We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The room was comfortable for a family of five. The staff at the front desk did a great job of recommending a restaurant and giving directions to places I needed to visit. The children enjoyed the pool and the hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansas_traveler38815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
kansas_traveler38815,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express. I’m happy to hear of your comfortable stay with us, and your appreciation of our staff. We're delighted to have had you and your family as our guests, and I'm pleased to know your kids had a good time in the pool and hot tub! We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again for more family fun. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    291
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
218
298
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is an all-suite property. It is not the newest, but is well maintained and does not show any serious ageing issues.

The check-in clerk was efficient, but with a kind of an attitude at the begining. He then noticed and acknowledged I was a Platinum PC member, after which he became more friendly. All other front desk staff were very professional and friendly as well as staff serving drinks and snacks in the afternoon.

I was upgraded to a top-floor pool view double queen suite. The suite awaited me with the A/C on, which is usually not the case in hotels. With temperatures around 110 I really appreciated it. The suite was great, really spacious, comfortable, it even had a small balcony overlooking the pool in the backyard. The suite was clean, but the balcony could use a cleaning.

The hotel features "manager's happy hour" in the afternoons during the week, when they serve complimentary snacks, beer and wine. Once they are done with that, they serve cookies and milk. Both of these are a nice touch!

Went to use the pool on both of my nights. It is not very large, but was clean and nice as well.

Breakfast was the HIE standard, the breakfast room is large, so there are no problems with morning overcrowding.

The propery is minutes drive from Scottsdale Oldtown, very conveniently located. If you need a nice place in the area, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are great as the backyard is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Slo-Lju,
Thank you for your review and high recommendations of our great hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. I’m pleased to hear you found our suites to be spacious, comfortable and clean during your visit. Your valuable feedback provides us with both positive comments and opportunities for improvement. We value your feedback and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I loved this place guys; I will come back here. The not so good: some kids in the hall making noise (not the hotel's fault), cramped breakfast/manager's reception area. The good: plenty of parking, great location to Scottsdale sites (mall, fast food, freeway, ballpark, grocery stores),
huge room/suite with lcd tv w/good cable, fridge, micro, sofa with cup holder divider, cool room, decent bathroom, swimming pool outside,
and separate sink area. The really good: ultra fast internet (got great streaming and downloads), comfortable bed, great breakfast, near several Scottsdale area Casinos (Talking Stick and Casino Arizona), and fun manager's reception each day (beer, popcorn, nachos, chex mix, soft drinks), and great service. I loved it, please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for any special things you may need, with so much to do plan your activities well, take advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
bandit004,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate your kind comments about our convenient location, excellent service, as well as our comfortable and spacious accommodations. We are proud to offer such a wonderful variety of amenities to our guests. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I've been traveling back and forth to Phoenix on a weekly basis for the last month........and I'll continue to do so, for the next few months.

I've stayed at the various Holiday Inns (in the area). I keep coming back to this one........
Its kind of becoming my home away from home.

The rooms are pretty spacious. Microwave and fridge included! There is a door that closes between the bedrooms and living area. Its kind of nice if you have guests. There are also two TVs in each room. Some of the rooms have balconies - another plus! For the most part, the hotel is pretty quiet.

The staff is pretty nice. They always have a smile on their faces when they see you!

Breakfast is continental. Standard fare of fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, eggs, cereal, etc. I love the pancake machine and the fresh baked cinnamon rolls. Free drinks for Happy hour with chips & nachos & popcorn.

Best of all - Fresh baked cookies at night with milk!!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Patricia L,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your weekly travels from Phoenix. I’m pleased to hear that our spacious accommodations, friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and fresh baked cookies make for an enjoyable stay that keeps bringing you back. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel in Scottsdale as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I will keep this short. EXCELLENT SERVICE, PRICE ,AND LOCATION! Though I traveled with two other adults we decided on this location due to price and how close it was to Old Town. Walking 10 minutes and we were in the middle of Old Town. Rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and the list continues. Of course the 1 bed suites are the best.

Hotel: Great pool (take a ice chest to have cold drinks by the pool), great happy hour with snacks and beer. Yes free beer every afternoon with nachos, chips, etc and finish it off with cookies. Though it is not a resort compared to others but decided we stayed at this location because we were treated like family. I forgot his name but a African American young male who works the shuttle and happy hour made out stay pleasant. Visiting from Los Angeles, CA he gave us detailed information on the areas and when and how to get there (since we didn't want to drive).

There are Golf Carts (not a taxi because they are expensive) that can be found everywhere for pick up and drop off to the Hotel. Big Red Ride are quick trips to Old Town, Fashion Square, etc.

Room Tip: First Floor by the pool so you can walk back & fourth to pool for snacks & drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL_GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
EL_GQ,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our excellent service, great location, and the wonderful variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. I’ll be certain to pass along your complimentary feedback to our team. Thank you again for writing. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Needed a place for business for two weeks. Picked the express as I am a priority member. Got on late and received a room in the corner, little view. Nice breakfast if you can get to it. Today there was a bus and chaos was everywhere at the breakfast area. It looks good but I was just in the way trying to eat so I left. The staff is awesome and work very hard. I tip so I make a sure the room maids, and evening reception get what they deserve. Nice wine and beer at night. At the pool, like being there but has been dirty at the bottom everyday. Not sure it gets skimmed everyday. Lots of foreigners staying here and they are not very social so expect rudeness from them. Overall, stay here, with my travels, you will be happy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Vikes54,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town on business. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, our evening reception, as well as our friendly and hardworking staff. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially about areas where we can improve. I sincerely apologize for the frustrations you encountered at breakfast. In addition, I have discussed your comments about the cleanliness of the pool with our staff and I assure you that we will take your comments into consideration to improve our property. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Lake Shores, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

the staff was very friendly and eager to please. shuttle service was wonderful, offered to take you anywhere. recommend going! rooms were very nice and clean, all rooms are suites with nice tvs in both rooms including dividing doors. refridgerators and microwaves are also in room

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Lisa M,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback about our great hotel and friendly staff. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, our complimentary shuttle service, as well as our clean and comfortable accommodations. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,636 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Scottsdale - Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing