We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOOD BUT NOT EXCEPTIONAL”

Marco's Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Marco's Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #420 of 1,243 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Max Reservation 8. More than 8 requires several days of notice and a set menu. Authentic Italian Cuisine made to order using many organic & natural ingredients. No msg, no preservatives, no food coloring.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD BUT NOT EXCEPTIONAL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Dined wiith my wife( for her birthday) and Father in Law at the restaurant and found the food good but not exeptional. The food as it should is prepared to order but the wait periods were long for two pasta dishes and one veal dish. The staff is friendly but needs some training specially when the custumer is waiting a long time with little or nothing to do. Personaly my pasta bolognese was acceptable but not a reason to return ( Maggianos is better) and the tauted organic salad nothing special. Honestly, i had hoped to find another exceptional Italian restaurant like Tesoro just down the street but was disapointed. i wish Marco's success and hope they can improve.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSEPIENKNAGURA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco B, Owner at Marco's Italian Bistro, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you sir for your review. I will work hard to make the improvements you suggested. By the way, I agree with you that Tesoro is a good restaurant. I hope Scottsdale will have more small family-owned businesses like Tesoro & Marco's, we need more of such places and maybe a little less of the giant corporate-style places. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem of a Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

What a pleasant surprise as friends and I enjoyed the pasta bolognese; which was as good or better than most 5star restaurants.
Our appetizer of calamari was so tender and delicious. Veal was our main course with great flavor and was very tender.
Marco came out and visited with us as we enjoyed our dinner.
I definitely recommed this hidden restaurant on the NE side of 114th Street just north of Shea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco B, Owner at Marco's Italian Bistro, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you Patricia for your nice review. We work incredibly hard here to make this place possible. It makes me very happy to read that every once in a while we do something right! :)
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I celebrated Valentines Day at Marco's. We live very nearby and decided to give them a try. Being Valentines Day it was a booked place and we had a 5:30 pm reservation. We were shown to our table and then pretty sorta ignored by the place. The food was very good and you can tell it is homemade and it is reasonably priced. The atmosphere isn't too much but it is comfortable. We'll go again to see what the service is like on a non- holiday evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffbo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
312 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice quiet family Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We got to experience this cozy, casual neighborhood place with friends from the area. Enjoyed bread with a complimentary roasted garlic in warm oilve oil for dipping. 4 adults shared 2 large antipasto dishes - very nice. Main courses were large and came with sides. I took home my salad as my fresh fish dish was delicious and very filling. Eggplant Parm was good as was a pasta dish with a flavorful Italian sausage. After eating out all week as "tourist" it was a fun and relaxing evening at reasonable prices! Great wait staff!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgal617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
273 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great food with a neighborhood atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Marcos has excellent, home-cooked Italian food at very reasonable prices. Our family has been going there quite frequently since discovering it a few months ago. An added benefit is that children eat for free. Definitely recommended for those who love Italian food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco's Italian Bistro also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Marco's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing