We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kierland Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Villas
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was a lovely spot, tucked away by a golf course, not a lot of traffic,e not a lot of noise. It was a great get-awy and retreat like...the deluxe 1 bedroom was just enough for me. I loved the decor and all the amenities.

Room Tip: ask for the buildings away from the street and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCM_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments on tripadvisor. We are fortunate in that we are tucked away in a quiet spot on the golf course, but very close to many great shopping and dining spots. I hope you will come stay with us again very soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    271
    77
    25
    13
See reviews for
590
515
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

this is NOT a luxury hotel - average hotel at best. The lobby is the nicest part. Pool and rooms are mediocre. Pool furniture and food were terrible - my kids would not even eat the pizza. Pool was dirty and the place was boring.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BURKSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I'm very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. I don't hear many negative comments regarding our teak pool furniture. We've also finished a pool deck refreshment and I feel our pool experience is great. I invite you to give me a call, and I hope I can convince you to give us another opportunity to give you a great experience. Again, I apologize for not meeting your expectation.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a great property. All rooms feature amenities you would normally find in a condo- washing machine/ dryer and a complete kitchenette with cooking utensils. The interiors of the room look modern and hip. The bathroom was huge and had modern fittings. Everything was maintained extremely well.
The swimming pool is open 24 hrs. This is usually especially during the hot summer months.The gym is well equipped for a hotel fitness center.

The only think i didn't not like so much were the hotel grounds and the exterior building facade. Nothing compared to the other Westin resorts i have visited. They were way too simple and dull.This resort would have done great with a coffee shop or bar that had extended hours of operation.

Room Tip: Rooms Facing teh golf coruse are prone to
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your feedback, and am sorry to hear you didn't care for our grounds. I'd be happy to discuss any other suggestions you may have that would enhance your experience with us.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas 2013. First, the good:
1. The staff are really helpful - we wanted to check in quickly so that we could get our daughter to bed. The chap at reception could not have been more helpful - even playing blocker with the concierge service to ensure that we could get to our room asap.
2. Concierge was really helpful when we finally spoke to her. Made a number of appropriate restaurant recommendations and was always willing to help with any requests that we made.
3. The resort amenities (particularly the golf) looked extensive and well kept. Unfortunately, the relatively cold weather kept us out of the pool and off the golf course.
The less good:
1. I was really disappointed with the room layout. While all the amenities were as one would expect in a Westin Resort, the one bedroom villa layout that we had meant that there was no window in the living room area. With a child sleeping in the bedroom, it felt like spending one's evenings in a box room. Throw in the noise of the washing machine and dishwasher and it was awful. I'm sure that there are alternative configurations available but I would recommend avoiding this one at all costs.
2. Aside from the golf course, it is quite developed around the hotel. Great for popping out to get some dinner or go shopping - less good if one wants to feel that one has got away from it all.

Room Tip: Make sure that your living room has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daaxs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I'm happy you enjoyed the staff and amenities. I'm sorry the weather kept you from enjoying the pool and golf. I apologize your room layout didn't work for you. We do have a larger unit if that would work better for your next visit. Thank you for all your comments.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spotlessly, lovely hotel with great golf course. Good shopping and many restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Beds are very comfortable and the pool was excellent. A little too cool for sitting by the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing our comments with your fellow travelors. I hope you will return to Scottsdale soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I are owners at this resort and usually visit twice a year. Our most recent visit was for 2 weeks the last 2 weeks of October, 2013. My husbands cousin and his wife joined us from Canada. We had an absolutely wonderful visit! We had a 2 bedroom lock off and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

I can't say enough about how wonderful and attentive the staff was. Everyone we saw always said hello with big smiles. The concierge was great with our requests for dinner reservation, the shuttle and anything we needed.

We love this resort and will always come back.

Room Tip: We love building 3 for a wonderful view of the golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I am very grateful you are so loyal to The Westin Kierland Villas. I appreciate your great comments about our team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed over a spring break paying for a suite but was not too happy with it. Hotel was full so i guess we drew the short straw in rooms. The lazy river is great for kids but do rent a cabana as it very crowded, you can reseve well in advance. Over just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your stay. Most of our guests are on vacation. The Westin Kierland Resort does host conventions, but I'm sorry you felt too crowded. Please contact me if I can assist with a return trip to Scottsdale.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Villas

Property: The Westin Kierland Villas
Address: 15620 N Clubgate Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-2012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in spacious villas designed to suit your personal needs. Enjoy private balconies, fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Villas Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing