We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, Conveniently Located and Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Three ladies from my family were in Scottsdale for an event and just needed a decent place to sleep at night. We chose to stay here because 1) it is conveniently located away from the center of Old Town Scottsdale, yet close enough to the Fashion Square mall and to the stores and restaurants in Old Town, 2) the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to these locations and 3) the hotel has suites, meaning we could each have our own bed.

All 3 expectations were met and I would have rated this place a tad higher (but still average) had we not experienced some service issues. Our room window would not shut and we had 2 nights of poor sleep due to the noise from outside traffic. We reported this on the second night but there was no one on-site to repair it. Front desk tried in vain. When we alerted the manager about this at check-out, he offered our adult party of 3 a $10 gift voucher towards their gift shop which we declined, he offered $20 but we said no, thanks! No regrets there because when we did check out the gift shop on our way out, it only had chips and other snacks. I did not see any souvenirs or 'gifts' in the GIFTshop.

Our room was clean and had all the basic amenities. It had a leaking sink which they came in to repair but it was still leaking when we left.
The staff were courteous.
The pictures on the hotel website make it look more grand but the facility is small - 1 small elevator and 3 floors.
Breakfast and Happy Hour were very basic but that is all okay since the room rates were fair.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Mystelody,
We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay, along with any inconveniences your group experienced as a result. Please know I have addressed your comments with our staff and additional steps will be taken to improve our property and overall guest experience. We value your business and hope we have an opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff to be friendly and quick to respond to a problem we had with one of the TVs in the room. The rooms are all suites and of a good size. Rooms and lobby areas were very clean. The hotel serves a nice varied breakfast as well as wine and beer at happy hour as well as milk and cookies in the evening. The hotel is walking distance to Old Town Scottsdale and the hotel also runs a complimentary shuttle to that area. We would definitely stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

TravellBuddies,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback from your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. It's fantastic to hear that our friendly staff promptly resolved any issues, and you found our clean accommodations and complimentary service to meet your satisfaction. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you'll return for another visit again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here the first night in the Phoenix area as it was a short drive from the airport. Upon check-in the staff were very friendly and wanted to make sure that we had everything we needed to have a great stay even though it was only for one night. The room was a small mini-suite which was clean and well kept, although a few things were a bit dated and showing some age. They have a standard continental breakfast, hot and cold items. We checked in after seven pm and as it was dark could not tell what was in the near area for dining purposes, but in the morning we discovered there were numerous types of restaurants within walking and driving distance in the area. Overall this hotel appears to treat people right and values your business. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

albertafamily,
Thank you for your complimentary feedback from your experience with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your travels, and we're glad you found our friendly staff and clean accommodations to meet your satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to return for another visit and continue to acquaint yourself with all that our property has to offer. Thank you again.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for location and price. We were pleasantly surprised with the total quality of the hotel. Service was top notch, breakfast was excellent, and the free happy hour was a bonus. This was not only an excellent hotel, it was as well a great value. Very pleased!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitandmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Kitandmarie,
We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we thank you for writing a review regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I'm pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our high quality standards of service and amenities. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was traveling alone this time and the room I got was wonderful. Upon arriving, I was greeted with smiles and asked to have a room on the 3rd floor which they happily accommodated. Check in was quick and they were always happy to give me directions to anyplace I asked. The staff always seem to be happy, laughing with one another and making the guests feel like they were 'at home'. The room was very clean and each day was all made up before noon. I have stayed at other hotels where I would come back at 5pm only to find the room still not made up. Not the case here. Their housekeeping staff was right on it early. I loved having the hot breakfast each morning and the kitchen staff was always busy cleaning off tables and making sure the food was replenished. Always smiling and saying hello as they worked. The rooms are fabulous as they are suites. Separate room with a sofa and second tv. Nice for those lazy mornings where I wanted to just sit, have some coffee early (before the breakfast room opened) and read my paper while watching local news. Nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. When staying or 6 nights like I did, it was handy to have that for keeping my water cold and heating up leftover food brought home from a restaurant. Overall this is a great place to stay especially if staying longer than one night. I will be returning with my husband again in the future for a joint vacation and Holiday Day Inn Express Old Town will be the place with no doubt.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room like I had, 3rd floor over the parking lot is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Debj61,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with at Holiday Inn Scottsdale. Nothing gives us greater satisfaction than to receive recognition from our guests on the excellent service provided during your stay. I'm delighted to hear that our staff added the extra comforts of home that made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next visit and vacation with us at Holiday Inn Scottsdale. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Again, my husband and I stayed here for 8 nights (just like last year) while he played in a baseball tournament in and around Phoenix. They put us on the third floor which was greatly appreciated. This made our visit very quiet because there was no one above us and we looked over the parking lot, not the pool. The breakfast was as good as last year and so was the cleanliness of the eating area. We love the 24/7 coffee and tea bar. And if the coffee is lukewarm, tell them at the desk and they will make a fresh pot. We missed the ice tea and lemonade in the lobby during the day. It has been replaced by cold water with lemons or limes or oranges. The Happy Hour Tues. thru Sat. with beer, wine, pop, juice, or water and light snacks (Chex mix, pretzels, chips, salsa, and warm cheese) was a nice treat after being out all day at the baseball fields. It was fun to sit there with so many others and watch the World Series. I used the shuttle this year to get a ride to Old Town. The female driver was very nice and helpful. Use this service if you plan on having a night of partying within a 3 mile radius. I am sure we gained some weight as we really enjoyed the cookies and milk that were put out in the late evening. Our room was always cleaned when we returned from the ballgames. There was a slight mix up with the number of washclothes to be left in the room but it was quickly resolved. We love having 2 rooms with 2 flat screen tvs separated by French doors. This let me watch my chick stuff and my hubby watch sports. The shower/toilet area is small as this is a refurbished older motel. The sink is outside of this area which gives you more room. A friendly suggestion: it would be nice to get 1 free night when staying 7 nights. Lord willing, we will again return.

Room Tip: As others have stated, third floor not overlooking the pool. The view is the parking lot but you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Wrangal,
Thank you for your review and return visit with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your husband's baseball tournament travels, and we're glad you found our quiet accommodations and value added amenities well suited for your visit. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we appreciate you sharing opportunities on enhancing our guest satisfaction. It's wonderful to hear all the aspects that made for another enjoyable stay, and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great service overall,We stayed at this hotel off and on for over a month and a half. Ryan helped me and my co-workers out with anything needed and was very involved with all the people staying there to make sure they had everything needed. Can't beat the free beer and wine at happy hour and the complimentary shuttle to anywhere you need to grab a quick bite. Would gladly suggest staying here again.
-Stephen V.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

stephen V,
Thank you for your great review and continued patronage with us Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale.. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travel needs. It's fantastic to hear you and your co-workers enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and the complimentary amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. I look forward to passing along your complimentary feedback with our team, and will certainly recognize Ryan with a special commendation for his sincere hospitality. Thank you once again for writing. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll return for another visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £108 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Scottsdale - Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing