We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Villas
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It's a great spot for sure with nice property and location...rooms and common areas nicely appointed and maintained. I'd won't return as was disappointed by two things: 1. Rented a premier cabana and got such poor service...why not dedicate staff just to cabanas?...I got myself towels, drinks, rid of trash and own amenities (I realize not end of world problems)...not sure why paid the $200...not worth it. 2. Constant concierge sales pitches when asking for help from them!! Total wrong approach and completely cheapend the experience and reason we won't return...not interested in constantly defending my decisions to not buy a time share. Hello Phoenician!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank familymanPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations with the issues you mentioned. I'm not sure if you stayed with us at The Westin Kierland Villas or at the Resort. Our cabanas rent for $25 and $75. Perhaps you used the resort's cabanas. I will share your concerns with our concierge manager. Their role is to provide great service and you should never feel any pressure from them. I would be happy to talk more about this if you would like to call me. I hope we can regain your trust.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

A perfect spot for spring training, dining, shopping and lazing around. We always thoroughly enjoy our stay here and are never disappointed. Great service. Great accommodations...particularly love the shower. Only drawback: the coffee machine is nearly impossible to master. The shuttle driver (another wonderful feature) said it is a common complaint and explained to us the nuances. Unfortunately we were checking out and didn't have a chance to try again. There are directions in the room but neither one of us could master the task. Our waiter at brunch was less than stellar shall we say...but the manager did right by us so no complaints.

Room Tip: try to over look the golf course rather than the recreational pool if you are looking for some peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I appreciate your loyalty in continuing to return. We will revisit our instructions for the coffeemaker to see if we can avoid that issue your next trip to Scottsdale.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My room was clean and comfortable. No problems. The hotel grounds are beautiful. I like that parking was free. They also let me check I at 10:00 am for no additional charge. When checking in that early, I had to take what was available, in this case it was a room with two double beds. Which was fine with me. My room had a small balcony with a golf course view. They had a bagpipe player on Sunday night which was a nice touch. I was there during baseball spring training. It seemed like a popular place for baseball fans to stay. An addition, the hotel seemed to have a lot of families in it. That was not a problem for me. There seemed to be plenty of dining options at the shopping area a short walk away. Be sure to visit the concierge before heading over for the list of discounts available for hotel guest. Overall it is a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank relax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I'm very happy you enjoyed your trip to Scottsdale. I think you may have stayed at The Westin Kierland Resort. We have only king beds in our Villas. I will be sure to pass your comments. Please feel free to reach out to me if you would ever like to experience our property.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed two nights. We were in building 6 on the fourth floor and had a view of the golf course and mountains behind.
Check in and check out went very smoothly. The staff was accommodating.
We had one bedroom apartment. The kitchen was well equipped. Very large bathroom.
Due to the weather we did not use the pool.
Nice walk along the golf course.
Good shopping center nearby.

Room Tip: would not want a room with view of the pools or parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I'm happy you enjoyed your time with us. I appreciate your comments and hope you can return soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a week. We liked the layout,lovely decor and spacious feel. It was nice to have a washer/dryer,kitchen and fireplace.The location was perfect for us.It was great to have the malls nearby. The adult pool and hot tub were great. We meet many nice people at the pool area. It had a fun,camp feel.Many people were friends because they come every year.Prices were very reasonable in the resort and a very reasonable supermarket was across the street. The service was impeccable. Everyone was so friendly. My only bad experience was at Nellie Cashman's.
Peccab

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RoxyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and for choosing to stay with us. I actually heard from one of our regular guests your comment about the "camp feel". I always enjoy seeing many familiar faces of our guests. I hope you will return soon. Please feel free to reach out if I can ever assist with plans.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As Starwood owners, we have stayed at many of their locations. Our experience at Kierland was certainly one of the best that we have had. The staff was friendly and helpful. The activities were enjoyable.The golf course challenging and beautiful. If anyone ever has the chance to join Chef Jason Lee for his wine and beer pairing dinners, I am confident that you will be dually impressed and thrilled. Tony Miller also does a Reserve wine tasting dinner with Chef Lee that is also not to be missed. There were several couples at our dinner that had attended for several weeks in a row. Tony serves different wine each week.

Room Tip: Small one bedrooms do not have a full size fridge which we missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I appreciate your comments regarding your visit with us. I always like to hear from guests that travel frequently and am happy we compare so well. I will share your comments with Chef Lee and Tony. Chef joined us last year and has added several food events to our activities. I'm pleased he enhanced your vacation experience. I hope you will return soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are Starwood owners. This was our first time at the Villas and indeed our first time using one of our weeks as owners. It was a very good experience. For the most part the staff were great, the service was great and we enjoyed the whole experience and will come again.

We had the standard smaller one bedroom unit. Some commentators have noted they can be rather dark since the only windows are off the bedroom. This is true but is unavoidable when you have a unit that is part of a two unit lockoff. We did not find this to be a major problem. The unit was clean, well equipped (we should have cooked more in the room and used the BBQs outside). The internet service was reasonably good - good be a bit faster. The room is only serviced once during the week - my spouse suggested that I should give a five star rating when there is no daily maid service but that would be unfair. Any complaints we had with the room were minor.

The bed was comfortable, the water was hot, the view from the balcony was great (we had a room overlooking the golf course), the room was quiet. Any complaints were very minor.

The pools and the general facility were very good - appreciated that there was lots of shade.

Generally service was excellent. The shuttle was great (and the shuttle drivers), the concierges were helpful, the service at the pool was reasonably prompt and the food was good (we only had lunch at the market one day but the burger was good, cooked the way we asked and the fries were great).

My only issue with service was on check in. I appreciate that check in is supposed to be at 4 - we arrived much earlier after a very early morning flight. The first clerk was sympathetic and said they would call us when the room was ready but no one ever did. We finally got into our room ( a bit early) after asking the clerk if it might be ready.

We went to Tony Miller's wine tasting and then the wine dinner. I thought they were both excellent and Tony's enthusiasm and knowledge were great. I only wish we could have brought more wine back into Canada than we did (weight limits and customs duties get in the way).

Over all a very pleasant experience and we will be back.

I should note that we did go to the owner's seminar but I don't believe there would have been much pressure if we had said no thanks.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course if you want quiet. Get a premium one bedroom if you want more light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskWolfhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I was happy to hear you had a good experience with us. Thank you for your review and your comments. I'm always happy to read good words about our team. I do apologize we didn't follow up by keeping you informed about your room status. We do try to get our guests in as quickly as possible, and should have given you a call. Just for our readers, owner's have one clean as part of their ownership package. Our guests who rent a room receive daily cleaning.

I hope you will contact me if I can assist with your return to Scottsdale.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Villas

Address: 15620 N Clubgate Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-2012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £243 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in spacious villas designed to suit your personal needs. Enjoy private balconies, fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Villas Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing