We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to NY pizza”
Review of Ray's Pizza

Ray's Pizza
Ranked #617 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Inishcrone, Ireland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very close to NY pizza”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is probably along with NYPD here in the Valley that you are going to get to New York pizza. Being from Brooklyn I'm picking when it comes to pizza and so far this is about as close as you get to NY style pizza.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, owner at Ray's Pizza, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Boccigallupo, hey thanks for the support! It's great to hear from an NYC native on TripAdvisor. I'm from Brooklyn myself, and I grew up making pizza the local style of pizza. We aim for authenticity so it's great to hear we're on the money. Keep us in mind for a slice whenever you're in Scottsdale!

Safe travels,
Bob, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick slice”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good NY style pizza joint. Obviously nowhere as good as actual NYC pizza in New York, but not bad compared to what AZ has to offer in terms of quick by the slice pizza. Go during lunch to get the freshest and biggest choice of pies.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, owner at Ray's Pizza, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Glad to hear you're a fan, Chris! There's something about the water in NYC that leads to that truly authentic taste (seriously), but our style is just the way they make it back home. Have you spent much time in the city? I'm a transplant myself, and I started making pizza here in Scottsdale to bring that classic flavor to my neighbors here. Join us again soon whenever you're craving a slice!

All the best,
Bob, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For The best NY style Pizza in the Phoenix area”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

you have got to go the original Ray's Pizza (obviously not the one in TMNT (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) which was located on 6th Ave in Manhattan...but a very good approximation with slices available from plain to loaded and they have Sicilian as well.
I would go out of my way to come to Ray's for Pizza when in Arizona...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevenR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great New York style pizza”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have been going to Ray's Pizza since I was a kid. When I moved to Scottsdale I was very happy to see a location so close to me. This one is my second favorite location right next to the original which is off of 35th and Greenway. There pizza and wing special is a super deal and is big enough to feed the whole family. If you get the Sicilian I hope you have a big family cause it is huge. There ingredients are always high quality and they have the best Italian sausage around (shredded and not pebbles). The restaurant itself is not fancy, more like a family sports bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The pizza place”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Thai is a traditional pizza restaurant which does service other food but the pizza is so good you will order a pizza. They fresh make whatever you want and then you collect your food from the counter. We ate here for lunch and would go again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 21Davids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's Pizza also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ray's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing