We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is comparable to others in the chain. The rooms are comfy, well maintained, and a good value.

The lobby seems a bit larger than some other HIEs and a bit noisier during happy hour, but the noise does not carry up to the rooms. The reception and breakfast staff are top rate.

The hotel is in a very good location for exploring the Scottsdale area. Personally, I found the streets north of the hotel to be a bit difficult to navigate back to the hotel without a GPS. But the location near old town is convenient.

A nice hotel in a good location

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Tecolate,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your experience at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your hotel needs, and we're glad you enjoyed a comfortable and convenient stay. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Me and a group of 6 friends stayed for 3 nights and were in town for the Fiesta Bowl (UCF/Baylor). We mingled with the Baylor fans and had a great time. The staff at this hotel is unbelievably friendly, professional, courteous and the hardest working I have seen. You ask for it, you get it, no questions asked. The hotel was completely booked the 3 days we were there and the staff held their heads high and got it done. The grounds are impeccable, the rooms and breakfast area were very very clean and well stocked. The midnight clerk, Angel, was awesome and the best in customer service and delivery with a smile, even on New Years Eve. The shuttle is always available and the hotel is near great food, fun and nightlife. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend for family and business travel.
Pat H, Rockledge, Florida (Go Knights)

Room Tip: Any room is good, some have balconies overlooking the pool. All rooms will meet, satisfy, and if no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Patrick H,
We appreciate your review and high recommendations of Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than recognition from guest on the excellent service delivered during your stay. Angel is a fundamental part of our team and truly strives to connect with every guest he encounters. I will be certain to award Angel with a special commendation for his outstanding service. We're happy to have had you and your group of friends as our guests, and we hope to welcome you all back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

what a great surprise! A group of 8 friends planning a week in the Scottsdale area, with a rental home BUT needed a gathering spot for one evening. beautiful spacious rooms, all with living rooms, made a great way to hang out till we left the next day. not to mention the perfect location to Old Town. Can't wait for the sequel!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Martha L,
We're happy to have had you and your group of friends as our guest at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. It's wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations with our spacious accommodations and close proximity to Old Town. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and thank you for writing a review. Please plan to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were looking for a location near things to do and easy to get to . We attended a wedding in Chandler and had family in Tempe. This locatin was near Old Town, Fashion square mall, and easy to find the highways. We visited the mall everyday. It has EVERYTHING!!
The rooms were clean and large. We had 2 rooms and each had large sitting areas, micro and fridge. Breakfast was a must for this stay for us and it did provide protein choices as well as hot cinnamon rolls, pancakes, etc

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleeper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Sleeper22,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. It's great to know that our location was perfectly suited for your travels, and you found our spacious accommodations, value added amenities, and friendly staff made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel 4 time over 3 years and always come back.

The location is wonderful. Last evening, we had the hotel shuttle drop us off at a restaurant/bar a couple of miles away and we decided to walk back. The service is outstanding, especially Aaron, who was helpful in many ways. The morning breakfast is standard Holiday Inn Express, but they also have an evening happy hour with beverages and chips, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stopperback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

stopperback,
We appreciate your review and return visits with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I'm delighted to hear about your pleasant stay and appreciation of our staff. I'll be certain to pass along your compliments to our team and will also recognize Aaron with a special commendation for his outstanding service. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you and your wife again in the future. Thank you once again for your review and patronage.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Family of four stayed here two nights while vacationing in AZ. Overall, we liked it here. Good location to Old Town, rooms clean, breakfast was pretty good. Our only complaint was that the pool was not in service, but the kids were able to swim at the hotel next door.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank WNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

WNYer,
We appreciate you choosing Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale while vacationing in Arizona, and we thank you for sharing feedback. We're glad our close proximity to Old Town, clean rooms, and complimentary breakfast met your satisfaction. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with the closure of the pool. We hope to welcome you back for more family fun in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The day of arrival was confirmed and upon arrival the clerk welcomed us with a wide grin. I had read about this hotel before I made the reservation. The place was really clean. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Early AM breakfast was a great welcome along with free internet and parking. This hotel is very close to Scottsdale down town and major shopping center. There are numerous restaurants close by.
On the negative side, they have a "happy hour" till 7:00 PM. If there is a staff change and the new clerk arrives at her leisure, you will be asked to pay for the drinks and chips -- which happened to us. We did not argue with the desk clerk a minor irritation. Secondly the early AM breakfast is good. Unfortunately there is only one person who is attending to cleaning up the food area and stocking up the food. He seemed to be overwhelmed when the crowd arrives. The cream bottle was empty. The tables needed cleaning up particularly after families with kids who left behind food and sometimes dishes on the table. Hope the management takes note of this and hires more people to take care of these simple chores.
Overall I would give a 9/10. If they take care of these minor problems, it would be an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Rooms which are away from Scottsdale road are quieter. Make sure you ask for rooms away from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

usdoc1,
Thank you for writing a review. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. Your comments provide opportunities for improving our guest experience. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise, and found our clean accommodations, central location, and value added amenities well suited for your travels. Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope you'll visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £88 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Scottsdale - Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing