We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night at Sol Cocina”
Review of Sol Cocina

Sol Cocina
Ranked #253 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
403 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fun night at Sol Cocina”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lively, fun restaurant. The margarita was good, but seemed a bit small. (But don't they always seem too small??) Holden was our server and he is excellent. His suggestions were spot on. We loved the fish dishes; the fish was super fresh and the preparation was genius.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    56
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Upscale southwest cuisine”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived for lunch around 1:00 on March 15th and were seated right away at table 48/1. Excellent food and the service was fast but our waiter clearly was over worked or just did not want to be there. It was the start of our vacation so it just didn't sit right with us. This restaurant was at the top of the Tripadvisor list but needs a bit of work in the friendly department. When you go, and you should, give yourselves time to find a parking place, and there are also parking garages around. Lunch with a grumpy waiter: $71.79 and we still left a nice tip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHILRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I don't get it.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We picked this place based on all the great reviews but boy was it a disappointment. Without exception, the dishes ordered by our party of four were mediocre at best. Anyone who thinks that this food approaches true Baja cuisine has never been to there. My fish tacos were pretty tasteless. Ditto for the chicken and carnitas tacos. My $18 grande Marg recommended by the server had almost no tequila in it. The bread pudding dessert was hard as a rock, but they took it off the check after we pointed this out. Add to that the inattentive service and our server not being overly knowledgable about ingredients. But at least the decibel level was louder than a Rolling Stones concert. Stay away. There are much better Mexican places in metro Phoenix.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mutt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
331 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A creative place for Mexican food”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I always rate a restaurant based on atmosphere, service, food quality and value and SOL Cocina met most of my expectations. It is a very lively place, stylishly decorated and has a nice outdoor bar and dining area. Our margaritas were tasty and the basket of (whole) baked tortilla (not chips) and salsas were a nice start. The enchiladas and specialty tacos were excellent and seasoned perfectly. The only food disappointment was the pork carnitas which was nicely cooked and smoked but low on flavor. Service was excellent and not counting the margaritas, a pretty good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mywinetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Non-Traditional Mexican Fare”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After a wonderful Thanksgiving, the in-laws decided they wanted Mexican food. While Phoenix and Scottsdale has many fine restaurants I was tired of the same old chimis and tacos and so decided to try SOL. Sadly it seem the in-laws wanted chimichangas and such. They settled and were relatively happy. My meal was excellent. They have many kinds of guacamole. We chose the naked. Well made, flavorful and tasty. The chips are different in that they are whole small tortillas. A little harder to work with but home made. My wife had the ceviche sol. Fresh fish, lime, chilis and very good. She also had the shrimp taco dorado and loved them. Being a carnitas fan, I ordered these and they were a hit. Tender pork served with onions and all the goodies. The sauces were different and again very good. Father in law had a quesadea that could have fed three people.

All in all a very good meal. Attentive staff. Very low lighting so bring a flash lite to read the menu. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol Cocina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sol Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing