables, and a fire pit. The kids pool is a bit crowded but there is a water slide (a bit slow), a lazy river (a little too lazy), a great hot tub that the kids loved, and a surfing simulator (Flow Rider), the outdoor bar/restaurant next to the pool was very convenient. Restaurants were very solid -- breakfast place was great (although quite pricey) and the Deseo restaurant was really outstanding. You can use this hotel as a nice base to do a bunch of day or half-day trips -- we spent one day in Sedona (2 hours away) and morning hikes in each of Camelback Mt (20 min), Sonoran Desert Preserve (10 min), and Pinnacle Peak (20 min). I didn't personally use the spa, but my wife loved it and didn't have too much trouble getting an appointment, even at a very crowded time. Overall a great experience for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us over Spring Break. It sure sounds like your family had a wonderful time exploring the Resort as well as the surrounding area for hikes and day trips. We want to thank you for the excellent feedback and glad you were able to have so much FUN. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Kierland in the future and if there is ever anything we can do to help you plan a perfect getaway please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Westin Kierland is a nice upscale resort in Scottsdale but a study in contrasts. We enjoyed a delicious dinner, a spa day and spent two nights this month in a room with a gorgeous view of the golf course. From the moment we walked into the lobby, we thought we had found another local runaway from the cares of the world. Our spa day was excellent, as was the service by the adult pool just off the spa. Dinner that evening was at Deseo, a fine dining restaurant on the property with a South American flare. Having spent some time in Columbia, South America, we could not wait to give the place a try. The food was delicious, the service less than stellar. Our waiter, (maybe he was having a bad night or not) was accommodating but had a chip on his shoulders. He was indifferent, and carried himself in the smug manner of someone not happy with the fact that he is serving dinner to guests, and didn't own the restaurant.

As frequent local and international travelers, we try many resorts throughout the year, and this one came up short. The grounds are a disappointment, especially by the spa. Landscaping is non-existent, with bushes and shrubs an over-grown mess. Nothing visually appealing outdoors except for the restaurant off the main lobby. If you are a golfer, the course has more sand-traps than we have ever seen before.

The room we were given we paid an extra $15 charge for an upgraded deluxe room which had a shower that did not drain; however, the view was lovely and we enjoyed the room.

The pool attendants were exceptional. We never lacked for water, a cocktail or their service.

In closing, Deseo and the grounds were disappointing...will we go back...maybe...but with so many other options in Scottsdale, Arizona...you decide....

Room Tip: Room 8059 is away from the main drag and overlooks the golf course. The room was very nice and we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share about your recent experience. We understand that our restaurant manager has followed up with you in regard to the feedback you have provided. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and thank you for the opportunity to speak with you directly.

Please let us know if you plan a return visit. We hope that we might have an opportunity to make this experience up to you so that you have no reservations to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a conference and had a fine experience at this wonderful resort.

Pros: 1.) Service and professionalism are top notch at this establishment. The staff work very hard to ensure your stay and experience are memorable. 2.) The view of the place is absolutely gorgeous. Well kept resort with an amazing ambience. 3.) The pool/spa/lazy river are well worth the visit to this place. I have never seen anything quite like this spa/pool arrangement with lifeguards to provide safety. 4.) Location, tons of shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance to the resort.

Cons: 1.) Price. I came here for a conference and honestly if the conference was not here, I would not come. Let's be honest, the average American would have hard time justifying the cost of one night here, when they could pay that same price and that would equal 3-5 nights elsewhere. Maybe I am being practical or maybe this is the millionaire's club, but for the average Joe this is steep. 2.) TV. I enjoy chilling and relaxing in the room. But when your TV is outdated and difficult to control (buttons were harder than Chinese calclulus) this brings my experience down a bit.

Overall wonderful experience with great staff and pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lionel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, first and foremost, for sharing the details of your recent stay and your overall positive experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and greatly value your feedback while taking the time to write to us.

We are elated to hear that our staff made a lasting impression during your stay. Our associates take great pride in delivering high levels of service for our Resort guests, and it was truly a pleasure to provide you with a memorable experience.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night business trip. Awesome hotel. Rooms are very nice and rather large. The outdoor areas are absolutely wonderful. A pool area with a lazy river and flowrider. The fire pit areas are a great place to wind down the evening. The golf courses were beautiful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank sc_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip. It sounds like despite being here for work you were able to enjoy some of our wonderful amenities such as the lazy river, FlowRider and Dreamweavers Canyon. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Kierland soon next time your travels bring you to The Valley of the Sun.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Was this the best hotel I've ever stayed at? No.

Was this a really nice hotel with a lot of activities, pools, restaurants, and great location near great hiking, biking, and excellent shopping? Why yes!

I was able to join my husband for a convention that was being held at the Westin Kierland. We paid the extra $25 a day "resort fee" to be able to get in on some of the daily activities (yoga) at the hotel that would normally have a fee, and to be able to have in room internet access, as well as to be able to take the shuttles to two nearby shopping areas. I think it was probably worth getting.

A feature the Westin Kierland offers is to "Go Green" and forgo your room servicing. In turn you get $5 to spend on food at any of the hotel restaurants or to be used in their golf shop, etc . . . They put it in very small print at the bottom of the Go Green door card that they do not come in your room at all. So if you want coffee or more soap, etc . . . you have to call and they will send someone up with it.

The opportunities for families seemed endless, and I wish we would have brought our kids. They had organized activities, play areas, a lazy river, flow rider (for surfing and body boarding), and a water slide.

One of the highlights of each day was sitting in the outdoor seating area watching the sunset as a gentleman would play the bag pipes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissaMoorhead_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Melissa,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. It sounds as though you had the opportunity to experience many of our Resort’s signature amenities and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed each one.

Please let us know if you plan another trip to Arizona. We would love to welcome you and your husband back as our guest.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,551 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £164 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing