We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Ko

Sushi Ko
Ranked #405 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Small,but comfortable. Excellent food at a very reasonable price. The service was also prompt. My husband and I have only been there at lunch time. It is difficult to find because it is tucked away behind other stores in a strip mall. Well worth the discovery. A hidden gem.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've read the reviews complaining about the service and I know from first hand experience that there are times with they find them selves short handed. It is a small restaurant, family owned and operated and that is reflected in the excellent genuine sushi and very reasonable prices. The owner, Dai-san is from Japan so you're getting the real thing in terms of food preparation. Being small, from time to time they will be stressed to consistently provide top-notch and timely service so that's the trade off with getting great food, very reasonable price and the reward for the finding place which has no street presence, tucked away in the southeast corner behind all the other shops. Lunch is especially a bargain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Sushi - HORRIBLE service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

First time, bad experience - shame on you. Second time, bad experience - shame on me! Well, shame on me. My last experience at Sushi Ko was disappointing because of the extremely poor service. I "excused" the poor service with an excuse of perhaps they were overly busy - even though we could not see it. And, then, perhaps they were working with inexperienced staff but that did not seem to be the case.

Tonight - same staff. Very few people in the restaurant and, what appears to be an overly staffed restaurant, if possible, the service was even worse. Absolutely no wait staff approached us. We sat at the sushi bar and were greeted by the sushi chef. But, no water. No offer for drinks. We were handed a sushi menu. After several minutes, I walked to the bar to ask for a beer and was ignored. With no one else at the bar (that's right - the bar area was totally empty - except for the bartender), the bartender had better things to do - like rearranging the liquor bottles on the shelves - instead of selling liquor. Finally, after getting his attention, he elected to accept my order for a beer. At least 10 minutes later, the bartender finally delivered the beer by leaning across me to deliver the beer to the other guests in my party and me.

The sushi was good. The sushi chef was able to deliver the sushi directly to us since we had chosen seats at the sushi bar in front of the sushi chef. Absolutely no wait staff ever offered water, another beer, dessert, etc.

Finally, after asking for the check from four different people, the check was finally delivered. A credit card was immediately provided to the waiter before he could leave without even viewing the bill. After another 15 minutes and no return of the check or credit card, we went to the front desk and asked for it. Three people fumbled around to finally locate the statement and credit card. While they were trying to locate the credit card, another person came to the desk complaining of waiting for almost an hour and still had not received their food.

Regardless of the quality of the sushi (which was average to above average), the LACK OF SERVICE and organization will prevent me from returning to this location. Truly a very disappointing evening. In the future, if I want sushi, I prefer to purchase it from the local grocer. Service will be MUCH MUCH better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a neighborhood place, frequented by locals especially at lunch. Prices are very reasonable. The food is excellent, and there is a huge variety. There is a newly renovated bar area (they serve beer and wine). The appetizers are especially good - -and rather generous in portions. The service is good although you will find different waiters serving you - -but that is not unusual in a neighborhood place. The halibut tempura is absolutely excellent. The ambiance is quite nice, but this is not a huge place. You can watch the sushi masters whipping up their dishes. Overall, a good place to go. It is a little hard to find -- it is just south of Chompies (in the same shopping center).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have been here a few times over the years and liked the food, service, etc. This trip the sushi was really pedestrian. We ordered a couple of rolls that are supposed to be dynamite but really barely made firecracker. Shumai appetizer had very little flavor. We will probably go back at some point, but there are plenty of similar restaurants with better sushi rolls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Best sushi ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Love their Ono poki! Absolutely delicious... I'm a sushi lover and never had Ono poki and the manager introduced it. Warm welcoming the minute you enter the restaurant. Been to many sushi place and never had anything like in sushi ko. Wonderful service and sushi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Ko also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sushi Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing