We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Cocina

Sol Cocina
Ranked #182 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very good service. Very good food. We had lunch at Sol Cocina on a warm Saturday. We chose the inside seating since it was 102 degrees outside. Sol had misters outside that were effective.There is some traffic noise.

I had the corn poblano and mushroom taco plate which with a side of rice and cabbage salad. I eat large portions and this was surprisingly satisfying. The flavor was outstanding with no added hot sauce or salt. My wife had hot and raw tropical ceviche and thought it was excellent. My Watermelon Margarita was good but the watermelon was a bit too subtle for me. My wife's Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita was really something special.

I would go here again. It's top notch and you pay for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZMtnExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    54
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is not your run of the mill Tex Mex. The meals are authentic and the ingredients are fresh. Try the ceviche sol appetizer which is almost a meal. The warm goat cheese appetizer with salted peanuts and chipotle sauce is wonderful comfort food.

The tacos are all good. The chicken enchilada entree was loaded with tender chicken.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had arrived early in the day for a business conference and the 5 of us were very hungry. Even though they didn't open until 11 AM, they let us sit at the outside bar with some beers while they set up for opening. When we ordered lunch it was fantastic, I had two different kinds of Shrimp Tacos, one had Garlic Shrimp and the other Beer Battered Shrimp, both in warm, soft corn tortillas. Very pleasant surroundings with an inside/outside bar and a large selection of premium Tequila. Next time I'm in Scottsdale I will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barski42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Amazing food! Best authentic Mexican food! Fresh, fantastic margaritas! Go online and book your reservation-it's much easier than calling and hoping to get a table or going without one!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsouthernspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
661 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Fresh take on Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Enjoyed sitting at the bar outside having dinner last night. They serve specialty dishes -- street tacos, entrees beyond enchiladas and burritos. I had a couple of the street tacos, one that had beef, chicken and one with fried shrimp. They were both really good! The specialty margaritas were yummy too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol Cocina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sol Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing