We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little else to ask for!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful property, great shopping within a short walk, numerous excellent restauarant on-site and near by. Golf, pools, spa, children activities. a Bagpiper at sunset tops it off, Arrive 10-15 mins before he starts, get a toddy and listen to the music.

lots of activities available on site and plenty of off-site adventures available..

Room Tip: if you can get a suite at the villa's, worth it. gives access to more pools and a less "lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripopinonsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit. We are thrilled that you had a great experience and had the opportunity to enjoy our signature Scottish Pipes at Sunset series. The bagpiper is a favorite for both our local and out of town visitors and we are glad that you agree!

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful and that was great but what made our vacation perfect was the staff at the hotel.Everyone and I mean everyone was helpful and pleasant .Everywhere we went people were smiling telling us to have a great stay and could they do anything for us. The rooms and hotel itself were immaculate. The amenities were great. The prices and the food was exceptional and we couldn't have had a better time. our special thanks goes to Nick and DJ at the pool who really stood out I have already recommended this hotel to our friends and will definitely return when we visit Az again Thanks for a spectacular vacation

Room Tip: we had a room facing the golf course wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Norman,
On behalf of everyone at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to post your candid comments on TripAdvisor. Guest service is a top priority for us and hearing your feedback is a delight. We will definitely make sure that Nick and DJ out at the pool know how appreciative you are! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to sunny Scottsdale and if there is ever anything we can do to assist you in having another spectacular vacation, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Clean comfy rooms. Amazing staff. Beautiful resort with a breathtaking entrance of waterfalls and golf club. Amazing well maintained golf course. They had a great waterpark - i wish i brought my kids. I Will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank jamilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share details about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that many lasting memories were made.

Please let us know when you plan your return visit. We cannot wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This Resort is completely sorted - everything thought of, but at a price. So how to enjoy the luxury without blowing the budget? Your planning should start with your booking, as there are deals to be had - we got 3nights for the price of two as well as free breakfast (that's worth $50 a day for two people). You can stoke-up on the breakfast, take a piece of fruit and skip lunch. If you are really tight, there is a Safeway supermarket half a mile westwards with wonderful fruit and excellent wines (Kim Crawford NZ Sav Blanc at $9.99 a go, just remember your Safeway Club Card to get the discount. Not got one? Just go to Customer Services and ask to apply; they will give you an activated card straight away).
The concierge will try to get you on their tour of the timeshares. Don't run screaming, just do it - it will save you 20% on all your food bills and you don't need to buy any property! Internet, mostly free in hotels these days, costs $12 a day, but there is a Starbucks in the next-door shopping complex, so free Wifi again! If you just need to check-in with your airline, there is a free service on the PCs in the Business Centre (and you can print boarding passes at the same time).
If all this sounds too much trouble, just get a large single malt Scotch from the Whisky Library, listen to the bagpiper as the sun goes down, and thank the gods of Mammon for the opportunity to share this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slippersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We understand that many individuals review TripAdvisor prior to making their travel arrangements and we appreciate your candid feedback and recommendation.

Please let us know if you plan a return visit. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a family reunion at this hotel over the Memorial Day weekend and it was the perfect place. The ages of our party ranged from 61 down to our two year year grand-daughter. The attraction of this hotel is that it can accommodate the needs of such a wide age range. The main pool is very toddler friendly and the activities ranging from making a stuffed animal to bubble blowing kept our two year old enthralled. The adult pool let us get away from the hectic environs of the family pool while we all enjoyed the lazy river. The hotel is also centrally located. It is true, as one reviewer noted, that the hotel is near a major shopping center and surrounded on three sides by residential neighborhoods. This is, however, a positive, not a negative. The fourth side of the hotel is a golf course which creates the feeling that you are staying in an isolated resorted. Yet, if you want to go to Old Town for dinner or go shopping at Kierland Plaza, these places are either a short walk or a car drive away. You are not trapped or stuck with eating all your meals at the hotel's restaurants (which, in the case of the Westin are fine, but we prefer to diversity and explore new restaurants). The only reason I have not given the hotel five stars is that the rooms are nothing special. Basically the same rooms you get at a Westin hotel. Also, due to the configuration of the hotel, all of our rooms were relatively dark.
Nevertheless, i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Stewart,

Thank you for posting a review and sharing feedback about your recent stay. We believe that feedback is a powerful tool and we appreciate that you took the time to provide us with yours.

We would also like to thank you for electing to host your family reunion at our Resort. We recognize that there are many excellent resorts in Scottsdale and are honored that choose The Westin Kierland as your destination. We truly value your business and are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a memorable experience.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great resort. The whole family loved it. Our 3 oldest are boys and had a great time. There is a gaming pavilion with ping pong, basketball, fusball, and I think a giant checker board. They spent a ton on time here, more time here than at the pool. This was the best part of the resort for them. They did love the flowboard, but it's ridiculously expensive and honestly, the time on the board is pretty limited. You pay for an hour, but share than hour with 5 or 6 other people. Having paid for 3 people, this was pretty frustrating. The waterslide was ok or my younger kids, but not the older. Honestly, the waterslide was pretty weak. The lazy river was fun, my kids really enjoyed the sandy beach and zero entry, but the area was very small and crowded. Had that area been larger or fewer people there, it would've been great. The rooms were great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank With5KidsInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent family vacation and providing some feedback from your time here. It sounds like everyone was able to find something they like and take advantage of our many outdoor amenities such as games in the OK Corral, pools and of course the Kierland FlowRider. We are sorry to hear that you felt there was not enough time in the hour on our magical wave. All of our lifeguards at FlowRider take pride in teaching and development of every rider to create a memorable hour.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your entire family back in the future and if there is ever anything we can assist you with in planning that perfect Westin Kierland getaway you can reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

DH, DD 10 and I only stayed here one night but we wished we could have stayed longer. We really liked this resort. I rated it as excellent because everything was great for us. It is a big and busy resort so that might not appeal to many but it is a resort where you can come and just enjoy the resort itself. Check in was fast. Staff was welcoming and gracious. Our king room was large, well-furnished, on a high floor and overlooking the golf course (awesome view). I mentioned at check-in that we either needed a roll-away for our daughter or the pull-out made up. The front desk staffer said the pull-out would be made up right away. He wasn't kidding. By the time we arrived up to the room a few minutes later with our luggage, housekeeping was finishing the last tuck in on the pull-out sheets.

We pretty much dropped everything and quickly changed so we could spend a little time playing in the various pools before they closed. We enjoyed the lazy river. The water temp was good and while not huge the lazy river was nice. Adults will enjoy the fact that the river passes a poolside bar so you can put your feet down for a few minutes and get a cocktail for the next float around the circuit. The main pool was large. It was late in the day so we had no problem finding a place to sit. There are a lot of kids but it is a resort that caters to families and is expected. The family-orientation is one of the things that made this resort stand out for me. In fact, at the time of day we were at the pool there was a very large group of men, friends who appeared to be there to play golf from what I gathered. They were having a good time but they were louder and at times cruder than any of the kids in the pool. So with the exception of the brat throwing a ball in the pool I actually prefer kids playing than a gaggle of heavy drinking loud laughing guys with a saucy vocabulary. They did not bother us and like I said were just having fun but kids aren't always the worse pool visitors.

Now I will say this - every pool we went in in AZ (Four Seasons, Enchantment and Westin) had kids throwing balls to other kids or parents and when they did so they did so across the entire pool so that it was virtually impossible to swim without risk of being hit. I found this annoying and rude esp on the parents part. It hit the fan at the Westin. As I got into the pool and started to make my way to my family a ball hit the water fairly hard inches from me and skipped a few times almost hitting my husband. Not cool. As we were talking about this latest pool ball incident my husband saw a lady then throw the ball out of the pool. The 11-13 yr-old boy was angry (same kid that almost hit us) and went to tattle to his mom. She came down and started griping to the lady who we heard explain she had twice been hit by the ball already and once it caused her to spill her drink and she'd addressed the kid. Well this mom continued to piss on the lady. I almost joined in support of the lady because the boy and mom were in the wrong. Made for some pool drama. It is fine if people want to play ball like that but they should be considerate (not hit people, apologize profusely if they accidently do and not usurp the entire pool). I digress.

After our swim we went by the OK Corral where they have kid activities. It was Friday night so S'mores night. Lots of choices beyond the usual graham cracker and hersheys (although that was a choice). It was an activity included in our resort fee so we roasted a coupe of marshmallows but heading back to the room.

While we were getting ready for dinner we heard a bagpiper playing so sat on our balcony with a glass of wine at sunset listening to him for a while before heading out. Tons of restaurants very close by if you don't want to dine in the hotel.

After dinner out was returned to the hotel just in time for their outdoor show and light show. It isn't super long but it was very well done. Glad we caught it. They project various images on the building - such as an image that makes the building look like it is crumbling. Maybe that sounds odd but you have to see it - quite fun. We watched the snakes in the displays in the bar a bit before returning to the room for the night. We checked out the next morning to catch a flight home.

The only 2 things I noticed during our short stay that I would change are these: put mini Keurigs in the room instead of the coffee maker you have because the coffee pods supplied don't fit properly and it doesn't make as good a cup as a Keurig (which we had not only at Four Seasons and Enchantment but also at El Tovar in GCNP). Also tell the guy from housekeeping not to try to enter people's rooms at 9 am with his key to restock the mini-bar and water. Too early to be doing that! Otherwise we really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely stay at the Westin again. In fact we might even visit just to have a mini vacation at the resort itself so we could take full advantage of this resort in its beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akgirl51997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for providing such a thorough recap of your recent stay. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and greatly value your feedback as it is not only an asset to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor but a tool used by our entire management team.

It sounds like you had a great time exploring the Resort and was able to take advantage of the amenities during your time with us including the nightly bagpiper and our Star-Spangled Sundown PaintScaping show.

We hope you had a nice tour of the West Coast during your vacation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort as our special guest. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,551 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#19 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £164 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing