We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you'd expect and great staff service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
White Lake, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Everything you'd expect and great staff service”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just completed a four-night stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Our stay got off to a rocky start as the first room we were assigned was across the hall from a dog that barked all night long causing my wife and I to wake up periodically when we were tired coming off a cross country flight.

We were able to get our room switched the following morning. In addition, the first room had mattresses that were hard as a rock. The second room was still very firm but seemed a little softer. The staff did tell us they replaced all the mattresses late last summer, so perhaps they're still breaking in. I did find it strange as I've stayed in Holiday Inns and HI Express properties all over the country and never found the mattresses to be so firm.

But aside from that I have no complaints. This hotel gives you a ton of extras - not just the awesome HI breakfast with the delicious cinnamon rolls every day, but lemonade in the afternoon, a manager's reception with free beer and snacks in the evening, and milk and cookies at night. Staff here is real friendly too, everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeeping greets you. The pool is kind of small, but outside of that, if you get a good rate this is a great property. They give you a ton of extras, and don't charge the resort fees like most every place in Scottsdale does.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
fjnovak1,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the noise disturbance you and your wife encountered the first night. I’m pleased to hear that our staff accommodated your request to move. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, our friendly staff and the wonderful variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

General Manager,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    291
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
216
297
67
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Puente, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Holiday Inn in Scottsdale is wonderful. We stopped in Scottsdale, on our way to Tucson, for one night, to visit our friends and to celebrate my birthday. It is located really close to Old Town, and they even offer a shuttle service to Old Town, which we did not use, but thought it was a nice suggestion. We had dinner at Bandera's, with our friends, and enjoyed ourselves, and came back to spend the night in our beautiful Suite.

As Priority Members we were made to feel welcome immediately, and were given a nice goody bag to take back to our room, along with water. Breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed eating in such a clean and nice dining area.We have stayed at many Holiday Inn's, but this has to be one of the best one's yet, but have to admit one of the most expensive, but worth the cost. Keep up the good work. Thank you for having such professional and friendly staff, the two youngmen at the counter that afternoon, were great~.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor no noise at all~
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fressia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Fressia,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We’re happy to have been a part of your birthday celebration, and we’re glad you had a wonderful stay. I’m pleased to hear you felt well taken care of by our staff during your visit. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

For the price this is a great deal great beds free decent breakfast in the morning and great customer service and no problem parking this is awesome as far as nice location must see old Scottsdale the beds were very comfy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy7496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
randy7496,
It’s wonderful to hear from you and receive such kind comments about our great hotel, friendly service and comfortable accommodations. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was very clean, in a great location,and not only do they provide a welcome bag at check-in, but they offer complimentary milk and cookies, a manager's reception with complimentary beer, wine, soda, and free WIFI. I did not try the breakfast,but there was quite a variety to choose from. If you are planning on going out in Old Town, they provide complimentary shuttle service within a 5-mile radius. This is a wonderful hotel to stay at and a great alternative to a resort.

Room Tip: The Suites are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktx05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
ktx05,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. It’s wonderful to hear that our clean hotel, great location and value added amenities exceeded your expectations. We’re glad you had a pleasant stay with us, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Beautiful facility and friendly staff. Suite was really nice, even had some paper plates, plastic eating utensils, etc. so we could warm up our left overs from lunch. Nice coffee/tea bar 24/7, managers reception nightly, nice fitness room, and the pool area was very nice. Breakfast was great-you really couldn't ask for more. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Shuttle driver back to the airport was great, didn't catch her name, but she said she was going to school for business and usally worked the pm shift. Very nice and friendly-really gave great service!! Tip: Great restaurant accross the street called "Oregeno's".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Kathy H,
Thank you for your review. It’s wonderful to receive your kind comments about our beautiful hotel and friendly staff. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found your suite clean, comfortable and well stocked with all the necessities for warming leftovers. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Scottsdale, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Between my husband and I, I am usually the hotel snob who doesn't like his choices. I was pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn Express in Scottsdale near Old Town. We stayed there for 1 night in order to catch an early morning flight out of Phoenix.

The room layout was perfect for our party of 5 (2 queen beds in the main part of the room with a sofa pull-out in a den area that could be separated from the main part of the room via a pair of french doors). This layout allowed the kids to sleep in the main room while the adults stayed up later in the den area.

Service was excellent, and the place was super clean. It must have been recently renovated, because I found it to be actually quite nice -- I actually felt like I was in a "nice" 3-star hotel (even though it's only a 2-star hotel).

The only thing I wasn't too keen on was the breakfast that was included, but you don't go to pre-flight hotel for the breakfast offerings.

The price was unbeatable -- what a fantastic deal. Awesome way to end our 1-week vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooseinthegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Gooseinthegrass,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I’m delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations with our clean hotel, spacious rooms, and excellent service. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

friendly greeting by a helpful and attentive front desk, clean comfortable large room, great breakfast, facilities of a higher category hotel. if you are traveling on a budget, this is a great place to stay in the Phoenix area. Minutes from Oldtown with it's art galleries, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
russavi,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I’m glad to hear you liked our hotel and enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate your recommendation of our great hotel to future travelers, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Trish Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,622 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Scottsdale - Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing