We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small restaurant with excellent sushi ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HIRO Sushi

HIRO Sushi
Ranked #95 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$9
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Scottsdale
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with excellent sushi ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We tried this place based on reviews, and it was excellent. It is hard to find, in a strip mall... I wasn't sure about it but I'm glad we went. On a Monday night, it was packed with a wait of 30 minutes. We sat at the sushi bar and enjoyed watching our rolls be made. Everything we had was excellent and very fresh tasting. The prices were very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank emp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
“Excellent excellent excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Sushi was true to what it should be; fresh, flavorful, and beautiful to look at. Take a look at the owners and clientele. The owners are from Okinawa, and much of the clientele are actually Japanese. That's how you know its good stuff. Highly recommended and the prices are fair. Don't miss the Okinawa soba, I've had the real thing back in Japan and what they serve here comes closer than anything else I've had in the states. It's to die for!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really great sushi for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I loved our experience at Hiro Sushi- it is great sushi for the price. Very fresh and good service. We ordered a range of things- the sushi platter, the sashimi platter and 3 creative rolls. If you are looking for super creative rolls, I didn't see it on the menu but maybe the sushi chefs can accommodate. This place is located in a strip mall and the interior is basic but the sushi chefs are the stars and deliver delicious fresh fish. It is a family friendly place and had a diverse clientele dining the evening we went for dinner at 6:30. We made a reservation for three of us and when we left, there was a wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ihearttravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Outstanding Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The fish is exceptionally fresh,the chefs are amazing !! Interior is small but stylishly modern .'
Good service.Very fine Conch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Authentic sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Hiro has great sushi and service. If you are looking for authentic sushi dining experience, this is the place. Fresh sushi- all sushi chefs are from Japan. In winter time, it can be crowded, so avoid peak time !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HIRO Sushi also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to HIRO Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing