We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Scottsdale
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess(Scottsdale)
US$403
US$358
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
3 Palms Hotel(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$227
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$428
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
35
18
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
18
14
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed two nights as we had purchased a Travelzoo voucher which was a good value. Very large room, retro decor. Large kitchenette, sitting area and bed/bathroom. Very cool pool area with a wide variety of seating options, gas firepit, board games etc. quiet street off main drag.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was supposed to be a retro property and from the outside really looks the part, but the room left a lot to be desired. It was not retro by any means, it look shabby minus the chic. No TV in the bedroom, and just reminded me of my son's first apartment, decorated right out of goodwill. The pool looked beautiful, but on a closer look, it was in bad repair, not the pool it's self, but he furniture and decorations around the pool. It was faded, stained and torn in places. I think overall this could be an amazing property with a little clean-up and paying a decorator to do a real retro look in the rooms. The staff was very nice though.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a shabby outdated room and no TV in the bedroom I think this would be a great place for families, It's got a big pool and night time fire pit and is close to Old Scottsdale, I believe I even saw bikes for rent and the staff was great and on hand 24/7
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It was our first time traveling to Scottsdale from Chicago and we couldn't have stayed at a better place! El Dorado was everything we needed and more. Kathy at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us set up our in room massages and answering any questions we had about the city. Franco was also very hospitable and made us feel at home. The rooms were VERY spacious and clean. We had a 2 bedroom with a HUGE patio (room 211). I love how unique each and every room at this hotel is. Each of them have their own theme of decorations. The pool area is beautiful! Large cabanas and a pool-side peacock! No seriously, they have a peacock at this hotel! We had such a wonderful experience at El Dorado and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaG330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was hesitant to book this hotel given some of the negative reviews. However, not only did this hotel fail to disappoint, but it far exceeded our expectations.

The service was just fine, and the rooms were clean, two of the principal complaints. It was a brilliantly decorated place, having kept much of the original décor, with plenty of charm. The room was huge, with a fully-functional kitchen, and a large balcony. There were several different public seating areas, including a fire pit and grills (which we didn't have time to use). The pool was small, but large enough to jump in and cool off. The courtyard was well-kept.

The hotel was a short walk from Old-Town Scottsdale, where tourist shopping and local dining and nightlife combine for a nice diversion.

We would certainly stay here again, and given the time, might come back for an extended stay just to relax at the hotel itself.

Room Tip: There were no elevators or escalators, so if access is a problem, be sure to ask for a first-floor room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place is absolutly fantastic. We have stayed here multiple times and always treated with great service from the very friendly staff. The rooms are large and decorated really neat. Anytime we have friends in town, always recommend the El Dorado as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nader A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews