We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool-Retro does not necessitate Caged Peacock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Dorado Scottsdale
Ranked #3 of 4 Scottsdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2013

If there hadn't been a Caged Peacock (albeit healthy-enough looking...but caged for the purpose of a 60s vibe...really? Passe if you ask me or old-school in a bad way), and a late-night wedding party that kept me awake until midnight, I would have given this place 3 or 4 stars. The customer service was excellent. The room was spacious, clean and modest. The layout of the hotel with pool and play area central and rooms surrounding was social and intimate, with fabulous proximity to old-town. If you want a fun, lively place to stay - El Dorado would be a good match for you. If you want something quieter and newer with more anonymity, look elsewhere. Please El Dorado owners... send the Peacock to a sanctuary. You've missed the mark with that choice and I will not recommend or return for that reason.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaLeeSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Scottsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I love this place. The rooms are old apartments from the 50's. Ours had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a kitchen with cool green tile and two seating areas.
There is a barbeque for guests to cook at. We used the bikes to go along the canals. The canals are a great safe place to bike even at night. We took lemons off the trees in the courtyard. The pool is nice and warm and deep. I could sit by the outdoor fire at night while my son swam. It is on a quiet street with no traffic noise. The beds were both king sized. The kitchen was completely stocked with all the dishes we could use. There is a laundry. We could walk in ten minutes to the main street of Scottsdale. The front desk lady helped look things up for us on the internet. Great place. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Spent our last night here and the following day before our night flight back to the uk.
Had come back into town from 6 nights in Palm Springs and the hotel was more retro than where we stayed in PS.
The pool area is fantastic and has 24 hour pool with cabanas and tv's around the walls. The furniture was cool and chic.
The staff were truly fantastic and nothing was to much trouble whether it was a drink or a snack at any time.
The suits were great although would benefit from a tv in the bedroom.
Centrally located and downtown nightlife is walkable from the hotel.
Next time will definitely stay more than the 1 night.

Room Tip: No lifts to the upstairs suits so book a ground floor room if you have lots of baggage.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed two nights as we had purchased a Travelzoo voucher which was a good value. Very large room, retro decor. Large kitchenette, sitting area and bed/bathroom. Very cool pool area with a wide variety of seating options, gas firepit, board games etc. quiet street off main drag.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was supposed to be a retro property and from the outside really looks the part, but the room left a lot to be desired. It was not retro by any means, it look shabby minus the chic. No TV in the bedroom, and just reminded me of my son's first apartment, decorated right out of goodwill. The pool looked beautiful, but on a closer look, it was in bad repair, not the pool it's self, but he furniture and decorations around the pool. It was faded, stained and torn in places. I think overall this could be an amazing property with a little clean-up and paying a decorator to do a real retro look in the rooms. The staff was very nice though.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a shabby outdated room and no TV in the bedroom I think this would be a great...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It was our first time traveling to Scottsdale from Chicago and we couldn't have stayed at a better place! El Dorado was everything we needed and more. Kathy at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us set up our in room massages and answering any questions we had about the city. Franco was also very hospitable and made us feel at home. The rooms were VERY spacious and clean. We had a 2 bedroom with a HUGE patio (room 211). I love how unique each and every room at this hotel is. Each of them have their own theme of decorations. The pool area is beautiful! Large cabanas and a pool-side peacock! No seriously, they have a peacock at this hotel! We had such a wonderful experience at El Dorado and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaG330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was hesitant to book this hotel given some of the negative reviews. However, not only did this hotel fail to disappoint, but it far exceeded our expectations.

The service was just fine, and the rooms were clean, two of the principal complaints. It was a brilliantly decorated place, having kept much of the original décor, with plenty of charm. The room was huge, with a fully-functional kitchen, and a large balcony. There were several different public seating areas, including a fire pit and grills (which we didn't have time to use). The pool was small, but large enough to jump in and cool off. The courtyard was well-kept.

The hotel was a short walk from Old-Town Scottsdale, where tourist shopping and local dining and nightlife combine for a nice diversion.

We would certainly stay here again, and given the time, might come back for an extended stay just to relax at the hotel itself.

Room Tip: There were no elevators or escalators, so if access is a problem, be sure to ask for a first-floor r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,660 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#45 of 75 in Scottsdale
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Bespoke Inn
#1 of 4 in Scottsdale
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Scottsdale

Address: 6825 E 4th St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-5571
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsdale
Price Range: £59 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El dorado wraps you in the true experience of Scottsdale living. Those who have experienced The Eldorado in Scottsdale would say it has just the right blend of style and features. The desirable mid-century design; The soft comforts of tasteful and welcoming apartments overlooking the expansive courtyard and views to Camelback Mountain; the relaxation of Eldorado’s beautiful pool; and prime downtown access that is a short walk from your room.The Eldorado is a garden-style boutique resort located in the heart of prestigious downtown Scottsdale. The spacious one, two and three-bedroom suites include fully equipped kitchens, Cable TV, complimentary phone and wireless internet, and patios with views to the courtyard and Camelback Mountain.The landscaped grounds and expansive courtyard at The Eldorado are lined with mature palms, lemon and fruit trees. Amenities include a large crystal clear swimming pool, shuffle board, two laundry facilities, storage rooms, barbecue area and covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Dorado Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing